zrs70
Posts: 3313
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2000 4:08 am

Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 3:39 am

By this, I mean, do you ever purposefully connect in non-hubs, just to see the airprot? Examples: ORD-DSM-DEN on UA, or CVG-LAS-LAX on DL?

Usually the cost is the same, and it can be kind of fun!
17 year airliners.net vet! 2000-2016
 
Hurricane
Posts: 1355
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2002 11:39 am

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 3:50 am

I'm supposed to fly RDU-CLE-MSN-MSP-SUX-MSP-MSN-CLE-RDU when I could have just as easily flown RDU-MSP-SUX-MSP-RDU...
These plans aren't finalized, but they could be soon.
 
jhooper
Posts: 5560
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2001 8:27 pm

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 3:59 am

Yea; I do that alot. For example, one time I flew ATL-DFW through Baton Rouge.
Last year 1,944 New Yorkers saw something and said something.
 
B747-437B
Posts: 8777
Joined: Thu May 30, 2002 6:54 am

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 4:04 am

I believe I have the distinction of being the first (and only) idiot to connect off the only redeye into TUL. I flew the Comair CRJ redeye LAS-TUL arriving around 5am and connected to the 545am ASA Brasilia TUL-DFW. I did it on a dare from DeltaSFO.
"The A340-300 may boast a long range, but the A340 is underpowered" -- Robert Milton, CEO - Air Canada
 
kjet12
Posts: 894
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2001 7:33 am

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 4:24 am

I once flew HNL-SFO-EUG-PDX-ORD on UAL instead of just HNL-ORD (This was two years ago). It was actually fun especially since I had never been to Oregon.

Thanks For Flying,
Kris
AA - Doing what we do best.
 
Gib
Posts: 277
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2001 5:01 am

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 4:37 am

Did a ATL-IAD-LAX-HNL, with the same routing on the return. We were on UA in F, but if I had to do it again, I'd fly coach with a more direct route. I LOVED seeing the many sites and being on 6 different a/c in 7 days, but I'm getting TOO damn old.

VFR and Tailwinds...

Gib
 
jrlander
Posts: 1025
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 1999 3:47 am

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub C

Fri Jun 21, 2002 5:08 am

I once flew from Orlando to Jackson, Mississippi connecting through Birmingham, Alabama. I have a friend who flew ATL-LGA last year and connected through Richmond, Virginia.

 
zrs70
Posts: 3313
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2000 4:08 am

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 5:15 am

Not asking about multi-segment trips. Just curious about connecting through a non hub!
17 year airliners.net vet! 2000-2016
 
Noise
Posts: 2012
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 1999 7:38 am

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 5:45 am

Is LGA or BOS a hub airport for DL?
 
Tango-Bravo
Posts: 2887
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2001 1:04 am

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 6:31 am

I didn't create it although I have seen MSP-DTW on NW via a connection at GRR shown on-line somewhere; in spite of a dozen or more daily MSP-DTW non-stops offered by NW.
 
B747-437B
Posts: 8777
Joined: Thu May 30, 2002 6:54 am

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 6:34 am

Tango-Bravo : I've never used GRR to hop between MSP and DTW, but I have done MEM-GRR-DTW once. The best non-hub connection for MSP-DTW is usually ORD with plenty of NW service on both routes as well as a nice WorldClub.
"The A340-300 may boast a long range, but the A340 is underpowered" -- Robert Milton, CEO - Air Canada
 
jmc1975
Posts: 2893
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2000 10:57 am

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 6:37 am

I flew PHX-IND-CLT-TRI once on HP/US

And I once flew MCO-BNA-PHX on WN

Also, flew CHA-ATL-PBI-GHB on DL/MAF

.......
 
dutchjet
Posts: 7714
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2000 6:13 am

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 6:43 am

Ancient history: I flew with Piedmont from EWR to Norfolk - changed planes - Norfolk to Charleston, SC. 72S to Norfolk, connecting to a 73S to Charleston. A bit odd, we were late in Norfolk and Piedmont actually held the second flight for the 3 of us since the terminal was alerted of "conex pax" at Norfolk. This is in 1986, I think.

Another example, again, strangely enough, with Piedmont, PBI-JAX with a DHC8 and JAX-EWR with a 73S......this was a listed connection in the timetable; I was flying back to the NYC area after the Christmas holidays and it was the only thing available at an affordable fare. Not sure when, but long ago!
 
SR 103
Posts: 1618
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2000 6:19 am

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 7:13 am

I have booked for August 3rd
AMS-MIA on NW connecting to
MIA-MCO on CO (NW flight #)

Also I have booked for December
AMS-DTW on NW connecting to
DTW-TPA on NW connecting to
TPA-DAB on CO (NW flight #)

I have also done
TPA-MIA on CO Connecting to
MIA-IAH on CO
 
concorde1518
Posts: 723
Joined: Thu May 17, 2001 12:02 pm

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 8:17 am

I do all the time.... it's called Southwest Airlines  Smile

Seriously, folks.. I have before, if I REALLY want to go to that airport or havethe option of connecting somewhere new or a hub that I've been to too many times. I usually go thru the hub though..

 Smile
 
Guest

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 11:09 am

How do you do it Sean?
You just float around our nation's airways like a bird in the sky. Most people line up their credit cards and dish out hundreds of dollars to fly A to B. Yet you seem to fly A to B to C to D, etc... for pennies.

I'm just dumfounded.

TNNH
 
Bernard Shakey
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2001 4:05 am

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 11:13 am

This is the ancient non-rev trick if you happen to live in a hub city. If you can get to another hub of your airline, you can get home. I've used SDF, STL, CVG, DCA, BOS, ATL, TYS, RDU, ORD, and others as a connection point to avoid heavy hub to hub flights (my employer does not use any of those cities as hubs).
Mindless drifter on the road, Carries such an easy load
 
prosa
Posts: 5389
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2001 3:24 am

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 11:33 am

I've taken WN between ISP and PBI with a change in TPA, several times in fact.
"Let me think about it" = the coward's way of saying "no"
 
drewwright
Posts: 530
Joined: Tue May 15, 2001 3:51 am

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 11:35 am

In 2000 I flew from OKC to SJC by way of DFW/SNA on American, so I could see SNA first hand, and fly on the MD-90 before American phased them out.
DRW
 
strickerje
Posts: 706
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2001 1:35 pm

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub C

Fri Jun 21, 2002 11:47 am

There are several hub to hub flights that make stops between. This probably doesn't count, but some examples I've seen on Delta are -

ATL-TUL-OKC-SLC, B-737-800
ATL-DCA-JFK, MD-88
DFW-AEX-GTR-ATL or DFW-LFT-MEI-ATL, EMB-120
DFW-JAN-BHM-ATL, B-727

Of course, between two hub cities, you can connect in any city that has flights to and from either of those hubs, so that's a lot of options. I've thought about doing something like that before.

-Jeffrey
 
jsnww81
Posts: 2297
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 3:29 am

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 11:49 am

Southwest is great for direct flights...

Just the other day I flew Chicago Midway-Nashville-Raleigh/Durham when I could easily have taken a nonstop flight. Later this summer I'm flying Raleigh/Durham-Baltimore-Cleveland-Chicago Midway. When I made the reservations over the phone, the agent thought I was crazy for wanting such an indirect routing.

I'm working on a trip to Los Angeles for September, also on Southwest. If all goes well, I'll fly from Dallas Love to Austin, then switch to an Austin-Lubbock-Las Vegas-Los Angeles flight. The return trip will be Los Angeles-El Paso-Houston Hobby, then switch to a flight back to Dallas. I'm just taking a carryon, so the Wright Amendment won't be too difficult to get around (I'll just have to get separate tickets.)
 
Skyway1
Posts: 977
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 12:15 pm

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 11:56 am

We(Chicago Express) had a passenger recently that flew DAY-MDW-MSN, then from MSN-MSP on Northwest Airlines. I found that a bit weird seeing as he could have just hopped on a Northwest Airlink flight straight to Minneapolis. I'm sure he had fun!

Chris  Smile  Smile
KNUK, KNUK, KNUK woowoowoo
 
AA717driver
Posts: 1502
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2002 8:27 am

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 12:51 pm

ALRIGHT! You people are all sick! Report for therapy immediately! Smile TC
FL450, M.85
 
mfricke
Posts: 275
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2001 3:04 pm

RE: Do You Ever Create A Connection In A Non-hub City?

Fri Jun 21, 2002 3:04 pm

Yes, and often! Just last year, I flew LAX-OMA-MCI on Midwest Express. Good thing, even, since they discontinued the LAX-OMA flight recently.
ONT - Southern California's Ontario!