Posts: 139
Joined: Fri May 04, 2001 6:34 am

YYZ Terminals

Sun Oct 06, 2002 4:40 am

1) What is the story on the 'midfield' satellite terminal YYZ, west of T3? I had heard it would be a temporary terminal for AC when T1 was demolished, but that plan had been rethought when Canada 3000 went under. Does anyone know what, if anything, it's going to be used for?

2) Regarding the T3 Satellite, out by the AC maintenance hangar. When I flew DL CRJs to CVG, or CO to EWR/CLE, we would be bused out to the 'A' gates from T3. It looks, though, as if the other side of the satellite gates the gates one level up, now used by Tango - has a stairway coming up from the ramp. Is there a tunnel that passenger use to arrive at this side of the satellite from T3?
Posts: 6251
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2001 1:33 am

RE: YYZ Terminals

Sun Oct 06, 2002 4:49 am

Regarding the T3 satellite terminal, there has always been the underground tunnel connecting it to the main terminal. I am assuming you were bussed to your aircraft because you pre-cleared customs since you were going across the border. Domestic or other international flights don't go through customs first, so that's why maybe there was that difference.

The satellite terminal in the infield of YYZ is actually being used by airlines currently, such as Alitalia and Austrian Airlines. I've seen others there too. I don't know what the plan is, however, when T1 is demolished.
"it's kind of like an Airbus, it's an engineering marvel, but there's no sense of passion" -- J. Clarkson re: Coxster
Posts: 546
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 1999 10:24 am

RE: YYZ Terminals

Sun Oct 06, 2002 6:54 am

The Midfield terminal will be used for International flights when T1 New is opened (1 year from today) and T1 is torn down. Passengers will checkin at the new terminal and will be bussed to the terminal. I belive that Domestic Jazz and some Domestic Mainline will also operate from T1New when it opens
Posts: 2076
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2001 2:59 pm

RE: YYZ Terminals

Sun Oct 06, 2002 7:56 pm

Basically when T1 closes, the GTAA just wants enough gates to handle all of the aircraft that is coming in. To me it makes sense to have that satalite terminal in the infield, some days that could be the quickest in and out you could have at the airport. There are a few rwy's that kind of make it there.....rwy 33L is a good example, a couple of turns and you are there.

As for the T3 satalite terminal, Tango, Tango, Tango, there are so many tango flights, they need the room and keeping them by T3 will allow for quicker service on domestic routes

Drive it like you stole it!
Posts: 2320
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2001 9:43 am

RE: YYZ Terminals

Sun Oct 06, 2002 10:45 pm


Regarding the Terminal 3 Satellite, how do passengers get from there to T3?

Is there a tunnel or do they truck them like sheep similar to the infield terminal?

What's another word for thesaurus?
Posts: 3742
Joined: Tue May 25, 1999 7:40 am

RE: YYZ Terminals

Sun Oct 06, 2002 10:54 pm

There is a tunnel from the "B" Pier at T3 that leads to the "A" Building (Satellite) But gate A1 is a US pre-cleard RJ gate located on the ground level of the "A" Building and passengers are bussed there from the US-Precleared side of the "B" pier at T3.
"Clive Beddoe says he favours competition, but his actions do not support that idea." Robert Milton - CEO Air Canada