United777
Topic Author
Posts: 2196
Joined: Wed May 19, 1999 8:04 am

SQ In Bangalore, India?

Sun Oct 06, 2002 8:52 pm

Does anybody have any news on Singapore Airlines expanding flights to Bangalore, India any time soon? I know there was talks about it a few weeks ago. Silk Air will be starting flight to Hyderabad Oct. 30. I am sure Singapore Airlines would have flown the route but already code-shares with Air India on HYD-SIN.

If Singapore Airlines flies to Bangalore it would make it the largest international carrier in India. I think right now only British Airways and Singapore Airlines fly to the most cities in India. Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Calcutta. It would be nice to see BA in Bangalore also.

I see more expansion going to Bangalore before Hyderabad. The new airport in Hyderabad is going to take forever to build!  Sad
 
tsentsan
Posts: 1921
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 10:48 pm

RE: SQ In Bangalore, India?

Sun Oct 06, 2002 9:03 pm

I think MI would be doing the Bangalore run, since they're doing Hyderabad, Rajastan and Gujarat....

Perhaps MI shld think about some double bogey-ed A320s!  Smile/happy/getting dizzy
NO URLS in signature
 
Ex_SQer
Posts: 1351
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2002 5:43 am

RE: SQ In Bangalore, India?

Mon Oct 07, 2002 4:24 am

Tsentsan:
I don't think SilkAir goes to either Rajastan or Gujarat on a scheduled basis. Maybe charter.

United777:
SQ was supposed to start BLR in Nov this year, but apparently there is some red tape.
 
B747-437B
Posts: 8777
Joined: Thu May 30, 2002 6:54 am

RE: SQ In Bangalore, India?

Wed Oct 09, 2002 2:20 am

AFAIK, there is no international airport in Rajasthan. Neither JAI nor UDR have the appropriate customs/immigration facilities in place.

The international airport in Gujarat is AMD and Silk Air does not operate there. The only international nonstop services to AMD are on IC to/from the Middle East on A320s, plus of course AI's A310 connections from BOM of the US flights.
"The A340-300 may boast a long range, but the A340 is underpowered" -- Robert Milton, CEO - Air Canada
 
tsentsan
Posts: 1921
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 10:48 pm

RE: SQ In Bangalore, India?

Wed Oct 09, 2002 3:07 am

Ex_SqER - yeap on a charter basis they operate into those 2 cities  Smile/happy/getting dizzy
NO URLS in signature
 
Ex_SQer
Posts: 1351
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2002 5:43 am

RE: SQ In Bangalore, India?

Wed Oct 09, 2002 9:25 am

Oh, and apparently MI wanted both BLR and HYD. SQ gave them HYD after some persuasion, but they wouldn't take their greedy paws off BLR.  Smile/happy/getting dizzy
 
IndianGuy
Posts: 3126
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2000 3:14 pm

RE: SQ In Bangalore, India?

Wed Oct 09, 2002 11:04 am

Actually Sean, there ARE Customs/Immigration facilities atleast in JAI. There used to be a 320/AB3 flight to the Middle East from JAI. Not sure if it still operates. JAI was one of the 12 airports upgraded in the last round (GAU/LKO being the other ones).

The JAI-JDH-UDR is pretty popular with firang tourists becuase of the many palaces here.

-Roy