AA777
Topic Author
Posts: 2358
Joined: Thu May 20, 1999 7:07 am

Baggage Restrictions On A320... Grrr

Sat Jul 17, 2004 2:21 pm

I am travelling IAD-BEY in about a week- IAD-LHR-BEY. Business class... my flight from IAD there is no big weight restriction on luggage, its standard; two 70 pound? or kilo suitcases. BUT, on the second leg of the flight, I can only bring ONE 50 pound / kilo suitcase. Mind you, my trip is for 3 weeks, and I am not a master of packing light. Last year, I flew the same trip, except the LHR-BEY was with an A321. Now its going to be an A320. Are these restrictions because of MTOW issues??...because the A321 had no problems. I like both the A320 and A321 (I do feel better flying to BEY on a 321 because its bigger...it feels more appropriate)... but this is going to be a pain in my bum!

-AA777
 
katekebo
Posts: 678
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2001 12:02 am

RE: Baggage Restrictions On A320... Grrr

Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:28 pm

It has nothing to do with the plane. The weight restriction is imposed by the class / fare with which you are flying in. Check with the office (airline or travel agent) that sold you the ticket. It looks strange to have a weight restriction of only 50 lb in business. A possibility is that due to lack of available sits in business class you have a mixed ticket - business from IAD to LHR, and coach from LHR to BEY. In this case, the coach restrictions would apply for the LHR and BEY leg.

On the other hand, I presume that your bags will be checked direct all the way from IAD to BEY. In this case you should be able to check all your bags at IAD following the business class weight restrictions.
 
trident2e
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 3:38 am

RE: Baggage Restrictions On A320... Grrr

Sat Jul 17, 2004 7:36 pm

There is a new restriction at all UK airports that the maximum weight of any single piece of luggage must not exceed 32kg for health and safety reasons. Is this perhaps what you are referring to? However, this restriction applies only to any single piece and has no impact on the overall baggage allowance you are entitled to, which is determined by your airline.
 
Jumpseat70
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 12:52 am

RE: Baggage Restrictions On A320... Grrr

Sat Jul 17, 2004 8:40 pm

Guess you'll just have to learn how to pack ...light!
"Up, Up and away with TWA"
 
ushermittwoch
Posts: 2535
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 10:18 pm

RE: Baggage Restrictions On A320... Grrr

Sat Jul 17, 2004 8:52 pm

The question would be: Do you have ONE ticket or do you have a split ticket?
The 50 lbs. limit sounds right if the tickets are spilt.
The two piece (á 70 lbs.) rule only apllies to flights to North America but then on every flight that is on your ticket. You could have 20 stops on the way, as long as your flight ends in North America or originates from there, you can take 140 lbs. (in economy!).
Otherwise it's in the rules of the airlines.
You might want to check here (I am assuming that you are taking BA):
http://www.britishairways.com/travel/baggag/public/en_gb?prim=aboutjourn&sec=atairp
Where have all the tri-jets gone...
 
soups
Posts: 3220
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 6:41 pm

RE: Baggage Restrictions On A320... Grrr

Sat Jul 17, 2004 10:49 pm

all travel from/to USA: 2 pieces of baggage not exceeding 32k/70lbs each! if it is a split ticket, IAD check in desk can check ur bags all the way to BEY (if connecting flight is less than 24hours) if its a 1 ticket it MUST be pieces and not weights
Next destinations, Suarabaya, beirut, paris, Accra
 
AA777
Topic Author
Posts: 2358
Joined: Thu May 20, 1999 7:07 am

RE: Baggage Restrictions On A320... Grrr

Sun Jul 18, 2004 12:13 am

Eh, I think ill just pack as usual... and if its too heavy, ill tell them to shove it up their rear end. I am only taking (one) really heavy suitcase anyhow. See but its odd... i really think it might be b/c they downsized the A/C... why else would they make such an unreasonable rule for passengers? (Unless they had to...)

-AA777
 
Leskova
Posts: 5547
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 3:39 pm

RE: Baggage Restrictions On A320... Grrr

Sun Jul 18, 2004 12:44 am

AA777, I think the one thing that we can completely rule out is that it's because they're using an A320 instead of an A321... if an A321 can handle it, an A320 can as well.

It has to be something else - as others have asked before: do you really have one ticket for the whole route? Or is it one from IAD to LHR and another one from LHR to BEY, because that would explain it immediately...

Regards,
Frank
Smile - it confuses people!