hartsfieldboy
Posts: 529
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2001 4:50 am

A320 Runway Length Needed

Sat Apr 06, 2002 4:43 am

Does anyone know the minimum runway needed for the A320 at an elevation of 1000 ft and "normal" temperatures? I have already found the 737's graph showing this information here: http://www.boeing.com/assocproducts/aircompat/73bjsec3.pdf, but I couldn't find it for the A320.

The reason I ask is, I am wondering if Atlanta's Peachtree-Dekalb Airport (PDK) could be converted to commercial use. Their longest runway is 6,000 x 100 ft long and wide. Airlines like Southwest and jetBlue which currently do not serve Atlanta could go there and avoid ATL.
 
wingman
Posts: 2830
Joined: Thu May 27, 1999 4:25 am

RE: A320 Runway Length Needed

Sat Apr 06, 2002 5:09 am

Not much I can tell you. I did a T/O last week in a UA 320 from John Wayne in Orange County. Max brakes...full trust...and release which practically snaps your neck back with the entire airframe just rocking from the power build-up. By far the coolest T/O scene around.
 
Metalbird
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2002 9:29 am

RE: A320 Runway Length Needed

Sat Apr 06, 2002 8:47 am

In the airport that I work, Horta International Airport in the Azores Islands (LPHR), we have the Tap Airbus 320 daily from Horta to Lisbon (1050 nm) full pax (156) and freight (2 or 3 tons (depends on the weather conditions), and the runway is 5600 feet long (1700 meters).

I know (and I have seen many times)that the A320, must be the A320-214 version (engines are CFM56 with 27000 pounds thrust each) is able to take off with a max takeoff weight of 74 tons (in this case the actual runway lenght used before rotation is about 4500 feet) (in no wind condition).

(74 tons is the max standard takeoff weight) of the A320 so there are no penalties due to the runway lenght, the only trade off is that if you want to fly much farther than 1000 nm, you have to reduce the freight weight for extra fuel needed. The max range of the A320 from the Horta airport is 2200 nm (acounting with 85%) headwinds (no freight, only 150 pax) with the normal fuel reserves.

The Horta runway is almost sea level. The normal anual temperature is around 17 degrees celsius.

What I can say is that Airbus builds excelent airplanes, the Airbus 320-214 is an excelent airplane, very, very powerful engines.
Before we had the 737 both the 200 version and the 300 version, the A320 is much better (more pax, more comfort, less noise, more cabin width, cargo in containers, etc). The A320 uses less fuel now with 156 pax than a 737-200 with 118 pax used to do the same trip, thats truly a great economy. Sorry to all the Boeing fans, but thats the truth.

I hope this answers the question

MetalBird
 
Metalbird
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2002 9:29 am

RE: A320 Runway Length Needed

Sat Apr 06, 2002 9:03 am

Sory, I think that the problem is not the runway lenght but is with the width, the A320 needs a runway with 150 feet width, so A320, is not possible to operate in your airport due to the only 100 feet in width of the runway.

I think that the B737 (wich is almost the same size as an A320), has an FAA exemption and can operate in runways with only 100 feet in width, I know that the 737-300 can operate in 100 feet width but the equivalent to the A320 is a 737-400 or 737-800 and for that bigger airplanes, I dont know if its possible to operate in your airport.

Best regards

MetalBird
Best regards
 
LY744
Posts: 5185
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2001 11:55 pm

RE: A320 Runway Length Needed

Tue Apr 09, 2002 8:33 am

I've noticed that all SSV A320's that flew into and out of YQG this winter always used the longer rwy, 07/25, which is 9000' long and 200' wide and has displaced thresholds on both sides (900' and 1100'), as opposed to rwy 12/30, 5150'x150' (landing distances are 4850' and 4550'), even when everybody else were using 12/30, due to wind conditions. I wonder why that is, especially considering the fact that on landing, those A320's would only use up about 4300' of the rwy. Those flights weren't too long either, about 2000-3000km.  Confused

LY744.
Pacifism only works if EVERYBODY practices it