Need Help With Research!

Wed Jan 26, 2000 4:26 pm

Attention all aviation buffs! I am a student at Stanford University and I am currently doing research on Loockheed. I have had trouble finding some of my data and was wondering if anyone can help. I am looking to find out what military planes Lookheed produced between 1965-1985 and where they produced these planes. I would be very grateful to anyone that may be able to help me out.

Thanks,

Rosemary Mayer

Amir

RE: Need Help With Research!

Wed Jan 26, 2000 4:37 pm

Hi Rosemary,

iam afraid i can't help. Further, i have never seen a posting concerning military
planes on this forum!

anyhow, hope someone can help

take care
Amir

Spacepope

Wed Jan 26, 2000 4:51 pm

first thing that you should do is look in a mid 80'saviation book. they'll list things like the p-2, p-3, s-3, tr-1, u-2, sr-71, etc. then research them all individually to see their build location. many aircraft in the same family will share the same factory, so that will simplify it a bit.

Pope
The last of the famous international playboys

Jubilee777

Wed Jan 26, 2000 9:44 pm

Try Janes.com
I know they have a lot of defence stuffs, but not sure about your query.
Good Luck with your research

J777

Buzz

Lockheed Data

Thu Jan 27, 2000 9:39 pm

Hi, Buzz here. 2 thoughts:
1. Try the Hiller museum at San Carlos airport. I forget what they call it now, i move out of the Bay Area 10 years ago. Somebody there might have a few more clues where to look.
2. There was a book at out local library (Vancouver Wa) called "Lockheed aircraft since 1920". I don't see it available in an aircraft books catalog.

More thoughts: You might try a web site called VPNavy.com, it's about naval patrol aircraft. Most of them were Lockheed.

Let's see, i was a crew chief at Travis AFB in the early 80's, most of the airplanes (Lockheed C-141's) i took care of had 64 to 67 (fiscal year) serial numbers. I don't know what the C-5's had.