OnePassCzar
Topic Author

Internship W/ CO

Sat May 15, 2004 2:27 am

Hey. I am a student interested in a semester internship w/ Continental Airlines. Are there any insiders out there who can tell me who I can talk to about getting a position in Houston?

OnePassCzar
Work Hard. Fly Right.

drerx7

RE: Internship W/ CO

Sat May 15, 2004 3:07 am

I had a summer internship with them but it was prior to 9-11 and it was via a tie with one of the executives.
Third Coast born, means I'm Texas raised

OnePassCzar
Topic Author

Sat May 15, 2004 4:00 am

Do you know if they actually have a program, or was it just arranged on the occasion?
Work Hard. Fly Right.

drerx7

Sat May 15, 2004 4:20 am

Well--they use to have a Summer Ambassader program--not sure if it is still around; mine was arranged on special occasion. I was at the 1600 Smith St. Headquarters.
Third Coast born, means I'm Texas raised

modesto2

Sat May 15, 2004 6:23 am

You may also want to consider other airlines. This summer, I'm interning with JetBlue's Technical Operations department at their Forest Hills HQ in Queens. Airline internships are somewhat scarce, but if you're determined and do a thorough search, you can find something. Good luck.

OnePassCzar
Topic Author

Sat May 15, 2004 2:22 pm

Thank you. I will keep checking w/ a few airlines.
Work Hard. Fly Right.

Sat May 15, 2004 9:31 pm

I believe Continental has a formal program. Normally with large airline's internship programs, they must have some sort of formal contact with your school. Internship qualifications vary depending on the department. I'm most familiar with flight operations internships, and they normally require a commercial license, clean driving record, and excellent grades.

FullThrottle

Sun May 16, 2004 1:57 am