AirframeAS
Topic Author

Proposed TSA Improvements

Thu Jun 03, 2004 10:12 pm

You guys have got to see this article. I guess talk is cheap, but actions speak louder. I'll believe Tom Ridge when the changes actually take effect (if they ever do...) and actually works correctly.

http://www.usatoday.com/travel/news/2004-06-03-airport-security_x.htm?csp=28

Any comments are welcomed......
A Safe Flight Begins With Quality Maintenance On The Ground.

hirisk

RE: Proposed TSA Improvements

Fri Jun 04, 2004 12:18 am

the only way to improve it is to get rid of it and start over
happy contrails

ckfred

Fri Jun 04, 2004 12:21 am

Part of the problem is that TSA and dates that it had to carry out specific functions were mandated by Congress with no specific reasoning.

The thinking was that federal employees would do a better job than screeners employed by security companies. Why? I'm a lawyer, and the security people that conduct screening of visitors going into the federal buildings in downtown Chicago aren't deputy U.S. Marshalls. They are employees of a private company that is hired and supervised by the U.S. Marhshall's Office in Chicago. A lot of them are former police officers, MPs, or other law enforcement agents, and a number of them carry firearms.

Granted, in Chicago, besides terrorism, security is designed to keep prisoners from escaping and members of gangs and organized crime from turning courtrooms into shooting galleries. But if the U.S. Marshall feels comfortable with non-federal personnel keeping buildings secure, maybe aviation security can be handled in a similar fashion.

I don't blame TSA for all of its problems, although it comes up with some goofy ideas. Congress gets a lot of the blame.