Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

usa4624
Topic Author

Domestic US Arifares: Why Was There An Increase?

Thu Oct 03, 2002 1:51 am

I noticed that Air Fare prices out of AUS have gotten expensive this past week; and in a lot of cases, One Way is twice as expensive as R/T!

AUS to OKC is $150 R/T on AA, but $265 one way!
AUS to ELP is $182 R/T on AA, but $324.89 one way! DL is priced the same.
CO has the same price one way and RT AUS to ELP ($202)
AUS to MDW is $198 on AA/DL/NW/CO, but $293 one way.

A few weeks ago, the same one way ticket would cost you around $100; why the sudden increase in fares? Why is it cheaper to buy a one way ticket than a round trip?

Matt D

RE: Domestic US Arifares: Why Was There An Increase?

Thu Oct 03, 2002 3:38 am

One way fares have aways been more expensive than round trips. I'm not really sure why. I'm no expert in Yield Management.

Perhaps it has something to do with the "21 day" notice. More likely, they figure that anyone that's travelling one way is likely to have "unstable" travel plans, hence the open endedness, and are more likley to return on a last minute itinerary, where they can (and do) gouge you-simply-because-they can.

As for the cities you mention, and again, I'm no airline bean counter-so this is just a semi-educated guess-is probably because they are what the airline calls "second tier" or "orphan" cities", which is where the airlines make a good chunk of their money because of the captive market with little (or no) competition.

Perhaps there was a "fare war" recently in a "hot" market (i.e. LAX-JFK), and (lost) revenue had to be made up somwhere else in the system-hence the much increased fares you noticed.

clipper471
Head Editor

Thu Oct 03, 2002 8:53 am

Or perhaps the lower fares are now all booked and the remaining available fares on such routes are, well, more expensive.

jessman

Thu Oct 03, 2002 8:55 am

Or maybe the airlines are trying to make a profit.  Nuts