khkair
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 9:42 pm

SQ Does Not Serve YYZ?

Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:27 am

I just want to know why SQ does not serve YYZ? It flies to so many destinations in the world including the odd cities but not YYZ which is one of the big cities in the world.
 
User avatar
yyz717
Posts: 15689
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:26 pm

RE: SQ Does Not Serve YYZ?

Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:41 am

SQ flew a 3x weekly YYZ-AMS-GVA-SIN 744 service in the early 90's.

There was a bilateral spat at the time betw Canada and SIN which led to the cancellation of this service.

I dumped at the gybe mark in strong winds when I looked up at a Porter Q400 on finals. Can't stop spotting.
 
avroarrow
Posts: 804
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2001 10:40 am

RE: SQ Does Not Serve YYZ?

Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:41 am

Well YYZ isn't THAT big on the scale of the world, but it is the biggest urban area in Canada. My guess is that since their aircraft wouldn't have to range to non-stop it and they are a Star Alliance member economics dictate that its just better for them to land in YVR and transfer the pax to AC. Just my opinion though.
Give me a mile of road and I can take you a mile. Give me a mile of runway and I can show you the world.
 
burnsie28
Posts: 5026
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 1:49 am

RE: SQ Does Not Serve YYZ?

Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:48 am

My guess is that since their aircraft wouldn't have to range to non-stop it and they are a Star Alliance member economics dictate that its just better for them to land in YVR and transfer the pax to AC.

Uh, yeah they would, they fly SIN-EWR non-stop now. A345  Big grin
 
User avatar
yyz717
Posts: 15689
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:26 pm

RE: SQ Does Not Serve YYZ?

Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:49 am

My guess is that since their aircraft wouldn't have to range to non-stop it and they are a Star Alliance member economics dictate that its just better for them to land in YVR and transfer the pax to AC.

SQ pulled out of YYZ long before the Star Alliance was even thought of.

I dumped at the gybe mark in strong winds when I looked up at a Porter Q400 on finals. Can't stop spotting.
 
jfkYYZ
Posts: 108
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 10:25 am

RE: SQ Does Not Serve YYZ?

Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:59 am

Yeah lots of politics involved with SQ to YYZ. Look it up there should be some remnants of a discussion a few months back.
j. in YYZ
 
gardermoen
Posts: 1325
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 1999 9:52 pm

RE: SQ Does Not Serve YYZ?

Fri Oct 08, 2004 12:15 pm

The routing was SIN-VIE-AMS-YYZ back in the early 1990s - three times a week, SQ have never served GVA.
 
khkair
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 9:42 pm

RE: SQ Does Not Serve YYZ?

Fri Oct 08, 2004 12:25 pm

As far as I recall, Thai Intl and JAL have also served YYZ before but quit afterwards. Am I right?
 
User avatar
yyz717
Posts: 15689
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:26 pm

RE: SQ Does Not Serve YYZ?

Fri Oct 08, 2004 12:35 pm

You're right VIE not GVA. I always get the 2 mixed. I meant Vienna.

I dumped at the gybe mark in strong winds when I looked up at a Porter Q400 on finals. Can't stop spotting.
 
thaiaggie
Posts: 221
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2004 1:56 am

RE: SQ Does Not Serve YYZ?

Fri Oct 08, 2004 1:09 pm

Yup KHKAIR

TG flew to YYZ. the route were BKK-NRT-SEA-YYZ and BKK-TPE-SEA-TPE. TG even left an A300 at SEA to do SEA-YYZ section. YYZ service last for about a year I guess.
Barrow, Alaska in Feb. It was Cold!
 
Ex_SQer
Posts: 1351
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2002 5:43 am

RE: SQ Does Not Serve YYZ?

Fri Oct 08, 2004 5:43 pm

 
khkair
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 9:42 pm

RE: SQ Does Not Serve YYZ?

Fri Oct 08, 2004 10:30 pm

JAL and ANA also do not serve YYZ....I have no clues.... Sad
 
slawko
Posts: 3742
Joined: Tue May 25, 1999 7:40 am

RE: SQ Does Not Serve YYZ?

Sat Oct 09, 2004 5:55 am

SQ and ANA both serve YYZ!!!! Their code is carried on Air Canada's LHR, and NRT flights respectively... Big grin

Its a shame they dont come here with their own equipment but that may come eventually...especially as the US centers like ORD and JFK fill up...being between both of them YYZ would be the perfect connection gateway if only the GTAA/CCRA would accept the requirements for intransit facilities..
"Clive Beddoe says he favours competition, but his actions do not support that idea." Robert Milton - CEO Air Canada

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AsiaTravel, Bing [Bot], BoeingVista, Dutchy, evanb, exunited, FlySSC, frigatebird, GCT64, Google Adsense [Bot], jumbojet, KarelXWB, keesje, marky, MTEMBLEQUE, neutrino, olle, scbriml, SCQ83, SonOfABeech, StTim, xiaotung and 389 guests