aa777jr
Posts: 2269
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 12:03 pm

LGA - JFK Switch

Tue Aug 31, 2004 11:47 am

Was researching flights to LHR from AUS. There is a scenario where AA would have me fly into LGA, and two hours later take off for LHR, via JFK. My question is, why and how does AA get away with doing this rather stupid scenario. I called AA customer care and they gave me several shuttle service numbers to take me from LGA to JFK for my connection. Will I have to recheck my bags for travel?

AA777jr
A liberal is a man who is right most of the time, but he's right too soon.
 
OPNLguy
Posts: 11191
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 1999 11:29 am

RE: LGA - JFK Switch

Tue Aug 31, 2004 11:51 am

You'd have much better luck transferring by doing it at DFW, i.e. AUS-DFW and then DFW-LGW. I know it's not LHR, but better to make such a long ground connection on the back end of the trip, and not in the middle....

Just my 2 cents...
ALL views, opinions expressed are mine ONLY and are NOT representative of those shared by Southwest Airlines Co.
 
aa777jr
Posts: 2269
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 12:03 pm

RE: LGA - JFK Switch

Tue Aug 31, 2004 11:54 am

Everytime I make reservations to fly AUS-LHR, I always end up getting the shaft and missing out on flying into LHR on AA. Last summer, I missed my flight cause I slept in and had to fly STL-LGW on a 763. Really wanted to experience the 772!!! Guess I'm gonna have to fly into LGW to see my buddy.

AA777jr
A liberal is a man who is right most of the time, but he's right too soon.
 
nickofatlanta
Posts: 1272
Joined: Tue May 23, 2000 1:06 am

RE: LGA - JFK Switch

Tue Aug 31, 2004 12:29 pm

Wouldn't ORD be your best connecting point when flying AA from AUS to LHR?
 
spacecadet
Posts: 2788
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2001 3:36 am

RE: LGA - JFK Switch

Tue Aug 31, 2004 1:12 pm

My question is, why and how does AA get away with doing this rather stupid scenario. I called AA customer care and they gave me several shuttle service numbers to take me from LGA to JFK for my connection. Will I have to recheck my bags for travel?

I would think you probably would, as well as going through security again...

It does sound pretty stupid. But then, what airline is going to fly from AUS to JFK and then to LHR? Your options may be limited if you want to make the transfer at NYC.

You could try a different hub but you may pay more if the distance is longer. It may be worth saving the aggravation, though.
I'm tired of being a wanna-be league bowler. I wanna be a league bowler!
 
aa777jr
Posts: 2269
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 12:03 pm

RE: LGA - JFK Switch

Tue Aug 31, 2004 1:19 pm

There is a AA flight from ORD on the 772. Transferring through NYC was just an option I had.

AA777jr
A liberal is a man who is right most of the time, but he's right too soon.
 
Mir
Posts: 19092
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 3:55 am

RE: LGA - JFK Switch

Tue Aug 31, 2004 2:21 pm

Don't do it. You will not make it from LGA to JFK in time to check in for your flight if two hours is all you have. There is no way it will work.
7 billion, one nation, imagination...it's a beautiful day
 
azjubilee
Posts: 3376
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2000 5:26 am

RE: LGA - JFK Switch

Tue Aug 31, 2004 2:23 pm

In March I took a cab from LGA to JFK to change airlines. We arrived LGA at 9am and had a noon departure from JFK. The cab ride took 25 minutes and cost about $20. It went WAY smoother than I anticipated.


AZJ
 
aa777jr
Posts: 2269
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 12:03 pm

RE: LGA - JFK Switch

Tue Aug 31, 2004 3:47 pm

AZJ,

That is awesome! Thanks for the info!!!

AA777jr
A liberal is a man who is right most of the time, but he's right too soon.
 
User avatar
Starlionblue
Posts: 17058
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 9:54 pm

RE: LGA - JFK Switch

Tue Aug 31, 2004 9:51 pm

There is also the bus:

Here's the LGA->JFK schedule: http://www.nyairportservice.com/jfk_lga_jfk.html
"There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots." - John Ringo
 
TWFirst
Posts: 5752
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2000 5:30 am

RE: LGA - JFK Switch

Tue Aug 31, 2004 10:19 pm

I agree w/Mir... DON'T DO IT! Yes, you will have to recheck your bags and go through screening again, etc. Depending on the time of day and the day of the week, the journey between the 2 airports can take 25 minutes at the shortest (as Azjubilee experienced) or 3 hours, as I have experienced before. It's a HUGE gamble.

An unexamined life isn't worth living.
 
7LBAC111
Posts: 2427
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 9:17 am

RE: LGA - JFK Switch

Tue Aug 31, 2004 10:26 pm

Everytime I make reservations to fly AUS-LHR, I always end up getting the shaft and missing out on flying into LHR on AA

How did AA shaft you?? You slept in!!
Debate is what you put on de hook when you want to catch de fish.
 
sspontak
Posts: 484
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 2:42 am

RE: LGA - JFK Switch

Tue Aug 31, 2004 10:28 pm

I live on Long Island, near JFK and LGA. I can tell you that you are taking too much of a chance with the traffic. If you come in on a rainy day or if there is some other reason for traffic, there is a good chance you will not have enough time. Last week there was a heavy downpoor around JFK and all entrances were closed due to flooding. It was a nightmare. Definitely avoid it!
Go Delta!
 
ordflyer
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 2:08 pm

RE: LGA - JFK Switch

Tue Aug 31, 2004 11:40 pm

I agree with the others...don't do it! Two hours is not nearly enough, it would be safer to take the connection in ORD (or DFW if flying to LGW is an option)
 
SafetyDude
Posts: 3654
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2001 10:02 am

RE: LGA - JFK Switch

Tue Aug 31, 2004 11:47 pm

I would not recommend doing that as there are more convenient flight options.

The reason AA does this is so that they can display all of the options for the passenger.

-Will
"She Flew For What We Stand For"

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alfa164, Balerit, ChristopherS, Deltran757, Floppie, flyDTW1992, GGtai, Google Adsense [Bot], jm079, NZdsgnr, StTim, The777Man, User001, usflyer123, XLA2008 and 194 guests