BA
Topic Author
Posts: 10133
Joined: Fri May 19, 2000 11:06 am

American's New Hub In STL

Mon Dec 31, 2001 2:01 am

What plans does American Airlines have for STL since? Will it remain the same as it was when TWA ran it? Or will they have drastic changes in there services?

I know before American acquired TWA, they've been looking for a midwest hub.

Well they finally got one.  Smile

Lets hope they put it to good use.

Regards.
"Generosity is giving more than you can, and pride is taking less than you need." - Khalil Gibran
 
Jaws707
Posts: 667
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2001 10:45 am

RE: American's New Hub In STL

Mon Dec 31, 2001 2:10 am

I personally do not see what the point of them keeping the STL hub is. This is because they already have hubs in Chicago and Dallas and one in St. Louis which is just inbetween them just does not make too much sense for me.
 
haveric
Posts: 1219
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2001 9:31 am

RE: American's New Hub In STL

Mon Dec 31, 2001 2:23 am

Anyone know what the new name for the TWA Dome will be?

Eric
 
User avatar
OzarkD9S
Posts: 4752
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 2:31 am

RE: American's New Hub In STL

Mon Dec 31, 2001 2:46 am

The plan is to use STL for connecting traffic which is lower yield. This will free up capacity in ORD and DFW which have a larger percentage of high yield O&D
traffic. By moving transfer pax thru STL, the hubs at ORD and DFW will maximize revenue and in effect subsidize STL. There also exists the possibility of
running continuous hubs at all three, giving passengers
the most choices of travel times. For instance if someone in ABQ wants to go to LGA, they have many
choices of connections thru the 3 hubs, more than any
other competitor, which appeals to the high yield business traveler.
Next up: STL-OAK-RNO-LAS-ICT-STL
 
Guest

RE: American's New Hub In STL

Mon Dec 31, 2001 7:31 am

I think its easy to say that all transfer passengers will be routed through STL while O&D will go to DFW and ORD, but I think thats going to be very complex and unattainable. One of those easier said than done things.
 
Boeingfan
Posts: 369
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2001 1:47 am

RE: American's New Hub In STL

Mon Dec 31, 2001 8:37 am

Run the lower yield competative revenue through STL, use DFW and ORD for business O & D.

Believe it or not, (fares do not make sense as they are market based) it is cheaper to fly to Fla destinations through STL from Texas then, ATL or non stop.

The staff at STL (ex TW) are very nice and seem to go the extra yard too (guess thankful for their jobs?), which is good for AA customer relations.

Fares are finally on the increase for all airline domestic US routes, so this is good news. However most the increase will only cover the increasing insurance, fuel, labor, maintenance and security cost.

The goal, return to profitablity for all hubs by 2003.
 
penguinflies
Posts: 932
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2000 12:00 pm

RE: American's New Hub In STL

Mon Dec 31, 2001 8:52 am

AA told the city and the local paper here they do not want the naming rights to the TWA dome. The naming rights are for sale.
 
Tan Flyr
Posts: 1567
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2000 11:07 pm

RE: American's New Hub In STL

Mon Dec 31, 2001 11:41 am

I believe that STL has the potential to help AA achieve profitability faster in 2002 or 3 than anything else. By tweaking schedules for many cities, adding more connections , more opportunities for customers to stick with or choose AA. I would hope that eventually some of the CRJ700's would be assigned to STL for some thinner routes like at STL-FAT, STL-PSP(seasonal)perhaps open some new cites for AA where the cost of the slot at ORD or DFW is not worth it, but from STL it makes sense, like maybe GEG, or BOI as examples.

If I were an employee of UA, I'd be quite concerned with such a 900 Lb gorilla in both my front and back yards!
 
blink182
Posts: 5273
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 1999 3:09 am

RE: American's New Hub In STL

Mon Dec 31, 2001 11:47 am

I am not trying to shift the subject but as far as I know, DFW isn't slotted- yet. Keep in mind I could be wrong though. It is getting more congested, but not bad due to the amount of runways and 24 hr. operations.

rgds,
blink182
Give me a break, I created this username when I was a kid...
 
AIR757200
Posts: 1466
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2000 8:30 am

RE: American's New Hub In STL

Mon Dec 31, 2001 1:21 pm

I like having STL as a back up city when we have off-schedule-operations, have more choices to keep passengers on AA rather than bumping them to another airline and losing complete revenue.

AIR757200
 
deltaflyertoo
Posts: 1479
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2000 3:18 pm

RE: American's New Hub In STL

Mon Dec 31, 2001 1:44 pm

A lot of you suggest that STL will be used as a low yield connection point while DFW and ORD will be used primarily for O&D. Can anyone give better specifics for that? For example, once the dust settles, lets say I want to fly from LAX to PHL on American. Will it be set up so that when I go online, it will only allow me access to flights originating from LAX to STL? Will it also be set up so that if I can get around that the flights going to DFW and ORD will not arrive in any definable bank to the east coast, therefore rendering them useless?

Business wise, this makes enormous sense to have STL be a transfer point and exploit ORD and DFW as a high revenue O&D center. But logistically, how are they going to pull that off? My above suggestions seem the only possible way, but not at the risk of putting off and frustrating people in the spoke cities who have no clue why.
 
Purdue Arrow
Posts: 947
Joined: Tue May 25, 1999 1:49 pm

RE: American's New Hub In STL

Mon Dec 31, 2001 4:37 pm

Deltaflyertoo -

In practice, the way that they would set up having one hub cater to lower-yield traffic would be to make more seats available in the lower fare classes on flights connecting at STL, and making a higher percentage of the seats through DFW or ORD in the higher fare buckets. Thus, when a passenger chose to search flights by price, he would find more options through STL than through the other hubs. In other words, if there was a promotional sale of, say, $100 each way from SAN to IND, they could funnel lower yield traffic through STL by offering, for example, 100 seats a day at that fare for SAN-STL-IND, and only 50 seats a day at that fare on flights routed SAN-ORD/DFW-IND.

Bear in mind that, in writing this, I'm not saying that I think this is their plan... simply that this would be the logical way to have one hub focus on lower yield traffic than the other two.
 
Alaskaairlines
Posts: 2326
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 12:28 pm

RE: AA In ANC Instead Of Twa?

Mon Dec 31, 2001 5:13 pm

Guys, do you know if AA will come up to ANC instead of the TWA 75's and 80's?

-Dmitry
 
twa@fra
Posts: 150
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2000 8:10 pm

RE: American's New Hub In STL

Mon Dec 31, 2001 7:10 pm

I think it could be dangerous for STL if AA only will use it for low yield traffic. Because in future economics downs it will be the first HUB which will be closed and they could focus again on their "old"HUB`s. They couldn't done it at the present down, because they just bought it and it wouldn't let the Management looks so good. But in the future when AMR Management have to increase their shareholder value, they will close the low yield market first. Also geographical the STL HUB only makes sense when you have a lot of PAX.

happy new year

TWA@FRA
 
ScottB
Posts: 5447
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2000 1:25 am

RE: American's New Hub In STL

Tue Jan 01, 2002 3:09 am

I don't think there's any doubt that AA will keep the hub at STL. Having an additional hub at STL allows AA to offer more choices to its passengers and helps take pressure off the more congested hubs at ORD and DFW. It also gives them an opportunity to grow the system as air traffic recovers post-recession. STL is quite well-situated geographically as a connecting hub and, moreover, is a good O&D market.

If AA were to pull down their hub at STL, however, there's always Southwest in the East Terminal. You could expect their STL operation to double in size within a few years in that event.
 
TWFirst
Posts: 5752
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2000 5:30 am

RE: American's New Hub In STL

Tue Jan 01, 2002 3:26 am

AA absolutely will keep the STL hub. This is one of the main reasons, if not THE main reason AA saw value in TW when looking at it as an acquisition opportunity. STL is a very efficient hub operation, and will only improve once the third parallel runway and midfield terminal are built. They would NOT have gone to all the trouble and expense of switching everything over to AA in STL if they weren't planning on keeping it as a hub. Additionally, there is substantial O&D traffic at STL. TWA wouldn't have survived there as long as it did if there weren't.

Deltaflyertoo:

It's alreadly happening. If you go to AA.com or Orbitz and put in certain itineraries, certain routings will pop up first. Depending on yields, loads, etc., AA will try to entice you through the hub they want to direct traffic through by pricing tickets accordingly. Same happens with Delta and other airlines. If I want to fly from Minneapolis to Florida, a lot of times it will be much cheaper to connect in either CVG or ATL, depending (obviously) on what the loads are or which hub they want to direct traffic through.

An unexamined life isn't worth living.