Topic Author
Posts: 4793
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 4:11 pm

SSL Error?

Tue May 15, 2012 3:26 am

Lately I've been getting this error when I log in to Facebook. I get this message:

You attempted to reach www.facebook.com, but instead you actually reached a server identifying itself as *.ak.fbcdn.net. This may be caused by a misconfiguration on the server or by something more serious. An attacker on your network could be trying to get you to visit a fake (and potentially harmful) version of www.facebook.com.
You should not proceed, especially if you have never seen this warning before for this site.

I've done google searches and all I've found is a site called Akamai which provides server services for many websites. It seems my laptop (and those of other users) don't recognize their security credentials so this warning pops up. Some sites claim it's legit; others have doubts.

Has anyone had this warning before with any other site? Would you proceed?

I also do DNS flushing and that works temporarily. I should also mention that it only happens at my apartment. When I'm back home or in campus I have never received this warning.

Maybe it's a problem with the router?
"You haven't seen a tree until you've seen its shadow from the sky."
Posts: 3156
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 1:19 am

RE: SSL Error?

Tue May 15, 2012 5:00 am

Quoting einsteinboricua (Thread starter):
Maybe it's a problem with the router?

Why would it be the routers fault?

Your security settings are probably set too high. Facebook is too big to be run off of 1 server. DNS redirects your request *usually* round robin style. At anyone point in time, its directed to one of the Akamai server farms that Facebook uses.

In my case, I get a choice of 4 servers:

;facebook.com. IN A

facebook.com. 2517 IN A
facebook.com. 2517 IN A
facebook.com. 2517 IN A
facebook.com. 2517 IN A

Perform a ping, and it picks the first server on the list.

PING facebook.com ( 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from www-10-01-ash4.facebook.com ( icmp_req=1 ttl=246 time=17.2 ms

If you still think there is a problem, don't log in.
Yay Pudding!
User avatar
Posts: 5408
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 5:30 am

RE: SSL Error?

Tue May 15, 2012 12:34 pm

Make sure your proxy settings have not been overriden in the options to use a nefarious proxy. (This is how those IP security scam softwares redirect your browser when attacking).
Older than I just was ,and younger than I will soo be.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BlueberryWheats, Yahoo [Bot] and 20 guests