Fly2HMO
Topic Author
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

Help! Corrupted Fonts In Win7

Fri Mar 25, 2011 2:07 pm

Or I'm pretty sure that's the problem... anyways....

Last night I installed Firefox 4. All was well until I noticed coming into a.net that almost all the text shows up bold. At first I was like whatever probably just a glitch, then I noticed it happened in google too, and 80% of all the other websites I go to. Then I think it's FF's fault, but then I fire up IE9 and get the exact same thing! I already did a system restore, several days back, that didn't correct anything. I tried this too: http://support.mozilla.com/en-US/kb/...hows%20up%20bold%20after%20upgrade

Didn't work.

I've tried to extract fonts from the win7 disc then overwrite them but can't seem to find them on the disc.

Going to the fonts control panel and resetting everything to default doesn't help either.

From what I've been Googleing like mad it seems like people just end up reformatting, and even then the problem may come back.

So I'm trying to avoid formatting at all costs. I know very well how to do it but I'll admit it's kind of a blow to my ego since I haven't had to format a computer due to a glitch in years, I ALWAYS have found a solution, and frankly I think there has to be an explanation for such a silly yet annoying glitch.

Any ideas?
 
ALTF4
Posts: 1154
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 5:01 pm

RE: Help! Corrupted Fonts In Win7

Fri Mar 25, 2011 2:32 pm

Are the OS fonts different? For example, are the menu bars or the items in the start menu different than they were before?
The above post is my opinion. Don't like it? Don't read it.
 
ALTF4
Posts: 1154
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 5:01 pm

RE: Help! Corrupted Fonts In Win7

Fri Mar 25, 2011 2:36 pm

One other thing - A.net always shows a little more 'bold' in Safari for me and any WebKit based browser, most likely just due to rendering differences. Could you screenshot how the site looks and post it? Did you ever open IE9 before you had FF4 installed? If so, did it render things 'normally' before FF4? I'm assuming you mainly used FF3 before....
The above post is my opinion. Don't like it? Don't read it.
 
Fly2HMO
Topic Author
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: Help! Corrupted Fonts In Win7

Fri Mar 25, 2011 3:41 pm

Quoting ALTF4 (Reply 1):
Are the OS fonts different? For example, are the menu bars or the items in the start menu different than they were before?

Nope, weirdly all the OS fonts are unchanged.

Quoting ALTF4 (Reply 2):
A.net always shows a little more 'bold' in Safari for me and any WebKit based browser, most likely just due to rendering differences.

FF and IE had always looked exactly the same font-wise, I haven't used safari in forever but it did look a bit different, but not so obvious. Chrome was the same as IE and FF. But I'm almost certain this is a font screw-up and not some funky rendering problem.

Quoting ALTF4 (Reply 2):
Could you screenshot how the site looks and post it?


Google looks the same.

Quoting ALTF4 (Reply 2):
Did you ever open IE9 before you had FF4 installed?

Yup, it was fine before.

Quoting ALTF4 (Reply 2):
I'm assuming you mainly used FF3 before....

Yeah I use FF 99% of the time. This is the first time it has failed me. I just don't see why the heck it would mess up my fonts.   

I guess I could wait for an update to FF and hope for the best but they take forever to release them and I doubt that would fix anything in my other browsers  
 
ALTF4
Posts: 1154
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 5:01 pm

RE: Help! Corrupted Fonts In Win7

Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:31 pm

I can't seem to reproduce the issue on WinXP.... but I'll take a look at it when I get home on Win7.

I'm not convinced its really the Windows fonts right now. I've got some ways to freeze changes on certain directories on my computer @ home so I'll try that then install FF4 and see if I get a similar issue. If I do, its not the fonts, as no fonts would have changed. If I don't... well... it could be the fonts or something else.

In the meantime, try this:

•Open Mozilla Firefox 4, go to the address bar and type about:config
•Search for the property gfx.direct2d.disabled
•Double click on it to set it to True.


Restart FF. If it doesn't fix anything, then undo the changes.... but I have a feeling it might do something for you. Granted, its hard to diagnose over the interwebs...

[Edited 2011-03-25 10:32:14]
The above post is my opinion. Don't like it? Don't read it.
 
ALTF4
Posts: 1154
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 5:01 pm

RE: Help! Corrupted Fonts In Win7

Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:41 pm

And check this out: http://pinoytech.org/su/question/261...x-4-is-displaying-all-text-as-bold

Either download the fonts from the link on sourceforge, or insert you Win7 DVD and open the install.wim using 7-zip (Google it)... open the 4 or 5 directory, then go to the windows directory and find fonts. Copy Arial, paste into your Windows install font folder, and ***install the font by clicking install in the menu bar***.

I'm going on memory from opening the install.wim image, so I might be off a little on the exact path to it.

Looks like we're both right - hardware acceleration in FF4 will mess things up, but only messes things up because of an issue (that it made I suppose) with the arial font in the fonts folder. As a result, all pages that have arial on them will be fuzzy/blurry or bold, depending on the computer.

Strange thing is, A.net lists Arial as the third preferred font. I guess FF or win7 don't have the other two fonts.... or maybe those are messed up as well and need to be 'fixed' too.

Lots of speculation on my part, hopefully some of it helps.
The above post is my opinion. Don't like it? Don't read it.
 
Fly2HMO
Topic Author
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: Help! Corrupted Fonts In Win7

Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:04 pm

Quoting ALTF4 (Reply 5):


Either download the fonts from the link on sourceforge, or insert you Win7 DVD and open the install.wim using 7-zip (Google it)... open the 4 or 5 directory, then go to the windows directory and find fonts. Copy Arial, paste into your Windows install font folder, and ***install the font by clicking install in the menu bar***.

Finally, that did it! Though I had tried a variation of that and that initially didn't quite work out.   

Thank you, good sir!

Now that it works the "normal" text in FF4 does indeed look a bit different compared to FF3, looks like IE9 text actually. Hardware acceleration at work I presume.

[Edited 2011-03-25 11:08:54]
 
ALTF4
Posts: 1154
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 5:01 pm

RE: Help! Corrupted Fonts In Win7

Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:18 pm

Quoting Fly2HMO (Reply 6):

Good, glad it worked!

If you'd like, you can turn of FF4 font hardware acceleration (come on now, fonts are a few pixels... the CPU can handle that) using the about:config thing I posted earlier. You'd be better off doing that than unchecking the "hardware acceleration" box in the options menu, becuase that could affect Flash and HTML 5 video.

I'll bet you get used to it over the next week though  

Cheers!
The above post is my opinion. Don't like it? Don't read it.
 
Fly2HMO
Topic Author
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: Help! Corrupted Fonts In Win7

Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:43 pm

Quoting ALTF4 (Reply 7):

Good, glad it worked!

If you'd like, you can turn of FF4 font hardware acceleration (come on now, fonts are a few pixels... the CPU can handle that) using the about:config thing I posted earlier. You'd be better off doing that than unchecking the "hardware acceleration" box in the options menu, becuase that could affect Flash and HTML 5 video.

I'll bet you get used to it over the next week though

Well I ended up uninstalling FF4 altogether, went back to FF3. I was extremely disappointed. I mean its great, IF it works. It is extremely buggy and crashes every 5 minutes. I guess I'll wait till they put out an update. FF3 was super reliable.

[Edited 2011-03-25 11:52:04]
 
Geezer
Posts: 1413
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:37 am

RE: Help! Corrupted Fonts In Win7

Sun Apr 03, 2011 4:40 am

Here's an even better idea; buy yourself a Mac and never have to worry with all those problems again ! As long as you stick to windows and PC's you're gonna have problems !
Stupidity: Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result; Albert Einstein
 
Fly2HMO
Topic Author
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: Help! Corrupted Fonts In Win7

Sun Apr 03, 2011 8:33 pm

Quoting geezer (Reply 9):
buy yourself a Mac and never have to worry with all those problems again !


  
 
cerretaman
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 3:08 am

RE: Help! Corrupted Fonts In Win7

Sun Apr 03, 2011 8:57 pm

Quoting geezer (Reply 9):
Here's an even better idea; buy yourself a Mac and never have to worry with all those problems again ! As long as you stick to windows and PC's you're gonna have problems !

I have had nothing but PCs and never had any major problems.
u mad cause i'm stylin' on you?
 
Springbok747
Posts: 4007
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 9:13 am

RE: Help! Corrupted Fonts In Win7

Sun Apr 03, 2011 9:02 pm

Quoting geezer (Reply 9):
Here's an even better idea; buy yourself a Mac

 

That was clearly not the answer the OP was looking for...

In any case..

אני תומך בישראל

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 747400sp, LittleFokker, tommy1808 and 12 guests