N730AS
Topic Author
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 5:17 am

Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 9:30 am

I just heard on Fox News that there is no traffic leaving or arriving at DIA. They mentioned a "FAA radar malfunction". Anyone have any info?
N730AS (s/n 22577) 737-290C Registered Jun-29-1981
 
dinker225
Posts: 978
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2000 9:18 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 9:34 am

No planes are taking off or landing at DIA. Lots of diversions. Pilots have been told to shut off engines until further notice. Not good. www.9news.com has more


Dinkler
Two rules in aviation, don't hit anything and don't run out of gas, cause if you run out of gas yer gonna hit something.
 
N730AS
Topic Author
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 5:17 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 9:40 am

Thanks for the update. I wonder how long they plan on staying on the ground? Could this delay last hours? Perhaps a day?
N730AS (s/n 22577) 737-290C Registered Jun-29-1981
 
InnocuousFox
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:30 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 9:41 am

There hasn't been anything out of DEN for a while it looks like (blue is departures). Also, notice that there is nothing in the Denver TRACON (white box) and it looks like the arrivals are holding (red tracks) still in CTR airspace. Click for larger version.





The single departure is UAL 779, DEN-LAX.
Dave Mark - Intrinsic Algorithm - Reducing the world to mathematical equations!
 
F9Widebody
Posts: 1475
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 5:47 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 9:41 am

An electrical problem at Denver International Airport is forcing planes to stay grounded. It's not known when the problem will be fixed. Some incoming flights are being diverted to other airports.
____________

http://www.9news.com

I just saw on 9 News that Frontier is saying that the Radar failure is due to a Local Area Network Failure. As previously mentioned, pilots are being told to turn engines off and according to 9 News, planes are parked on the "runways" with passengers still aboard. With this coming from the media, however, it would not suprise me if the "runway" was actually taxiways.

Edit:

http://news4colorado.com/topstories/local_story_140201003.html

No planes were going in or out of Denver International Airport at 6 p.m. on Wednesday because of a major computer problem, News 4 reports.

FAA officials said an "electrical" problem is preventing all takeoffs and landings.

Copter 4 showed images of several planes stranded on the runways...

_____________

Regards

[Edited 2004-05-20 02:49:30]
YES URLS in signature!!!
 
N730AS
Topic Author
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 5:17 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 9:42 am

Another Fox Alert came on FOX31 Denver (I'm up in Alaska, but it's on satellite) "The radar is on the south end of the airport, they are working on it now...." And the news cast said that more info will be available at 9:00pm Denver time.
N730AS (s/n 22577) 737-290C Registered Jun-29-1981
 
InnocuousFox
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:30 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 9:45 am



Some stuff is peeling off the holds now.
Dave Mark - Intrinsic Algorithm - Reducing the world to mathematical equations!
 
F9Widebody
Posts: 1475
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 5:47 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 9:46 am

And the news cast said that more info will be available at 9:00pm Denver time.

It is unlikely that that is a press release or anything, Fox just points everyone to their 9 O'Clock newscast.

Edit (Update):

According to 9 News, flights are being sent to Fort Collins and COS as well as others.

Regards

[Edited 2004-05-20 02:48:46]
YES URLS in signature!!!
 
InnocuousFox
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:30 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 9:46 am

Holy crap... look how far out stuff is holding!!

Dave Mark - Intrinsic Algorithm - Reducing the world to mathematical equations!
 
InnocuousFox
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:30 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 9:49 am

Look what that UAL had to do (the first few segments are missing). They circled him up and out of the TRACON until they could hand him off to Center over the top!

Dave Mark - Intrinsic Algorithm - Reducing the world to mathematical equations!
 
InnocuousFox
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:30 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 9:52 am



This is going to take them hours to sort out!
Dave Mark - Intrinsic Algorithm - Reducing the world to mathematical equations!
 
InnocuousFox
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:30 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 9:53 am

This is the batch SE of the TRACON. I'm surprised they are holding them this high (FL310 - 390) but I guess fuel burn is better up there.



Dave Mark - Intrinsic Algorithm - Reducing the world to mathematical equations!
 
planespotterx
Posts: 1259
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2001 1:34 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 9:54 am

Im not used to Radars, but are those aircraft supposed to be so close, some of them look stupidly close to each other, do they still have contact with ATC on the ground, or is it Approach thats gone down??
Sorry for asking a silly question-its been a long time since I was into planes, but im getting back into the "spotlight" again..
Its not the fall that kills u, its the sudden stop at the end..
 
InnocuousFox
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:30 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 9:55 am

Now they are starting to unwind them...

Dave Mark - Intrinsic Algorithm - Reducing the world to mathematical equations!
 
InnocuousFox
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:30 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 9:58 am

Keep in mind two things... those aren't actual size aircraft. 2nd, there is altitude separation.

Last post in this thread guys... they are getting it worked out. (Notice no departures yet, though?)

Dave Mark - Intrinsic Algorithm - Reducing the world to mathematical equations!
 
iowaman
Posts: 3874
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 2:29 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 9:59 am

Why don't they divert those planes to places like COS, SLC, CYS, so they don't have to circle and then maybe the people living in DEN can at least drive home tonight? Confused
 
F9Widebody
Posts: 1475
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 5:47 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 10:00 am

Are grey aircraft those that have landed?

Regards
YES URLS in signature!!!
 
OPNLguy
Posts: 11191
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 1999 11:29 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 10:01 am

They now have the ARTS back and the ground stop is cancelled...
ALL views, opinions expressed are mine ONLY and are NOT representative of those shared by Southwest Airlines Co.
 
InnocuousFox
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:30 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 10:02 am

One more... notice the aircraft over southern Kansas that are not circling, but heading the WRONG way? Those must have been diverted... likely to ICT or MCI in a couple of cases. UAL 583 is only at 18000 feet and descending to ICT.

Dave Mark - Intrinsic Algorithm - Reducing the world to mathematical equations!
 
InnocuousFox
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:30 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 10:03 am

"Are grey aircraft those that have landed?"

Yeah. Notice SKW6647 landed someplace in eastern CO.

[Edited 2004-05-20 03:04:24]
Dave Mark - Intrinsic Algorithm - Reducing the world to mathematical equations!
 
F9Widebody
Posts: 1475
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 5:47 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 10:06 am

The only thing out there'd be Limon - with a 4700 ft long runway.

Regards

[Edited 2004-05-20 03:07:31]
YES URLS in signature!!!
 
Okie
Posts: 3555
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 11:30 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 10:11 am

Alternate plus 45min fuel?
There got to be some of those guys going to have to land elsewhere to refuel pretty quick.


Okie
 
F9Widebody
Posts: 1475
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 5:47 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 10:20 am

http://www.flightarrivals.com/cgi-bin/WebObjects/Flights.woa/2/wo/uIDav0Z31b7gGrdl041/2.13

All of those that say Contact Airline are diversions - you can click on each to see where they diverted to. At the moment, the following should have been diverted:

CO1421 to COS (B733)
UA345 to COS (B735)
UA1163 to COS (B733)
FR338 to Fort Collins (B733)
AA1513 to COS (MD82)
UA1479 to COS (A320)
US135 to COS (A319)
Great Lakes 198 to CYS (Beech190)
UA609 to COS (B733)
AW767 to COS (CRJ2)
UA1429 to Pueblo! (A320) - Landing Shortly
Mesa7103 to COS (CRJ2) - Landing Shortly
FR589 to COS (A319)

Edited for Image:


___________
http://www.9news.com

Regards

[Edited 2004-05-20 03:38:57]
YES URLS in signature!!!
 
InnocuousFox
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:30 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 10:24 am

I wonder how long it was between the outage and when I grabbed that first screen? Long enough for them to clear out the TRACON, it seems. If they are VFR, that isn't all THAT hard to do once they have the flow going. It's all a matter of getting the sequence and having pilots to acquire/maintain visual contact. I wouldn't want to do it for longer than a few minutes, though!  Sad
Dave Mark - Intrinsic Algorithm - Reducing the world to mathematical equations!
 
suspen
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 11:01 pm

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 10:25 am

Thanks for posting all those flight tracker pics. Never seen so many planes holding at once  Big thumbs up
Tower: "Cessna xxxx, state your intentions", Cessna: "To become airline pilot"
 
InnocuousFox
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:30 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 10:32 am

Not a problem! I love my Flight Explorer!  Smile/happy/getting dizzy
Dave Mark - Intrinsic Algorithm - Reducing the world to mathematical equations!
 
InnocuousFox
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:30 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 10:41 am

This is interesting. Notice the expanding wave of departures (blue) and the big gap where there is NOTHING heading for DEN because of holds around the country. (As always, click to enlarge)

Dave Mark - Intrinsic Algorithm - Reducing the world to mathematical equations!
 
F9Widebody
Posts: 1475
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 5:47 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 10:43 am

OK, one more update.  Smile/happy/getting dizzy

Radar failure snarls DIA flights

By Ann Imse and David Kesmodel, Rocky Mountain News
May 19, 2004

Denver International Airport is having serious delays in arrivals and departures due to a radar failure at the Federal Aviation Administration.

Departures are being delayed 45 minutes to an hour and more, the FAA said.

Advertisement

The computerized radar system went out about 6 p.m.

By 7 p.m., the FAA had switched to a back-up radar but take-offs and departures were running at a significantly slower pace than normal. DIA spokesman Sally Covington said it would be at least two hours before the airport could make up for the delays.

The FAA, which handles air traffic control, said arrivals were being delayed only 15 minutes. But Frontier Airlines said it diverted some arriving flights to Fort Collins and Colorado Springs.

The radar that failed is called ARTS and provides air traffic controllers with the location of each flight, its speed, altitude and identification.

About eight Frontier Airlines planes were sitting on the tarmac waiting for clearance to depart DIA a little before 7 p.m., airline spokesman Joe Hodas said.

Flights bound for Denver were being held at their departure points, the FAA said.

The equipment failure is in the Automated Radar Terminal System (ARTS), the FAA said. It tracks aircraft approaching and leaving DIA.

Passengers on planes being diverted to Fort Collins likely will remain on the plane in hopes of returning to DIA, or be bused to Denver. The Fort Collins Airport does not have full-time security screeners, so passengers who leave the plane likely would not be allowed to reboard until screeners could arrive...

__________
http://www.rockymountainnews.com/drmn/local/article/0,1299,DRMN_15_2899105,00.html

How bad would that suck if you got off the plane in Fort Collins and then were not allowed on again until screeners were brought in.  Pissed

Regards
YES URLS in signature!!!
 
InnocuousFox
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:30 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 10:44 am

Now THIS is more like it!

Dave Mark - Intrinsic Algorithm - Reducing the world to mathematical equations!
 
F9Widebody
Posts: 1475
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 5:47 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 10:47 am

Hence the beauty of an airport laid out so well. At least 4 planes can in theory land at once, possibly 5.
YES URLS in signature!!!
 
InnocuousFox
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:30 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 10:47 am

Dave Mark - Intrinsic Algorithm - Reducing the world to mathematical equations!
 
InnocuousFox
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:30 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 10:49 am

"Hence the beauty of an airport laid out so well. At least 4 planes can in theory land at once, possibly 5."

With a northeast flow (which is what they are in now as I zoom in) they can land 3 and take off 3.
Dave Mark - Intrinsic Algorithm - Reducing the world to mathematical equations!
 
JC5280
Posts: 523
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2001 12:06 pm

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 10:57 am

What software is that last post showing with the chart???

JC
 
InnocuousFox
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:30 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 11:01 am

Now THIS is an explosion of departures! Very nice!



"What software is that last post showing with the chart???"

That is a function of Flight Explorer Personal Edition as well. $10 a month gets you all the neat tricks I have done here and a LOT more!
Dave Mark - Intrinsic Algorithm - Reducing the world to mathematical equations!
 
An-225
Posts: 3859
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2000 2:55 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 12:21 pm

Too bad I missed all the action and photo ops. Those useless idiots in scheduling moved me to Terminal tonight... Assholes!

 Pissed

Alex.
Money does not bring you happiness. But it's better to cry in your own private limo than on a cold bus stop.
 
F9Widebody
Posts: 1475
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 5:47 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 12:54 pm

Too bad I missed all the action and photo ops. Those useless idiots in scheduling moved me to Terminal tonight... Assholes!

Bummer, maybe Tim got some.

Regards
YES URLS in signature!!!
 
InnocuousFox
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:30 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 12:58 pm

"The FAA, which handles air traffic control, said arrivals were being delayed only 15 minutes."

Boy is THAT a load of crap!
Dave Mark - Intrinsic Algorithm - Reducing the world to mathematical equations!
 
ual747den
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2003 1:29 pm

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 1:12 pm

Just a little info, a F9 flight that landed at FNL (Loveland/Ft. Collins) had an evacuation slide hanging out of a rear door! Apparently the FA forgot to disarm before opening!!! I will post this as a topic and try to get more into.
/// UNITED AIRLINES
 
InnocuousFox
Posts: 2556
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:30 am

RE: Trouble With Radar At DIA?

Thu May 20, 2004 2:32 pm

I wish I had known about this when it started. It would have been a blast to set up my screen capture program with Flight Explorer at a very slow rate so as to make an accelerated AVI out of it!
Dave Mark - Intrinsic Algorithm - Reducing the world to mathematical equations!