topjet330
Posts: 229
Joined: Sun May 23, 2004 4:20 pm

Monarch Upgrade A300

Mon Aug 30, 2004 3:59 am

Monarch have announced officially that they are going to upgrade a number of A300-600 aircraft with Monarch Premium this winter, to meet demand for the every more popular service. Offering 34" seat pitch, wider seats, in flight entertainment and upgraded meals, along with a private cabin is just the tip of the ice berg for Monarch.

Source - Travelweekly

-----

aside from the news, has anyone else heard anymore on this?
 
gilesdavies
Posts: 2267
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 7:51 pm

RE: Monarch Upgrade A300

Mon Aug 30, 2004 6:35 am

This is brilliant news and shows Monarch are comitted to the A300's and are likely to be in service for a good few years!

If they are offering the premium service, one would assume they will be operating far more long haul charters and taking some of the pressure off the A330's which operate a very heavy schedule.

The A300 has never been a big hit with charter airlines and while other scheduled airlines are beginning to replace them with A330's and 777's, Monarch prove that they are right kind of aircraft for them! They are equally at home flying a short haul for example to Palma as they are flying long haul to Goa in India.

Until recently I did think the A300's days were numbered as none of them had the new livery but they are slowly painting them and G-MONS is their first example. Monarch dont seem to be in a rush updating the liveries on there aircrafts!  Wink/being sarcastic

Are the A300's capable of flying non-stop to Florida, Caribean and Mexico???


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © James Rowson

 
jamotcx
Posts: 839
Joined: Sun May 16, 2004 10:20 am

RE: Monarch Upgrade A300

Mon Aug 30, 2004 6:39 am

Let me guess the 2-4-2 like in the a330s?

Or have they plans to update the premium cabin in the A330s too? As it is very dated and far less a product that its competitors.


Jamo
 
KA501
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 10:27 pm

RE: Monarch Upgrade A300

Mon Aug 30, 2004 6:39 am

They used to use the A300 on services to Florida but with a stop at Bangor.
Goa flights stop at Bahrain.
As for speed of painting all I can say is they are a lot quicker than Mytravel.
 
worldoftui
Posts: 1054
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 5:18 pm

RE: Monarch Upgrade A300

Mon Aug 30, 2004 6:40 am

Are the A300's capable of flying non-stop to Florida, Caribean and Mexico???

I believe they used to operate them direct to Orlando non-stop. Not sure about the rest.

As for the upgrade, this is good news. They were perfect for short flights, but the standard seat pitch must have been painful for their long hauls out to Africa, Asia and the Indian Ocean.

Mark
 
BMI701EGCC
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 2:57 am

RE: Monarch Upgrade A300

Mon Aug 30, 2004 6:43 am

That very good news, MON is my favorite charter airline, well apart from FCA Smile





Scott Waterworth
BMI701EGCC
G-PATI-"G-PATI, Back inbound to Barton"MCT APR-"G-PATI, Continue, Keep lookout on VFR traffic"
 
jetset7e7
Posts: 1009
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 8:56 pm

RE: Monarch Upgrade A300

Mon Aug 30, 2004 6:44 am

Great news for Monarch, this will put them back up where they belong at the top!

I will enjoy working with Monarch from November as the company I work for at Manchester (Swissport) has acquired Monarch from Aviance.

I think that the A300's are capable of flying non-stop to Florida, Caribbean and Mexico, anyone help?

Mark
Retrofitted Blended Winglets - The Future Is On The Wing
 
worldoftui
Posts: 1054
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 5:18 pm

RE: Monarch Upgrade A300

Mon Aug 30, 2004 6:48 am

They used to use the A300 on services to Florida but with a stop at Bangor.

I didn't realise that. I flew MON from LGW to MCO way back, stopping at MAN and BGR. I just remember one of the cabin crew saying to me that the flights on the Airbus operated non-stop. She could have been mistaken I suppose.

Goa flights stop at Bahrain.

Yup. And the MBA flights used to stop in CAI I think.

Mark
 
KA501
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 10:27 pm

RE: Monarch Upgrade A300

Mon Aug 30, 2004 6:58 am

Definite they stop at Bahrain on the Manchester Goa run, and from memory they did Man to Orlando about 5 times a week prior to the DC10 & A330's being delivered with a stop at Bangor,
They must have a fairly restricted range with a full load as they are at present in a 361 PAX configuration, that's a lot of people, on 2 engines,going a long way.
(In comparison Americans A300-600,s operate with just 251 or 178 seats)
 
FlyingColours
Posts: 2202
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 3:13 am

RE: Monarch Upgrade A300

Mon Aug 30, 2004 8:02 am

When I flew the A300 back in 1993 we stopped off at Bangor on the way there and flew N/S back. The layout was 3-4-3.

Great news, I like the Monarch A300s and am glad to see that Monarch are comitted to them for the near future.

Phil
FlyingColours
Lifes a train racing towards you, now you can either run away or grab a chair & a beer and watch it come - Phil
 
DfwRevolution
Posts: 8543
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 7:31 pm

RE: Monarch Upgrade A300

Mon Aug 30, 2004 8:06 am

When I flew the A300 back in 1993 we stopped off at Bangor on the way there and flew N/S back. The layout was 3-4-3.

 Wow!

Are you kidding? 3+4+3 can only be done in the 777 with 17-inch seats, I didn't think that was possible with the A300/A310/A330/A340. Did you mean to say 3+3+3?
 
gkirk
Posts: 23345
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2000 3:29 am

RE: Monarch Upgrade A300

Mon Aug 30, 2004 8:24 am

A300 will have been 3-3-3
3-4-3 is only possible (I think)on L1011,DC-10,MD-11,B747,B777 type a/c
When you hear the noise of the Tartan Army Boys, we'll be coming down the road!
 
A340600
Posts: 3892
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2003 10:24 pm

RE: Monarch Upgrade A300

Mon Aug 30, 2004 9:57 am

Have you seen how thin the aisles are in in the first half of the cabin:


MyAviation.net photo:
Click here for bigger photo!
Photo © James Matthews



I'd love to fly on one of their A300's! They look huge with no premium. I flew to MCO with MON in 2000 and after flying AIH on the way out, I was very disappointed about no PTV's in Econ, but that's all a different matter. Nice to hear the A300's are getting refitted, im always surprised though that MON didn't order more A330's,


Sam Big thumbs up
Despite the name I am a Boeing man through and through!
 
jamotcx
Posts: 839
Joined: Sun May 16, 2004 10:20 am

RE: Monarch Upgrade A300

Sat Sep 04, 2004 7:56 am

Have you seen how thin the aisles are in in the first half of the cabin

The aisles arent actually thin. Its just that they get very wide at the back when it changes to 2-3-2.


Jamo
 
CKT523
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun May 09, 2004 2:56 am

RE: Monarch Upgrade A300

Sat Sep 04, 2004 11:00 am

I remember flying on G-MAJS back in 1996, flt no. MON5712 the day of the England v Germany match (the captain announced the score and the cabin went wild!)if anyone knows whan that was?? We flew LGW-ALC and all I can remember about the flight was that the cabin looked like a cinema, no bulkheads, just seats,seats and more seats! We were sat at the rear in the 2-3-2 section and it was a bit cramped. My question is, out cabin wasn't dark blue with yellow headrests like in the pic, the seats were a kind of grey/pale blue with thin black horizontal stripes on them, grey rubber headrest covers and a black M logo on them. A bit bland, but was this a special scheme or was that standard on MON at the time?
 
captaink
Posts: 3987
Joined: Wed May 23, 2001 10:43 am

RE: Monarch Upgrade A300

Sat Sep 04, 2004 11:13 am

MOnarch used their A300 to GND ones as a substitute for the A330 when GEOMA was down. But that aircraft had to make a fuel stop in Gander, then continue to GND. The same route for the return trip to LGW. But we (GND) are pretty far south in the caribbean.
There is something special about planes....
 
AA767400
Posts: 1889
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2001 2:04 am

RE: Monarch Upgrade A300

Sat Sep 04, 2004 12:13 pm

AA's A300-600, is 2-4-2, and only seats 267, or 266. By the way, from the pictures of Monarchs A300, I can tell that they are much more kept up then AA's A300. They look cleaner, and brighter.
"The low fares airline."
 
AMS
Posts: 1620
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 7:34 am

RE: Monarch Upgrade A300

Sun Sep 05, 2004 12:36 am

I just remember one of the cabin crew saying to me that the flights on the Airbus operated non-stop. She could have been mistaken I suppose.

I think she was talking about the Airbus A330 of Monarch!


Regards,
AMS

Who is online