QIguy24
Topic Author
Posts: 2744
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 1:13 am

1 Airport 2 Countries......

Sun Apr 25, 2004 10:28 pm

Hi there everyone...

I have one question that I hope someone can help me with.
Does any of you know how many airports that are split up in to 2 countries?
I know that BSL has a french and a swiss side. And I wonder if there are more airports like that around the world..

I would really appreciate if you guys could tell me some more.

QIguy24
 
klmflyer
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 8:15 pm

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Sun Apr 25, 2004 10:31 pm

Geneva-Cointrin (GVA) has separate Swiss and French passport & customs controls depending if you're returning/departing to/from Switzerland or France.

 
mrniji
Posts: 5382
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 11:51 am

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Sun Apr 25, 2004 10:33 pm

Interesting, never thought about that. I could imagine this only to exist in Europe, where border controls are much more liberal. I have to skip this question since nothing else comes to my mind.
"The earth provides enough resources for everyone's need, but not for some people's greed." (Gandhi)
 
RICARDOAB
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 7:07 pm

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Sun Apr 25, 2004 10:40 pm

Ryanair uses Malmo in Sweden as its airport for the destination of Copenhagen in Denmark, or it used to anyway. The two are separated by a bridge connecting the two cities/countries.
 
SJU767
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 11:29 pm

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Sun Apr 25, 2004 10:40 pm

The island of St. Maarten ( SXM ) is half Dutch half French serve by one arpt.
 
User avatar
usdcaguy
Posts: 1042
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:41 pm

Tijuana Airport...US Side?

Sun Apr 25, 2004 10:41 pm

I've heard talk of perhaps expanding Tijuana Rodriguez International to include a US side. Not quite sure how this would work, however. I suppose they would have a terminal on the US side or would have a bus to take those passengers wishing to clear US immigration to the other side of the airfield. Does anyone else know about this?
 
klmflyer
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 8:15 pm

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Sun Apr 25, 2004 10:50 pm

SJU767:
the isle of St. Maarten is both Dutch (Netherlands Antilles) and French (French Antilles).
The Dutch side has an international airport: SXM
The French side has a small international airport: SFG
SFG handles flights to FDF, PTP, SBH and if you are a European travelling to, say the isle of St. Barth (SBH), you land at SXM with KL or AF and if you don't have an mmediate connection to SBH, you can take a taxi ride (10 minutes) to the French airport (SFG) and depart to St. Barth by PV.
 
klmflyer
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 8:15 pm

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Sun Apr 25, 2004 10:57 pm

There was also a project to develop Aqaba International airport (AQJ) in Jordan, nearby the resort Red Sea area, and make it a dual country airport servicing Jordan and Israel.
As a matter of fact the Israeli resort city of Elat is just few kms. from Aqaba (when you land in Aqaba you have an excellent view of Elat skyline).
Elat airport (ETH) is almost downtown and has a short runway that prevents wide-body aircrafts like B747 to operate.
That way El Al used Ovda airport (VDA) some 50 km. from Elat to fly a 747 to London.
Now the current Mid-East situation has blocked the project but if you consider that along a 20-mile coastline you have 4 countries facing the Red Sea - Egypt, Isreal, Jordan, Saudi Arabia - an airport development like the one envisioned at Aqaba would strongly help the tourism industry in the region.
 
User avatar
HeyMach
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 3:37 am

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Sun Apr 25, 2004 10:58 pm

There is also MST which serves Maastricht in the Netherlands and the German city of Aachen.
 
ltbewr
Posts: 12423
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 1:24 pm

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Sun Apr 25, 2004 10:58 pm

The idea of the Tijuana becoming a transborder airport has been seriouly considered, to expand airline service for the San Diego market, especially for large a/c international services, and reducing service to Lindburgh in San Diego. The suggested plan for the transborder Tijuana airport is along the lines in the above post. Due to the post-9/11 security enviorment and the continuing problem of illegal immigration of Mexicans into the USA, the idea has been put into a hold. The idea of Transborder airport in Tiujana has been discussed in other topics on these boards.
There also has to be airports that serve micro-sized countries (Monaco with France & Litchenstein with Switzerland ?) where the airport that serves them is really in the country that surrounds them.
 
klmflyer
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 8:15 pm

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Sun Apr 25, 2004 11:05 pm

Well, besides the Euro Airport at Basel-Mulhouse (EAP) and Geneva-Cointrin (GVA) featuring separate entry/exit from/to Switzerland and France, if you consider other airports that are located in one country, belong to that country, but also serve a community of passengers from a nearby country, there are 2 small indipendent countries fully encompassed within Italy:
Vatican City: using Rome-Fiumicino airport (FCO)
San Marino: using Bologna (BLQ) and Rimini (RMI) airports
 
Delta777Jet
Posts: 1228
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2000 6:19 am

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Mon Apr 26, 2004 1:18 am

Yes that`s correct, traffic right wise and pax customs wise Basle has two three letter codes MLH for Mulhouse france and BSL for Basle Switzerland.

At flight departures both sides different check in counters but one waiting lounge.

RGDS
B-717/722/737-200/300/400/500/600/700/800/900/B-747-100/200/400/SP/8i/B-752/3/B-762/3/4/B-772/LR/300ER/B-788/DC-10-10/30/L-1011-1/500/MD-81/82/83/90/A-319/320/321/AB6/312/313/332/333/342/343/346/359/388/TU154/IL-18/ATR-42/72/DH4/DH3/E145/E170/190/CR2/7/9
 
sw733
Posts: 5306
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2004 6:19 am

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Mon Apr 26, 2004 2:00 am

Well isnt Basle actually itself IN 3 countries, France, Switzerland and Germany? I heard that actual official airport land is in those 3 countries, ie, between taxi and takeoff, you could actually go through 3 seperate countries. Am I wrong?
 
BA
Posts: 10134
Joined: Fri May 19, 2000 11:06 am

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Mon Apr 26, 2004 2:33 am

Well isnt Basle actually itself IN 3 countries, France, Switzerland and Germany?

No, the airport itself is in France and Switzerland.

The entrance is entirely in France, however there is a French passport control area and a Swiss passport control area.

A good chunk of the tarmac and part of the runway are in Switzerland however, with the remaining being in France.

However, if you are looking at total area, the airport is mostly in France by a little bit.

Here is a map, although it isn't very good and doesn't show a lot of the airport:
http://www.mybasel.ch/verkehr_karte.cfm?X=7&Y=6&Jump=1&Zoom=2000

The left side of the green line is Switzerland while the other side is France.

If you want to go to Switzerland, you go through the Swiss passport control.

If you want to go to France or Germany, you go through the French passport control area since both Germany and France are European Union members.

The German border is pretty close and can be accessed from the French side.

Technically the airport serves Basel (or Basle as the French say) in Switzerland, Mulhouse in France, and Freiburg in Germany.

Even though the airport itself is built only on Swiss and French land.

Regards
"Generosity is giving more than you can, and pride is taking less than you need." - Khalil Gibran
 
ua777222
Posts: 2987
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 11:23 am

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Mon Apr 26, 2004 2:39 am

I know for a fact that somewhere on the US/Can boarder there is an airport that you can touch down in Can. but taxi off into the USA. Let me know if any one knows of the name to this airport.

Thanks again!

UA777222
"It wasn't raining when Noah built the ark."
 
Indio66
Posts: 403
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 10:22 am

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Mon Apr 26, 2004 2:47 am

How about Gibraltar? The airstrip lies right next to La Lina (the "line" I believe) Spain, you literally drive across the runway to get into Gibraltar.

 
EddieDude
Posts: 6236
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2003 10:19 am

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Mon Apr 26, 2004 2:49 am

The idea of a bi-national Tijuana/San Diego airport was a proposal of Mexico's Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry during the past administration. The idea was for it to be a major cargo airport as well as a very important hub. I think that the Mexican government had its sights set on trans-Pacific flights. Besides, the airport would have been a symbol of NAFTA's success. As Ltbewr mentions in his post, however, the aftermath of 9/11 and the lack of a satisfactory immigration treaty between the U.S. and Mexico have put this project on hold... in fact, I doubt it will be considered again in the short and medium term. Too bad, because I believe it is a great idea.
Next flights: MEX-LAX AM 738, LAX-PVG DL 77L, SHA-PEK CA 789, PEK-PVG CA A332, PVG-ORD MU 77W, ORD-MEX AM 738
 
keno
Posts: 1809
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 5:46 pm

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Mon Apr 26, 2004 11:01 am

BA,

A good chunk of the tarmac and part of the runway are in Switzerland however, with the remaining being in France. The left side of the green line is Switzerland while the other side is France.

Ermm... NO! Those green lines separate different townships in France and not the international border. If you scroll towards the south you'd see the Swiss border proper (thick green line). And no, the airport is not split right in the middle between the 2 countries.

Basel Airport lies entirely on French soil. The airport is well cut-off from from Switzerland, with the townships of Hesingue, Nourgfelden and St Louis separating the airport with the international border. However, there is a custom-free road that links Switzerland directly to the airport terminal. I don't think that's also the case for Germany, though.


Basel (or Basle as the French say)

The french call it Bâle, the english spell it as Basle, the (swiss)-german spell it as Basel.

[Edited 2004-04-26 04:08:40]
 
CO737
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2000 5:17 am

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Mon Apr 26, 2004 12:18 pm

UAL777222,

I know there's an airport up in northern Minnesota called Piney Pinecreek Border (48Y), not sure if that's the airport you're thinking of, but I know one side is on the US and the other is in Canada. Each country has a seperate ramp as well. I know there are a few others in northern MN and ND that are close, but that's the only one that I know of that actually goes across the border. Hope that helps,

CO737
 
ScandinA340
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 12:01 pm

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Mon Apr 26, 2004 12:22 pm

Not quite the same, but OOL in Australia straddles the New South Wales & Queensland borders... Quite funny to land in one state, and end up in another when you disembark.

ScandinA340
 
Coronado990
Posts: 1312
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 2:12 am

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Mon Apr 26, 2004 1:30 pm

TIJ still qualifies for this post. The only difference is that there is no separate access road to TIJ even though the terminal is across the street from the border. I'm willing to bet that at least 1.5M of the 3.5M passengers a year at TIJ originate in Southern California.

I do not think anyone is suggesting that someone from San Diego is going to use the TIJ airport to get to PHX, but for international flights, where one has to go through customs anyway, it would be great just to have some sort of facility with a place to park on the US side of the border and a walkway across to the TIJ terminal. Domestic flights from TIJ such as Mexico City & GDL would benefit too and hopefully inspiring flights to resort destinations.

Then I could see TA to GUA, SAL & SJO plus CM to PTY serving TIJ. Most of these are red-eye flights that serve LAX and could never expand to SAN due to its curfew, which TIJ does not have. If served non-stop, these Latin American flights would not only tap the SAN market, but the entire SD/TJ region which has 4M people combined.

Down the road non-stop possibilities are MAD on IB, CU to Havana, AM (or MX) to NRT and AV to BOG.
Uncle SAN at your service!
 
JetRanger2000
Posts: 227
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2000 8:21 am

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Mon Apr 26, 2004 2:32 pm

At YVR, I know you can clear US Customs if your bound to the US right there at the airport.
 
VS340
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 9:50 am

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Mon Apr 26, 2004 2:57 pm

I believe all airports in Canada that have US bound flights have US customs in the airport on land that is considered american soil
 
flyboy36y
Posts: 2897
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2000 1:45 pm

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Mon Apr 26, 2004 3:21 pm

Israel and Jordan have been trying to build the Aqaba/Eilat airport....

I
 
BMAbound
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2003 5:59 am

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Tue Apr 27, 2004 4:59 am

RICARDOAB, lol, I didn't know that. Must be the definition of how Ryanair advertises to their customers.

"Wanna go to Copenhagen? Sure, we'll take you there but you might end up in another country!"

That's Ryanair...  Big thumbs up

johan
Altitude is Insurance - Get Insured
 
IAHAAPLATINUM
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2004 10:57 pm

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Tue Apr 27, 2004 5:05 am

Usdcaguy,

A number of years ago I remember reading about a proposal for a new airport for SAN that would be half in the US, half in Mexico. If I recall correctly, the terminals were located in the US, with the runways in Mexico. I don't recall how customs, etc., were proposed to be handled (if there was any proposal at all).
 
keno
Posts: 1809
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 5:46 pm

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Tue Apr 27, 2004 5:08 am

Here in Malaysia, Air Asia has also been following Ryanair's style of advertising :-

Johor Bahru (Singapore)
&
Labuan (Brunei)
&
Alor Setar (Hat Yai)

Johor Bahru, Labuan and Alor Setar are all in Malaysia. Hat Yai is in Thailand.

--------------------

On another note, Malaysia Airlines provide direct coach service exclusively for their passengers from Johor Bahru airport to Singapore city centre. So I guess that is serving 2 countries isn't it?

[Edited 2004-04-26 22:12:08]
 
FlySSC
Posts: 5184
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2003 1:38 am

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Tue Apr 27, 2004 9:07 am

KEno, your are right. Bâle/Mulhouse EuroAirport in Totally on the French soil, and has two IATA code : BSL for the flights arriving in the Swiss side terminal, and MLH, for the French domestic flights serving the city of Mulhouse, arriving in the French side terminal.

At GVA, Geneve-Cointrin airport, there is also a "French side Exit" in the terminal. That's why when you fly Air France from CDG, the flight is considered as a French domestic flight and operate from terminal 2F1. When you arrive at GVA, you arrive in the French side of the terminal building and if you "go" to Switzerland, you go thrue the passport/immigration and custom control there.
But if you fly Swiss from CDG to GVA, you will leave from terminal CDG 2B, and the flight is considered as an International flight, with a passport/immigration control in the terminal. (Swiss is not a member of the EU and of course didn't sign the Schengen treaty)
 
frntman
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2003 10:23 pm

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Tue Apr 27, 2004 11:14 am

I believe all airports in Canada that have US bound flights have US customs in the airport on land that is considered american (sic) soil.

Almost....

YYJ and YLW are two airports that come to mind immediately that don't have pre-clearance facilities on site.
 
QIguy24
Topic Author
Posts: 2744
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 1:13 am

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Tue Apr 27, 2004 2:52 pm

Thanx for the answers guys. I guess there are more airports like BSL/MLH than I tought.
 
keno
Posts: 1809
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 5:46 pm

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Tue Apr 27, 2004 3:29 pm

An interesting fact about the canton of Geneva - it shares over 100 km of borders with France, but only 4 km with the rest of Switzerland (with canton Vaud / Waadt). I guess people are not exaggerating when they say Geneva is in France  Smile



The airport runway itself lies at the very edge with the French border.




[Edited 2004-04-27 08:42:01]
 
ElAlto
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 7:19 pm

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Tue Apr 27, 2004 7:30 pm

Niederrhein Airport is in Germany, near Dusseldorf but serves also the eastern part of The Netherlands. According to an interview I saw on Dutch television one of the main goals of the airport is to attract Dutch business travelers.
 
HAL
Posts: 1742
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 1:38 am

RE: 1 Airport 2 Countries......

Wed Apr 28, 2004 3:31 pm

Ua777222,

The airport that straddles the US/Canada border is Avey State Airport in Laurier Washington. It's on a smaller state highway that goes into Canada, and the northern 500ft or so of the runway is in Canada. I landed there once and it was pretty nice, with both US and Canadian customs there. If you're going north or south into eastern British Columbia, it's a nice way to clear customs (assuming you can use a 1950ft gravel strip for your airport - Business jets need not apply).

Here's a link to the Washington State Aviation division web page about that airport:

http://www.wsdot.wa.gov/Aviation/airports/Avey.htm

HAL
One smooth landing is skill. Two in a row is luck. Three in a row and someone is lying.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ANA787, astuteman, B6FA4ever, Boof02671, Bourkky, DC1979, dlflynhayn, FAST Enterprise [Crawler], Google Adsense [Bot], hayzel777, hkcanadaexpat, iuwnaa, johnberg, JPhoto, kabq737, lhpdx, MavyWavyATR, qf789, RL777, TheF15Ace, ttm, usxguy, Yahoo [Bot] and 157 guests