Espion007
Topic Author
Posts: 1653
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 9:29 am

Rio Amazonas?

Sun Aug 08, 2004 5:11 am

After hopping around flight sim,i decided to go to Rio Amazonas (SESM).And this was not an ordinary airport.the really interesting thing about it is that-well the strip is in a huge 3000ft deep pit.I couldnt really believe an airstrip would be put there. Does anyone know if this is true in real life?and if so-an photos?
Snakes on a Plane!
 
Southamerica
Posts: 2298
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 2:56 am

RE: Rio Amazonas?

Sun Aug 08, 2004 12:54 pm

I wouldn't trust the FS that much for airports out of North America or Europe, Espion007.

If you have no detailed sceneries, in many places the game will show things very far from what they really are.

In my country, for example, the FS puts several airports in the top of very high hills, like above the rest of the terrain, when there really is no hill at all.

In any case, I don't think that in the middle of such a wide plain rain-forest there would be such a pit, and precisely an airport located inside...


Best regards.


SOUTHAMERICA
 
AA300B
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 8:00 am

RE: Rio Amazonas?

Sun Aug 08, 2004 1:00 pm

No, its not 3000ft deep. I think its only 100 or 200 ft.
The only planes that can take off from that airport is the F28-4000 and the Dornier 328/120 tho.
E145, E170, E190, A310, A300, A319, A320, A321, A330, A340, A380, 717 727, 737, 747, 757, 767, 777, 77W, 787

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Aesma, ba319-131, BlueF9A320, GCT64, georgiabill, Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Jetty, joemac547, KCHS2147, lancelot07, LimaFoxTango, moo, N353SK, Scorpio, SCQ83, Texan101, usflyer msp, villars and 296 guests