LEARJET23

Pan Am "Clipper Black Hawk"

Wed Feb 04, 2004 2:33 pm

I was a combat vet in Vietnam and got a one week R&R to HKG. I remember the plane that took us to HKG was a Pan Am 707 called clipper black hawk. A military charter. Any of you really sharp people know what ever happened to this plane? The Capt. Had to do an emergency pull up to dodge some air force fighters in Da Nang, and we never felt any fear like this before! I would appreciate any data you have.

T prop

RE: Pan Am "Clipper Black Hawk"

Wed Feb 04, 2004 5:03 pm

Learjet23,

I did a little research using Google and came up with some info;

Pan Am clipper Blackhawk s.n. 18833 delivered to PA 2/17/65 was a 707-321B adv. Don't know how long it flew with PA for but the last airline it flew for was an outfit called American Eagle Airlines. American Eagle was short lived, started up 3/80 and ceased ops 4/81.

Here's a picture of her in glory days.

Unfortunately it ended up stored at Marana in 1982 and the last I could find out was that it was delivered to AMRC Davis Monthan in Tucson in 1986. It's last storage area there was area 28.

These links are to pictures of N402PA in her last paint scheme.

http://www.airlines-airliners.de/hauptimages2/n402pa.jpg

http://www.howardair.co.uk/html/marana_1982_8.html

T prop.

T prop

Wed Feb 04, 2004 5:09 pm

Forgot to add, I searched the database here and found no pictures of clipper Blackhawk, only sister ship N401PA.

T prop.

rg828

Wed Feb 04, 2004 8:24 pm

Here it is:

View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © AirNikon

It was scrapped for parts for KC-135's in 1984.
I dont know the key to success, but the key to failure is trying to please everyone

T prop

Thu Feb 05, 2004 12:43 am

Forgot to add, I searched the database here and found no pictures of clipper Blackhawk, only sister ship N401PA.

T prop.
 Embarrassment

Wow, 6 pix here on the database, last one in 2001. Wonder if there's anything left of it today?

T prop.

LEARJET23