Tg 747-300
Topic Author
Posts: 1282
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 1999 6:08 am

Which Routs Does GA DC10 Opperate?

Sun Jan 05, 2003 7:17 am

I read in a trip report, that Garuda, to my suprise, still use the Dc10, and a quick check at the jetliner database showed that they had 4 or 5 still in service. So on which routes are this aircrafts utilized? Only intra Asia, or does we se them in Europe too?

If anybody have some more info about their seating IFE etc, i would like to know

tg 747-300
intentionally left blank
 
babaero
Posts: 416
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 4:39 am

RE: Which Routs Does GA DC10 Opperate?

Sun Jan 05, 2003 4:49 pm

Flew the ill fated PK-GIE and that had no IFE.Mind you that was a few years back

DC-10s still operate to at least CAN in China and occasionally to HKG still
 
james
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 1:30 pm

RE: Which Routs Does GA DC10 Opperate?

Sun Jan 05, 2003 5:32 pm

I see GA's dc10 in tpe from time to time. I think it is a TPE-DPS n/s.
 
mandala499
Posts: 6459
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2001 8:47 pm

RE: Which Routs Does GA DC10 Opperate?

Sun Jan 05, 2003 11:21 pm

GA DC-10s are being used only in Asia and domestic + Perth.

Garuda does not want to send it over long distances anymore due to their age. Only 4 is flying at a time out of 5. One being a spare on standby in Jakarta or Denpasar.

The DC-10s are used in conjunction with the A330s.

Principle DC-10/A330 duo routes are:
CGK-DPS
DPS-PER
CGK-Guangzhou
CGK-ICN
CGK-Balikpapan
CGK-Makassar-Manado

Balikpapan and Manado will be replaced by 734s.
DPS-MDO-TPE DC10 has been replaced by CGK-MDO-TPE with 734s.

Garuda will replace DC10s with 734s on shorter routes.
Medium haul currently is with A333.
Old DC10 routes such as Zurich will be reopened by 777 in 2006. (FCO, ZRH, CDG).

I hope this helps.

Mandala499
When losing situational awareness, pray Cumulus Granitus isn't nearby !
 
Tg 747-300
Topic Author
Posts: 1282
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 1999 6:08 am

RE: Which Routs Does GA DC10 Opperate?

Mon Jan 06, 2003 1:35 am

If some of the Dc10 routes will be replaced by 734, wouldn't that mean that this flights have had very big over capacity since the Dc10 takes about 120 pax (with GA) than the 734?

So its no special rule for when a flight is DC10 or A330?

Will thay be around for some time anymore?

tg 747-300
intentionally left blank