maiznblu_757
Posts: 4952
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2002 12:05 pm

Southwest Airlines Flight Help - MSP-TVC

Tue Dec 16, 2003 5:28 am

Is there anyone that is working for SWA that might know why a Southwest 737-300 flew MSP-TVC yesterday? I am just curious. Thanks.

FlightID: SWA4225 (Commercial Jet)
Status: IN FLIGHT
Owner: SOUTHWEST AIRLINES CO. (SAN ANTONIO, TX)
Radio Call: SOUTHWEST
Ground Spd: 455 kts Altitude: 33,000
Type: B733 (Boeing Company Model 737-300)
Origin Apt: MSP MINNEAPOLIS-ST PAUL INTL/WOLD-CHAMBERLAIN/
Dest Apt: TVC CHERRY CAPITAL
Departed: 8:15:00 AM CST (1415Z)
Original ETA: 10:04:00 AM EST (1504Z)
Calculated ETA: 10:03:00 AM EST (1503Z), In 0h 24m
Dist Fm Dept: 147 nm Dist To Dest: 179 nm

 
OPNLguy
Posts: 11191
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 1999 11:29 am

RE: Southwest Airlines Flight Help - MSP-TVC

Tue Dec 16, 2003 5:38 am

>>>that might know why a Southwest 737-300 flew MSP-TVC yesterday?

It was a charter (or a positioning ferry related to a charter).
ALL views, opinions expressed are mine ONLY and are NOT representative of those shared by Southwest Airlines Co.
 
maiznblu_757
Posts: 4952
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2002 12:05 pm

RE: Southwest Airlines Flight Help - MSP-TVC

Tue Dec 16, 2003 5:40 am

Thank you. Im Just wondering if it was was an outgoing charter. If so, it might be coming back..  Big grin
 
airlinelover
Posts: 5287
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2001 8:03 am

RE: Southwest Airlines Flight Help - MSP-TVC

Tue Dec 16, 2003 5:53 am

Does Funjet operate @ TVC??? Sometimes they use Southwest for charters..

Chris
Lets do some sexy math. We add you, subtract your clothes, divide your legs and multiply
 
beefer
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 1:37 pm

RE: Southwest Airlines Flight Help - MSP-TVC

Tue Dec 16, 2003 6:01 am

Would this be the first time that a Southwest jet has been into MSP?

Just curious, I've never heard of one being here before. It would have been pretty neat to see. If I were parked in the Post Rd. lot and saw a Southwest jet land, I think I would have crapped my pants.
 
maiznblu_757
Posts: 4952
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2002 12:05 pm

RE: Southwest Airlines Flight Help - MSP-TVC

Tue Dec 16, 2003 6:04 am

Funjet has not operated out of TVC. There was word they might start once the new terminal is completed though (next winter).
 
OPNLguy
Posts: 11191
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 1999 11:29 am

RE: Southwest Airlines Flight Help - MSP-TVC

Tue Dec 16, 2003 6:04 am

4425 would have been a "live" number, meaning they had folks onboard versus a ferry.

Probably taking a college football team home...that's the usual norm for weekend charters that are offline...
ALL views, opinions expressed are mine ONLY and are NOT representative of those shared by Southwest Airlines Co.
 
maiznblu_757
Posts: 4952
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2002 12:05 pm

RE: Southwest Airlines Flight Help - MSP-TVC

Tue Dec 16, 2003 6:06 am

Hmm.. No football team in Traverse City, other than High Schools.
 
B4REAL
Posts: 2561
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 5:53 am

RE: Southwest Airlines Flight Help - MSP-TVC

Tue Dec 16, 2003 6:09 am

Maybe Minnesota Wild using the Red Wings training facility? Or reverse?
B4REAL, spelled like it sounds
 
OPNLguy
Posts: 11191
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 1999 11:29 am

RE: Southwest Airlines Flight Help - MSP-TVC

Tue Dec 16, 2003 6:09 am

Big-time shopping trip to Mall of America?  Big grin
ALL views, opinions expressed are mine ONLY and are NOT representative of those shared by Southwest Airlines Co.
 
maiznblu_757
Posts: 4952
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2002 12:05 pm

RE: Southwest Airlines Flight Help - MSP-TVC

Tue Dec 16, 2003 6:24 am

Ok further investigating resulted in finding this flight info...
And thanks OPNLguy, for the tips about the flight numbers.


1
Information as of 12/11/2003 9:30:09 AM GMT
FlightID: SWA5100 (Commercial Jet)
Status: ARRIVED
Owner: SOUTHWEST AIRLINES CO. (SAN ANTONIO, TX)
Radio Call: SOUTHWEST
Type: B733 (Boeing Company Model 737-300)
Origin Apt: MDW CHICAGO MIDWAY INTL
Dest Apt: TVC CHERRY CAPITAL
Departed: 2:46:00 AM CST (0846Z)
Original ETA: N / A
Actual Arrival Time: 4:16:00 AM EST (0916Z)

2
Information as of 12/11/2003 11:42:00 AM GMT
FlightID: SWA4224 (Commercial Jet)
Status: ARRIVED
Owner: SOUTHWEST AIRLINES CO. (SAN ANTONIO, TX)
Radio Call: SOUTHWEST
Type: B733 (Boeing Company Model 737-300)
Origin Apt: TVC CHERRY CAPITAL
Dest Apt: MSP MINNEAPOLIS-ST PAUL INTL/WOLD-CHAMBERLAIN/
Departed: 5:34:00 AM EST (1034Z)
Original ETA: 5:31:00 AM CST (1131Z)
Actual Arrival Time: 5:42:00



3
Information as of 12/14/2003 3:08:23 PM GMT
FlightID: SWA4225 (Commercial Jet)
Status: ARRIVED
Owner: SOUTHWEST AIRLINES CO. (SAN ANTONIO, TX)
Radio Call: SOUTHWEST
Type: B733 (Boeing Company Model 737-300)
Origin Apt: MSP MINNEAPOLIS-ST PAUL INTL/WOLD-CHAMBERLAIN/
Dest Apt: TVC CHERRY CAPITAL
Departed: 8:15:00 AM CST (1415Z)
Original ETA: 10:04:00 AM EST (1504Z)
Actual Arrival Time: 10:



4
Information as of 12/14/2003 4:35:51 PM GMT
FlightID: SWA5121 (Commercial Jet)
Status: ARRIVED
Owner: SOUTHWEST AIRLINES CO. (SAN ANTONIO, TX)
Radio Call: SOUTHWEST
Type: B733 (Boeing Company Model 737-300)
Origin Apt: TVC CHERRY CAPITAL
Dest Apt: MDW CHICAGO MIDWAY INTL
Departed: 10:44:00 AM EST (1544Z)
Original ETA: N / A
Actual Arrival Time: 10:36:00 AM CST (1636Z)
 
OPNLguy
Posts: 11191
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 1999 11:29 am

RE: Southwest Airlines Flight Help - MSP-TVC

Tue Dec 16, 2003 6:29 am

If not a football team, another possibility would be a miltary charter, but of course, if I told you for sure I'd have to kill you as a security measure...  Big grin
ALL views, opinions expressed are mine ONLY and are NOT representative of those shared by Southwest Airlines Co.
 
jeffrey1970
Posts: 1243
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2001 1:41 am

RE: Southwest Airlines Flight Help - MSP-TVC

Tue Dec 16, 2003 6:40 am

Isn't there a resort in Traverse City? I think I heard there is some sort of ski resort there. I could be wrong.

God bless through Jesus,

Jeff
God bless through Jesus, Jeff
 
aviatortj
Posts: 1694
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 9:15 am

RE: Southwest Airlines Flight Help - MSP-TVC

Tue Dec 16, 2003 6:45 am

Southwest has been to MSP before. I have seen them at HHH. I would like to see them flying there more often eventually. But besides that, I don't think Champion Air wants a competitor in the ugly planes competition.

__TJ__
 
PSU.DTW.SCE
Posts: 6176
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 11:45 am

RE: Southwest Airlines Flight Help - MSP-TVC

Tue Dec 16, 2003 9:17 am

Haha,

Nothing I would call a ski resort in Traverse City. Sugarloaf went belly-up a few years back and every now and then someone attempts to reopen it, but runs into problems and plans fall through.

Or maybe Mt. Holiday and its whopping 250 ft of vertical.

Sorry, no big-time ski resorts around Traverse City. Northern Michigan Ski areas can draw a fair number of downstaters but nothing to warrent a charter 737. Grand Traverse Resort is a large hotel, golf resort, convention center. Lots of snow up there, just no big mountains.

I'd guess it could be Mall of America charters, afterall....tis' the season.
 
maiznblu_757
Posts: 4952
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2002 12:05 pm

RE: Southwest Airlines Flight Help - MSP-TVC

Tue Dec 16, 2003 2:10 pm

Adding 1+1 it isn't hard to figure out that the departure was from TVC. If it had started in MSP then I could have seen it being a hockey charter. Most of TVC's Hockey charters happen in September (Rookie Camp).

I am betting a Mall of America charter.

Does anyone know if airlines offer charter flights to Mall of America on a regular basis? I know Northwest does (or at least used to) offer discounted fares for 1 or 2 day trips on regular flights to Minneapolis usually around Thanksgiving time. These are scheduled flights though.

[Edited 2003-12-16 06:17:40]

Popular Searches On Airliners.net

Top Photos of Last:   24 Hours  •  48 Hours  •  7 Days  •  30 Days  •  180 Days  •  365 Days  •  All Time

Military Aircraft Every type from fighters to helicopters from air forces around the globe

Classic Airliners Props and jets from the good old days

Flight Decks Views from inside the cockpit

Aircraft Cabins Passenger cabin shots showing seat arrangements as well as cargo aircraft interior

Cargo Aircraft Pictures of great freighter aircraft

Government Aircraft Aircraft flying government officials

Helicopters Our large helicopter section. Both military and civil versions

Blimps / Airships Everything from the Goodyear blimp to the Zeppelin

Night Photos Beautiful shots taken while the sun is below the horizon

Accidents Accident, incident and crash related photos

Air to Air Photos taken by airborne photographers of airborne aircraft

Special Paint Schemes Aircraft painted in beautiful and original liveries

Airport Overviews Airport overviews from the air or ground

Tails and Winglets Tail and Winglet closeups with beautiful airline logos