fca767
Topic Author
Posts: 1292
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 7:29 pm

Train Sim 2 Using FSX's Platform

Sat Dec 04, 2010 7:50 pm

Edit: Never mind, just got to the bottom of Wiki, and they halted the game a 2nd time  
Edit 2: Ohhh! but:
On October 12, 2009 (2009-10-12), several members of the former ACES Studio team announced the launch of a new simulations-based development studio named Cascade Game Foundry.[19] Further details relating to their first project are to be announced
 Smile

I'm just getting intrigued at MS Train Sim 2 so I'm reading up on it http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Microsoft_Train_Simulator_2

I think it would be great one day if you could walk out of your plane, then get a car out of the airport or a Train to your destination, mix in a little bit of GTA 4  

[Edited 2010-12-04 11:52:20]

[Edited 2010-12-04 11:53:02]
 
vandenheuvel
Posts: 479
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 1:59 pm

RE: Train Sim 2 Using FSX's Platform

Sat Dec 04, 2010 8:38 pm

It sounds very promising. Is it so that the DB section is only Duisburg to Cologne? Thats not even a high speed section and still it's over in no time. Are the other rail sections of bigger distance?
 
fca767
Topic Author
Posts: 1292
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 7:29 pm

RE: Train Sim 2 Using FSX's Platform

Sat Dec 04, 2010 9:00 pm

Quoting vandenheuvel (Reply 1):
It sounds very promising. Is it so that the DB section is only Duisburg to Cologne? Thats not even a high speed section and still it's over in no time. Are the other rail sections of bigger distance?

I'm not sure, but I've found another one called railworks2  
 
wagz
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 12:48 pm

RE: Train Sim 2 Using FSX's Platform

Mon Dec 06, 2010 6:00 pm

Quoting vandenheuvel (Reply 1):
It sounds very promising. Is it so that the DB section is only Duisburg to Cologne? Thats not even a high speed section and still it's over in no time. Are the other rail sections of bigger distance?

Train Simulator 2 is dead. In fact it was killed twice. The original iteration of MSTS2 was several years ago and was being developed in part by one of the payware MSTS makers of the time. Some time after that was shelved, MSTS2 was officially announced again being developed by the ACES studio. This was the one that is mentioned in the wiki article with the DB Route, Lotschberg route, Horseshoe Curve and Stevens Pass. Then in early 2009 I believe, MS shut down the ACES studio, effectively ending the FlightSim and TrainSim franchises.

Some of the old ACES developers founded the Cascade Game Foundry, but as far as I know they dropped off the face of the earth and haven't been heard from since. Kuju has published a few titles in the mean time and from what I've read they're just as half-assed as the original mess called MSTS they put together, although with some slicker graphics. No other title has developed the user-base and third-party addons available for them that the original MSTS has.

There is an independent group working on a new MSTS compatible simulator called Open Rails. Its an entirely new game and graphics engine that is compatible with all current MSTS content. Betas of the program as it progresses are available to download. That's probably the best bet for any future train simulator.
I think Big Foot is blurry, Its not the photographers fault. Theres a large out of focus monster roaming the countryside
 
Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: Train Sim 2 Using FSX's Platform

Mon Dec 06, 2010 6:11 pm

Quoting wagz (Reply 3):

Some of the old ACES developers founded the Cascade Game Foundry, but as far as I know they dropped off the face of the earth and haven't been heard from since.

That was a joke. Nothing became of that. Pretty sure they're dead.

I have rail simulator 2. It's not bad, decent graphics, good physics.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aerlingus747, Baidu [Spider], EA CO AS, Exabot [Bot], jpetekyxmd80, N867DA and 30 guests