ORDTLV2414
Topic Author

Should AA/UA Sue The Banks That Funded 9/11?

Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:38 pm

Since some middle eastern banks transferred funds to the Al Qadea terrorists, dont they assume some responsiblity for the planes that UA/AA lost. I'm not a legal expert, I know nothing about International law and this might be dumb but i was just wondering and thats what makes A.net so great.

EA CO AS

RE: Should AA/UA Sue The Banks That Funded 9/11?

Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:30 am

Did they fund a terrorist enterprise knowing what it was? Then yes. If they funded what they thought was just flight training or other seemingly-innocent-at-the-time items, then no.
"In this present crisis, government is not the solution to our problem - government IS the problem." - Ronald Reagan

Comments made here are my own and are not intended to represent the official position of Alaska Air Group

PHX787

Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:35 am

Lets not forget Al Qaeda had numerous front businesses before 9/11....so I highly doubt these banks knew what was going on.
Follow me on twitter: www.twitter.com/phx787

steex

Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:45 am

I won't comment on the legitimacy of a possible lawsuit, but either way, I highly doubt the airlines would want to purposely reignite significant public discussion of themselves related to 9/11 in any context. The potential for negative PR that arises from misunderstanding members of the public likely outweighs any potential settlement.

ORDTLV2414
Topic Author

Fri Mar 29, 2013 4:17 am

I see what your saying. 9/11 caused many people to be afraid of flying, which would in turn cause AA/UA to lose profits.

Braniff747SP

Fri Mar 29, 2013 4:44 am

Quoting ORDTLV2414 (Reply 4):

It is not necessarily that--it is merely the negative PR that it would generate.

I'd assume, however, that AA and UA got a hefty insurance payout--any claim could be the insurance's, no?
The 747 will always be the TRUE queen of the skies!

ATCtower

Fri Mar 29, 2013 6:11 am