usa4624
Posts: 270
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2001 10:51 am

AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Sun Oct 21, 2001 3:24 am

I will be flying from AUS to OKC next month, and the DFW - OKC leg will be on a Fokker 100. I noticed that AA is the only US carrier to buy F100's; where else do they run besides DFW - OKC?
 
MAH4546
Posts: 24557
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2001 1:44 pm

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Sun Oct 21, 2001 3:26 am

I think they are all DFW and ORD based. There are none at thier MIA and SJU hubs. They used to have some "executive" F-100s based in DAL, those are grounded for now.
a.
 
Guest

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Sun Oct 21, 2001 3:47 am

AA F-100s operate from ORD & DFW
For 10/01:

ORD
---------
ALB
ATL
BNA
DCA
DTW
HPN
IAD
IAH
MDT
MSP
OKC
PHL
ROC
RST
SAT
STL
SWF
TUL
XNA
YOW
YUL
YYZ

DFW
------
AMA
ATL
BHM
BJX
BNA
CLT
CVG
DAY
DSM
DTW
ELP
GSO
HSV
IAH
ICT
MDW
MFE
MSP
MTY
OMA
OKC
ORD
MEM
SDF
TYS
 
Brick
Posts: 1486
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 1999 11:08 am

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Sun Oct 21, 2001 3:52 am

US Airways also flies the F-100. Midway Airlines did too before they went under.

Mark Abbott
Denver, CO
A noble spirit embiggens the smallest man...
 
Guest

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Sun Oct 21, 2001 4:13 am

US Airways is retiring their F-100's by April of 2002
 
User avatar
yyz717
Posts: 15689
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:26 pm

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Sun Oct 21, 2001 4:23 am

AA also has a large operation at LGA. though not a defined 'hub' per se.

6 of the 7 daily AA LGA-YYZ flights are F100.

AA bought 75 F100's. 74 are in service (1 recently written off)

US bought 40 F100's. About 35 in service. US will be retiring the F100 by Apr 02. Approx 5 are in storage at Mojave.

Midway operated as many as 8 F100's at one point.

Neil/Toronto

I dumped at the gybe mark in strong winds when I looked up at a Porter Q400 on finals. Can't stop spotting.
 
flpuck6
Posts: 2047
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 1999 12:32 am

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Sun Oct 21, 2001 4:53 am

AA F-100s still show up at BOS.
Bonjour Chef!
 
Guest

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Sun Oct 21, 2001 5:01 am

The F-100's also show up in Kansas City every now and then too. I have had the opportunity to fly on one with both AA and US. I was not impressed.
 
pgh234
Posts: 732
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2001 12:48 pm

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Sun Oct 21, 2001 5:34 am

Here in PIT there is a bunch of F-100's running around. However, they are quickly dissapearing as US retires them. (I think they are going to need to buy an aircraft to fill this pretty big gap in aircraft seating since the DC-9s are gone and the F-100s are going to be gone. They will have nothing between a 50 seat RJ and 109?? seat A-319) I have only been on one F-100 in my life (CMH-PHL this summer) and I didn't hate it. But I must admit it was a bit noisy in the back (sounded sorta like an automatic trimmer or lawnmower with a high-pitched buzz).

pgh234
 
User avatar
American 767
Posts: 3927
Joined: Wed May 19, 1999 7:27 am

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Sun Oct 21, 2001 6:06 am

There used to be American F100's in Newark as well. Those used to be flown to/from Chicago, you're right there is a F100 crew base in Chicago. I've been on the Fokker 100 with American quite a few times, I liked it but I haven't seen it with the new interiors. Last time I flew on it, it still had the old seats. Do you know if American refurbished the Fokker 100's to the new interiors? I imagine they must have done so because they plan to keep that aircraft type for a while.
You won't see F100's in Newark anymore, now all EWR-ORD flights are MD-80's.

Ben Soriano
Brussels Belgium
Ben Soriano
 
redngold
Posts: 6673
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2000 12:26 pm

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Sun Oct 21, 2001 11:14 am

I love the Fokker 100 and will really miss it once it is out of service. I first rode on one in 1994 when I was coming back ABE-PIT-HPN. The PIT-HPN was on a F-100 and it felt great! I've been in love with that a/c ever since. I saw two F-100s at HPN last summer when I was coming back home -- I was going to PIT on USAirways' F-100, and there was an American F-100 at the next gate going to ORD-RST. I got some relatively good pics, just haven't had the time to put them on my site yet.

redngold
Up, up and away!
 
Guest

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Sun Oct 21, 2001 11:19 am

I flew an AA F100 IAH-DFW, the round windows are nice.  Big thumbs up
 
DLLongIsland
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2001 5:45 pm

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Sun Oct 21, 2001 1:05 pm

American also flies Fokker 100's out of Long Island's MacArthur airport (ISP).
 
AUS_Spotter
Posts: 279
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2000 1:35 am

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Sun Oct 21, 2001 1:38 pm

AA used to fly F100's betwen AUS and ORD but were changed to MD-82's sometime last year.

Jason
 
Guest

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Sun Oct 21, 2001 1:42 pm

AUS_Spotter, do you live in Austin? I would guess so by your name. I saw a 722 on that route in June. It was probably an equipment change. I live in Austin as well.
 
AUS_Spotter
Posts: 279
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2000 1:35 am

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Sun Oct 21, 2001 1:45 pm

Yes, I live in Austin. The 722 must have been an equipment change as I've never seen anything other than MD-82's on that route in about a year.

Jason
 
Guest

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Sun Oct 21, 2001 1:48 pm

And the occasional 763 change is nice, it is like once in a lifetime though. I saw one in on a change for an AA 757 from DFW last March. It was beautiful, squeezed in right next to a WN 733, the 763 put it to shame.
 
railmatt
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 1999 12:48 pm

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Sun Oct 21, 2001 7:44 pm

Two weeks ago there must have been 10 parked on the ramp at AA's Tulsa Maintenance and Engineering Center. This is way more than normal.

With the new MRTC they are a joy to fly on. They weren't before!
 
Guest

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Mon Oct 22, 2001 2:22 pm

The 8 ex-Love Field 56 seat F-100's have been parked at TUL since the Love Field executive service to LGA, ORD, and LAX has been dropped
 
acidradio
Crew
Posts: 1595
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2001 3:19 pm

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Mon Oct 22, 2001 2:40 pm

I heard that Fokker went bankrupt a while back, is that making any impact on finding service parts for the Fokker 100?

I must say, that when I work on the ramp at MSP, I hear the same loud DC9's and uninteresting A319/320's day in and day out. But somehow when I hear the unmistakable whistle of the RR engines on a F100, my ears perk up somehow and I take a look.
Ich haben zwei Platzspielen und ein Microphone
 
User avatar
RayChuang
Posts: 8005
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2000 7:43 am

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Mon Oct 22, 2001 10:48 pm

I wonder why AA never considered flying the F100 to SFO, SJC, LAX or SNA.

Is it because AA wants to keep the planes close to their primary F100 pilot bases at DFW and ORD? I see mostly MD-80 class planes, 737NG's, and 757-200's at SJC, AA's primary airport in the San Francisco Bay Area.
 
Guest

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Tue Oct 23, 2001 7:15 am

Range issues to fly ORD to West Coast, plus at only holding 86 pax, uneconomical on those routes and lacks cargo space compared to MD-80's. Passengers would complain flying for more than 2.5 hrs on and F-100.
 
gocaps16
Posts: 4138
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2000 9:14 am

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Tue Oct 23, 2001 11:19 am

AA flies the F100 from DCA to ORD, BOS, an now STL.
No more TWA at DCA.

Kevin/DCA
 
CannedSpam
Posts: 449
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2000 8:18 am

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Thu Oct 25, 2001 8:41 am

Ray,

Why doesn't AA fly the F-100 on the west coast? Easy... Since ORD is the B-check station, it would be impossible to fly F-100s on the west coast without opening a seperate MX base on the west coast. The F-100 has a drift down problem that prohibits its use over the Rocky Mountains on a normal basis. That means that there is no way to flow aircraft from the west coast to ORD and back to insure that the MX parameters are met without adding a lot of additional expense. Believe me, it was looked at but was not feasible or cost efficient.
 
thomasphoto60
Posts: 3713
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2000 1:04 pm

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Thu Oct 25, 2001 9:03 am

IAH is AA F-100 heaven or hell as I prefer to call it!

Say has any one heard this?

Several years ago a WWII English flying ace was recounting some of his war stories to a group of English school girls, and in one story he told of how he was jumped by 3 Fokkers!

"This one Fokker came right out of the sun and another Fokker was on my tail while another Fokker was aprroaching up from below " During all of this the girls were laughing and giggling, the headmaster interupted and told the girls to quiet down and also mentioned that the Fokkers were planes used by the Germans duing the war. The ace spoke up and said .......

" Yes, but these Fokkers were flying Messerschmitts" Laugh out loud

Hey, I thought it was funny!

Thomas
"Show me the Braniffs"
 
User avatar
OzarkD9S
Posts: 4750
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 2:31 am

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Thu Oct 25, 2001 1:40 pm

would be nice if AA replaced the F-100's with 717's. I think Braniff (MkII) ordered the F-100, but they went belly-up first.
Next up: STL-OAK-RNO-LAS-ICT-STL
 
Guest

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Thu Oct 25, 2001 5:44 pm

Sometimes AA instead of using the MD-80 all the time on the ALB to ORD route they would use the F100.
 
Yorkie
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2001 1:21 am

RE: AA - Fokker 100's - Where?

Thu Oct 25, 2001 5:52 pm

The first 40-plus F.100 delivered to American all went to O'Hare. I believe they then set up a second base at RDU which used to be a big AA hub. When they closed that down the F.100 there moved to DFW - or so I believe from distant memory.

Just to complete the picture, Mexicana also have F.100 and are (were) used to the US - about a year ago I saw one at MCO with a Dutch reg. and green tail - it looked very smart.

Who is online