lmml 14/32
Posts: 2358
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2001 2:27 am

Can An A332 Do This Flight Non-stop?

Sun Oct 27, 2002 9:43 pm

An OS A332 just landed in MLA from CNC. Here is the route:

http://gc.kls2.com/cgi-bin/gc?PATH=cnc-mla%0D%0A&RANGE=&PATH-COLOR=red&PATH-UNITS=mi&SPEED-GROUND=&SPEED-UNITS=kts&RANGE-STYLE=best&RANGE-COLOR=navy&MAP-STYLE=

Is it possible for an A332 to do this route non stop? Even empty?
 
Airbus Lover
Posts: 3163
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2000 10:29 pm

RE: Can An A332 Do This Flight Non-stop?

Sun Oct 27, 2002 10:27 pm

Empty: Definitely
but if it has to make this flight it has to be on full fuel and no cargo , in other words, SEVERE weight restrictions...However, I've heard that tail winds in that area, esp. Bay of Bengal has been very strong and B744s go up to 1180km/h...
 
fritzi
Posts: 2598
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2001 2:34 am

RE: Can An A332 Do This Flight Non-stop?

Sun Oct 27, 2002 10:41 pm

Are you sure it was from CNC? I looked up the IATA code and it said that it belonged to Chariton Muni, Iowa.

Are you sure that it wasn´t Cancun (CUN) because I know that OS (NG) flies there.
 
A340-Fan
Posts: 249
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 10:00 pm

RE: Can An A332 Do This Flight Non-stop?

Sun Oct 27, 2002 10:41 pm

What flight was it?

OS A332 to Australia?
 
lmml 14/32
Posts: 2358
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2001 2:27 am

RE: Can An A332 Do This Flight Non-stop?

Mon Oct 28, 2002 6:42 pm

The point of origin was Coconut Island - IATA code CNC. The plane came in empty to pick pax from MLA to VIE who came to MLA as incentive travellers on a LAUDA 767 three days ago. The flight number, if I remember correctly, was OS 139.
 
VirginFlyer
Posts: 3880
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2000 12:27 pm

RE: Can An A332 Do This Flight Non-stop?

Mon Oct 28, 2002 7:12 pm

Is there even an airport where that map shows CNC, let alone one capable of handling an A330?

V/F
"So powerful is the light of unity that it can illuminate the whole earth." - Bahá'u'lláh
 
sr176
Posts: 337
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2001 11:11 pm

RE: Can An A332 Do This Flight Non-stop?

Mon Oct 28, 2002 7:28 pm

I just made ICN - ZRH on a KE 332 in exactly 12h01 with strong head winds. Obviously we landed safe. There were about 100 empty seats, no idea about the cargo.
 
fritzi
Posts: 2598
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2001 2:34 am

RE: Can An A332 Do This Flight Non-stop?

Mon Oct 28, 2002 7:36 pm

Coconut Island has a 3295 ft rwy which is definetly not capable of handling a 767 or A330.

Click on the link below which shows that CHARITON MUNI has the code CNC

http://worldaerodata.com/wad.cgi?airport=cnc
 
lmml 14/32
Posts: 2358
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2001 2:27 am

RE: Can An A332 Do This Flight Non-stop?

Mon Oct 28, 2002 7:46 pm

Charlton Muni is showing a code of CNY on the Great Circle Mapper:

http://gc.kls2.com/cgi-bin/gc?PATH=cny-mla%0D%0A&RANGE=&PATH-COLOR=red&PATH-UNITS=mi&SPEED-GROUND=&SPEED-UNITS=kts&RANGE-STYLE=best&RANGE-COLOR=navy&MAP-STYLE=

But this makes more sense. I think there is an error on the web site. What's strange is that on the Malta International Airport web site it showed that the plane was inbound from Coconut Island, which is near Australia.
 
zauberfloete
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2000 7:07 am

RE: Can An A332 Do This Flight Non-stop?

Mon Oct 28, 2002 11:29 pm

Can anyone confirm this:
An Austrian Airlines A330 did a flight from Chariton Muni, Iowa via Malta to Vienna?
This is very strange, I never heard of a flight like that.
What the heck is going on in Chariton Muni / Iowa that justifies a widebodied Jet from Austria there???
 
User avatar
Crosswind
Posts: 2536
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2000 4:34 am

RE: Can An A332 Do This Flight Non-stop?

Tue Oct 29, 2002 12:01 am

CNC is the IATA code for Coconut Island
CNC is the FAA code for Chariton Muni

There are so many airprts in the USA that there aren't enough IATA 3 letter designators, so the FAA have issued some duplicate codes for smaller US airports where there is little possibility of confusion whith airports outside the USA, ie airports which never or very rarely see international service.

Officially the IATA codes take precedence, but some US based listings will list the FAA airport, for obvious reasons.

I know it doesn't help the reasons why the Austrian A330 was flying such a flight, but it does at least explain the confusion!

Regards
CROSSWIND
 
tadex
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 7:09 pm

RE: Can An A332 Do This Flight Non-stop?

Thu Oct 31, 2002 2:54 am

There were only 2 flightplans filed from/to LMML on Oct. 27th. AUA1442 LOWW-LMML EOBT 0945. AUA2922 LMML-LOWW EOBT 1300. Statements or assumptions about these flights coming from CNC and/or going to LTN are completely wrong.
rgds
 
lmml 14/32
Posts: 2358
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2001 2:27 am

RE: Can An A332 Do This Flight Non-stop?

Thu Oct 31, 2002 8:06 am

In fact Tadex is right. I have found out today that the Austrian A332 did not arrive in MLA from CNC but from VIE. This confusion was caused by the Malta International Airport web site saying that the flight was from CNC. So I guess this matter is now solved.
 
tadex
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 7:09 pm

RE: Can An A332 Do This Flight Non-stop?

Fri Nov 01, 2002 3:57 am

I thought it was a mistake. Sounded strange.
rgds

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 767333ER, ANA787, BeachBoy, Bing [Bot], carljanderson, deltaguy767, Google Adsense [Bot], knope2001, MGA86, N62NA, nikeson13, phluser, retaliashun, Sightseer, vfw614, WN732, zckls04 and 345 guests