atcboy73

Ever Bought The Seat Next To You To Keep It Empty?

Sat Nov 08, 2003 11:05 pm

Have you ever bought the seat next to you to keep it from being used by another passenger.

Maybe you had a feeling your flight was going to be full and you wanted a window seat, and to also have the middle seat stay unoccupied. Or maybe you were on a long cross country or an international flight and just wanted more room. Did your flight end up being full and did this cause problems.

Can you even do this?

notdownnlocked

RE: Ever Bought The Seat Next To You To Keep It Empty?

Sat Nov 08, 2003 11:08 pm

I haven't but I have seen Richard Simmons do this first class on a DFW-LAX flight so nobody would sit next to him.

[Edited 2003-11-08 15:11:25]

An-225

Sat Nov 08, 2003 11:31 pm

No... But I have been non-revving for the past two months, and most of the time I haven't had anyone sit next to me at all.

Alex.
Money does not bring you happiness. But it's better to cry in your own private limo than on a cold bus stop.

Ndebele

RE: Ever Bought The Seat Next To You To Keep It Em

Sun Nov 09, 2003 12:13 am

Imagine, you buy an extra ticket in order to keep the seat next to you free - just to find out that the flight is empty anyway. I have seen a case like this on an LTU A320, a passenger had bought an extra ticket, and in the end there were something like 20 passengers on board...

kilavoud

Sun Nov 09, 2003 1:26 am

If I were a sumo and like to fly only in coach, I would dot it.

http://www.asij.ac.jp/elementary/school/k_retire/push.htm

Regards. Kilavoud.

aviaction

Sun Nov 09, 2003 2:57 am

Ndebele already mentioned LTU, the German airline. When you buy their "Jahrescard" (Card valid for a year), which entitles the holder to unlimited travel on all flights between Germany and Spain (incl. Canary Islands) as well as Faro, for just EUR 10,000, you can get an "Extra-Seat-Card" (guaranteed free seat next to you) for EUR 5,000.