SonicKidatBWI
Topic Author

Proposed "New" Eastern Air Lines Start-Up

Tue Mar 23, 2004 2:47 am

Please don't bite my head off because I am new to Airliners.net and don't know if there was a previous thread about this topic, but a couple of years back I saw a clip on my local news channel and they were talking about how someone was proposing buying the Eastern Air Lines name and starting new operations out of PHL (Philadelphia International). I never heard anything after that. Did anyone else hear about this and if so, what happened? Did talks fall through or what? Your POSITIVE feedback would be greatly appreciated.

toltommy

RE: Proposed "New" Eastern Air Lines Start-Up

Tue Mar 23, 2004 2:52 am

I don't remember anyone trying to start a new EA at PHL, but I seem to remember a similar attempt to start it at IND in the early to mid 90's. The Eastern name and Pan Am should be permanently retired!

WidgetBoi

Tue Mar 23, 2004 2:57 am

I vaguely remember a newsclip about a proposed "New" Eastern too! Unfortunately, that's all I can remember about it.

Great question! Hopefully, someone else will have more info!

jeremy

wgw2707

Tue Mar 23, 2004 2:59 am

Too bad that proposed start up did not get off the ground. I have no objection to the use of former airline names when starting a new airline so long as jobs are availible to employees of the former airline and so long as the new airline makes an effort to respect the former airline. So far though none of the revival attempts have been a success except possibly Pan Am 3, which is in business and which we can only assume is profitable, although if it were to shut down I would not be overly shocked. The main problem with revived airlines is when the company reviving the airline has no business plan, or rests their entire business plan on the power of the old branding, which has almost always been the case.