United_fan

Ever Feel Guilty Using Your FF Miles?

Sun Mar 28, 2004 3:59 am

The reason I ask , is that I just book my flight to LAS . I used my UA Mileage Plus miles for a free (well $10.00) trip . I wasn't going to use them,(the miles),but $550 is more than I wanted to spend now. I figure I've been flying them for 4 years now,and I deserved a freebee.
Anyone else?
Champagne For My Real Friends,and Real Pain For My Sham Friends

pilottim747

RE: Ever Feel Guilty Using Your FF Miles?

Sun Mar 28, 2004 4:08 am

I don't feel quilty because the airlines have capacity control. It seems there are fewer and fewer seats available for frequent flier tickets. I'm almost up to earning a free ticket to Europe on Northwest. I looked, just for fun, the other day for space to Hawaii or Europe so I could use the ticket. I searched for quite a while to HNL, OGG, and several cities in Europe. Nothing was available to be booked. Can't feel real quilty about that.

pilottim747
Aviation Photographers & Enthusiasts--Coordinate your life.

deltaffindfw

Sun Mar 28, 2004 4:27 am

I don't know if I would call it guilt, but I hesitate to use miles. I have this stupid theory that I don't need to spend 25,000 miles to fly a short distance like DFW-ATL to visit friends. I rationalize that paying $250 is better!

dutchjet

Sun Mar 28, 2004 4:56 am

Guilty? NO WAY! The mileage programs were created to reward frequent flyers who "earned" their miles by flying with that airline or using service offered by the airline partners, and the fun part is cashing the miles in for travel. I save miles for longer trips, in business class, where otherwise the fares would be far too expensive for me to pay out of my pocket.

JBirdAV8r

Sun Mar 28, 2004 5:01 am

I accrue a fair amount, but I donate all mine to Make-A-Wish and other charitable organizations. There are a whole lot of people in this world who want/need to fly places more than I do. It's the very least I can do.