bombayhog

JFK Airtrain To Start Dec. 17th

Tue Dec 09, 2003 2:07 pm

Apologies if this has already been posted.

http://www.airtrainjfk.com/airtrain/

One question though. This website seems to state that it will cost $5 to ride from the Howard Beach A stop to your terminal. I had assumed that this connection would be much like just another subway ride (i.e. you could use your metrocard for a free connection). Since the shuttle buses, however slow and inefficient they used to be, were free, doesn't it seem a bit much to charge $5 for this? From Jamaica to your terminal I could understand. Any thoughts/insights?

-bombayhog

bombayhog

RE: JFK Airtrain To Start Dec. 17th

Tue Dec 09, 2003 5:44 pm

No responses? Perhaps I posted at an odd hour.

jcxp15

Tue Dec 09, 2003 11:53 pm

Yea, I'm a NYC resident, and everyone I know who used to do the A to JFK is furious about them charging us $5 from the subway to the terminals, a ride which used to be free. It's the PANY/NJ making sure that no one uses the A train any more, forcing people to either pay $5 for a 5 minute ride, or take the train from either Jamaica or Penn.

On another note, I don't know what they're going to do with the fare control area at Howard Beach, since it is technically right in the long term parking area. Since rides on the AirTrain will be free from Long Term parking to the terminals, there may be a way to scheme it and just walk into the long term parking from the A train and then ride free.

planemannyc

Wed Dec 10, 2003 12:27 am

I guess the one of the ways of collecting fares will be at Jamaica and Howard Beach -- passengers entering or exiting those stations will pay the $5. Then there is no fare collection needed while the passenger is on the train.

As a New Yorker, I find the fees to be very steep. Especially the Howard Beach connection. As I have mentioned on other threads, I find the AirTrain ride connecting through Jamaica quite inconvenient.