Posts: 286
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 4:14 pm

Delta Automated Check In?

Sat Jul 31, 2004 12:13 pm

Tomorrow for my trip home, I'm going to use the automated check-in machine. I'm curious to know that since I don't have my Skymiles card, or credit card. Can I use my aunt or uncles credit card to swipe through it? Or, can I simply just type in the 6 letter confirmation code on my itinerary? Thanks in advance.

KLM | Journeys of Inspiration
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 1:34 am

RE: Delta Automated Check In?

Sat Jul 31, 2004 12:16 pm

Type the code or swipe a drivers license. Most states will work too.
I am a pilot, therefore I envy no one...
Posts: 1374
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2004 9:36 am

RE: Delta Automated Check In?

Sat Jul 31, 2004 1:42 pm

I have tried my Colorado Drivers licenses on AA Check-in and it doesn't work, neither does typing in the 6 letter code. Give online-check-in a try!!!
Posts: 2259
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2003 10:58 am

RE: Delta Automated Check In?

Sat Jul 31, 2004 1:53 pm

Most drivers licenses work, if they have the magnetic strip on the back. If not, just type in your Skymiles number and pin and it will find you. Still not working? Inform the agent and they will check you in. Using another person's credit card will not work, because the reader takes the name off that card, runs it through the database and scans flights up to four hours away. If it cannot find your name, it will let you know. Or, you can always skip the kiosk, go to Delta Direct phone lines, let that agent know you are checking in, how many bags you have, and proceed to the Delta Direct Assistance counter.

Enjoy your flight and on behalf of Delta employees worldwide, thank you for flying with us.
I don't have a microwave, but I do have a clock that occasionally cooks shit.
Posts: 1309
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 6:37 am

RE: Delta Automated Check In?

Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:05 am

Most states now use a type of barcode instead of a magnetic strip for licences. The barcode licences won't work.
User avatar
Posts: 1894
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2003 6:01 am

RE: Delta Automated Check In?

Sun Aug 01, 2004 8:28 am

Note that it can be ANY credit card ... The machine is just trying to extract your name, not the account number or anything.

The checkin kiosks will also take the barcode of any Delta document in your itinerary. This would include a boarding pass from a previous segment in your itinerary, for instance.

So check-in online, print out your boarding pass, then you've got what you need to get the machine to work at the airport.

Note that even IF you check in online, you STILL have to use the machine (or a counter) to check luggage.

It's also handy to see if any better seats have opened up day-of-flight (which often happens) and you can change seats too.

Lastly, if you are so inclined, you can purchase an upgrade right at the kiosk ...

- litz