Topic Author

Has Security Gone To Far? (Avalon)

Tue Feb 11, 2003 8:58 pm

Hi, I actually got in a bit of trouble today down at the airshow (Avalon) with QF security and so one of my co-workers said I could get advice here...

I work as a Tarmac Marshall and today I was marshalling an aircraft (in full uniform) to Hanger 4 at YMAV... which means you have to go pass hanger 6, which today had a beautiful new QF 744ER parked at the front. As I was just walking behind this plane on a tug i decided to take some photos from the taxiway... but to my surprise a car pulled up beside me and a security guard confiscated my camera... I did not think it was anything but when I started to ask for my camera back they said I had committed a federal offence (and could receive up to 15 years jail for it) and that I had to surrender my personal details and delete all the images of the Qantas aircraft if I wanted my camera back... they had also notified the police (remembering this was at the airshow but in the hangers area)... not wanting to cause a fuss I did what I was told. Is it true that Qantas told security it doesn't like photos of its aircrafts to be taken?

Was this over the top? if I should complain... who should I do it too? because this was with Chubb security...
Thanks for your help

RE: Has Security Gone To Far? (Avalon)

Tue Feb 11, 2003 9:29 pm

Apparently, photography is getting illegal.
I wonder why a terrorist would use a photo of a QF 744ER.

-Transaero Boeing 737-200
PS: In the US it might be the same situtation, because planes are considered "Secure Objects"
What now?

Tue Feb 11, 2003 10:06 pm

I wonder why a terrorist would use a photo of a QF 744ER

They wouldn't. But who says that the film only contains QF 747 pictures, and not details of the surrounding access points, fences, possible entry areas...?

Cameras airside are bound to make security people unhappy. We know you're innocent, you know you're innocent. But the security guys don't.