ronerone

MH: DXB - EWR Route

Tue Aug 24, 2004 2:12 pm

To most of you, i am a new member here.

I have been a reader of these posts for a while now, and i must say that being an aviation student, i learn most of my valuable information from all of you (with great thanks!).

Now that i am able to post threads here, i would like to raise a query, and if, for any reason my information is wrong, please excuse my lack of knowledge, and i highly welcome any criticism (i.e. correct me if im wrong!).

I still don't see why MH plans to discontinue its DXB - EWR route and go through stockholm instead.

I do realise that Stockholm may be a better opportunity than stopping over Dubai, but still ..

I have flown both MH and EK on the Dubai - New York route, and found the number of passengers getting off at Dubai to be quite the same and very small! .. most passengers were either continuing to KUL in MH's case, or transitting to other stations (mostly India and nearby cities) in EK's case.

For MH, more than three quarters of the revenue (from what i think) from this flight is from passengers flying to and from KUL, and not Dubai .. so why is it going to discontinue the service? (i am SO against it)

Doesn't Biman still stop over in DXB on its way to JFK?

It is the same as with the case when RJ used to stop in AMS (or VIE) on its way to JFK .. they were mainly transit stops that HAD to be made. KLM had the predominant market share on the AMS-JFK route but RJ still stopped there.

I just think that the MH product, compared with the EK product on this route is a MILLION times better, and i am a huge supporter of MH and i still think they should keep this route.

What are your thoughts on this?

Thanks!

Roni

Fly Roni. Aviation Journeys. Photos. Videos.

JBLUA320

RE: MH: DXB - EWR Route

Tue Aug 24, 2004 2:36 pm

I can only answer one of your questions, and I dont think its the answer you want, but....

Biman flies, I'm fairly sure, JFK-BRU-DAK

JBLU

ronerone