747400sp
Topic Author
Posts: 3833
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 7:27 pm

Is The QE2 Back In Southampton?

Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:47 am

I was reading some where, that due to Dubai money problems, the QE2 was sent back to Southampton, and is moored there with one engine running. Is this true?
 
User avatar
cpd
Posts: 4551
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 4:46 am

RE: Is The QE2 Back In Southampton?

Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:59 am

I heard it was off to Cape Town to be a temporary floating hotel for the Football World Cup, haven't heard anything more.

Perhaps MadameConcorde might know more? She seems to have most of the answers on these things.
 
ArmitageShanks
Posts: 3737
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 5:30 am

RE: Is The QE2 Back In Southampton?

Tue Jan 05, 2010 4:06 am

Yeah it started raining and they had to turn back because everyone started drowning.
 
MadameConcorde
Posts: 9199
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 5:08 pm

RE: Is The QE2 Back In Southampton?

Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:55 am

Quoting 747400sp (Thread starter):
I was reading some where, that due to Dubai money problems, the QE2 was sent back to Southampton, and is moored there with one engine running. Is this true?

Wishful thinking... it would be fantastic but considering what we got to see from Dubai last night, I don't think the Sheikhs will give up on her so easily. Dubai has no fear of bankruptcy as neighbour Abu Dhabi is there with the several Billion $$$$ bailouts. AD can take ownership of the QE2.

I doubt that we will see her back in Southampton or anywhere in the UK again. As much as I would love to see it I don't think it will happen again. Who besides the Queen can chip in the money to buy her off? Sir Richard Branson could have turned into a Virgin cruise ship but he has other things in mind with the galactic flights.

This is a picture that was sent to me yesterday, taken from a fliight on 23 December.
Her Majesty of the Seas sitting idle, lonely and ignored at Port Rashid.  

http://img693.imageshack.us/i/bangkok007copy.jpg/

Oh... and the Cape Town project is now scrapped.

[Edited 2010-01-05 03:57:05]
There was a better way to fly it was called Concorde
 
MadameConcorde
Posts: 9199
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 5:08 pm

RE: Is The QE2 Back In Southampton?

Thu Jan 07, 2010 4:06 pm

You can now see the QE2 live, all lit up and beaufiful from the Costa Europa cruise ship webcam. There is quite a bit of light on her but very little life inside her. Sad

http://www.costacroisieres.fr/B2C/F/WebCam/webcam.htm

You will have to look quickly as I don't know how long the Costa Europa will be docked ar Port Rashid so enjoy while it lasts!
There was a better way to fly it was called Concorde
 
baguy
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 11:04 pm

RE: Is The QE2 Back In Southampton?

Thu Jan 07, 2010 7:02 pm



Quoting MadameConcorde (Reply 4):
You will have to look quickly as I don't know how long the Costa Europa will be docked ar Port Rashid so enjoy while it lasts!


You wouldn't know the difference though from the webcam. Sad.

BAguy
 
MadameConcorde
Posts: 9199
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 5:08 pm

RE: Is The QE2 Back In Southampton?

Sun Jan 10, 2010 2:50 pm

I would prefer that they don't send the QE2 to CapeTown, really.

'Kill a Tourist Day' in South Africa.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/arti...Africa.html?ITO=1490#ixzz0c9wGAAS6

 Wow!
There was a better way to fly it was called Concorde

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests