blackknight

The End Of An Industry As We Know It

Wed Dec 15, 2004 2:14 pm

First I would like to introduce myself. I have been a Airliners.net ghost for years downloading,watching and reading. My love of aviation is deep and my life is spent in it's web. My career and hobbies reflect it. I have wanted to join many times but have not due to the often non-factual, funny yet emotional comments. As an Engineer I seek to learn and understand. It is for this reason I suggest this topic.

In my career I have worked on parts for both Airbus and Boeing. I have been in numerous meeting with both. Today the competition between the two is at an all time high. Regardless of personal emotional opinions the aviation industry is at a crossroads. Many of my colleges where I work and at both Airbus and Boeing feel the same way. Airbus has an ability to turn out new or modified models faster than Boeing. The truth is the lack of fear in funding and sale price which even Airbus Purchasing Agents admit.

Regardless of emotional favoritism an industry without competition is on a downward trend. Would Airbus turn out additional models as fast without Boeing? True lovers of the aviation world as with the sport world have their favorites. The game though if not played fair and with an opponent is dull and boring. You may hate Airbus or Boeing but what would the industry be like without Boeing? Can both surrvive with the rules as they are? Where will we be in 5 years? 15 years?

This is not a red flag to a bull to start a fight but an attempt for all of us to review the facts.

P.S. Having dealt with the quality requirements and demands of both they are very similar and demanding. I hope the industry can work out it's issues so we can be fans of the game for a very long time.

BK

JetMechMD80

RE: The End Of An Industry As We Know It

Wed Dec 15, 2004 2:38 pm

BlackKnight