bluepoole

Why Don't US Carriers Fly To SA?

Tue Feb 01, 2005 8:59 pm

Goodday everybody!

First of all, I've been visiting this site for almost two years - reading the forums, enjoying the photos, and even getting a couple of my own photos accepted into the database. I've finally signed up as a First Class member and look forward to many years as an active member on A.net.

Then, for my first forum, I want to raise the question: why don't any US carriers fly to South Africa? South African Airways flies to New York and Atlanta, and also has codeshare agreements with some US airlines for onward travel from JFK or ATL, and also for travel to South Africa.

I've been wondering why major US airlines like American, Continental and Delta don't fly to JNB directly. Is there any specific reason? Perhaps they don't see it as a profitable route?

Looking forward to your replies.

Aircraft types flown on: A319, B727, B732, B733, B738, B744, DC9, MD82, DH3, DH4

BOEING787

RE: Why Don't US Carriers Fly To SA?

Tue Feb 01, 2005 9:08 pm

I believe DELTA codeshares with SAA on the JFK and ATL flights?

That is a begining perhaps?

Welcome as a First Class Member!

leelaw

Tue Feb 01, 2005 9:10 pm

Has any scheduled American airline ever flown to South Africa? I don't recall PA or TWA ever flying there.

[Edited 2005-02-01 13:11:21]
Lex Ancilla Justitiae

FlyGuyClt

Tue Feb 01, 2005 9:28 pm

NWA Nortwest Airlines codeshares with KLM Royal Dutch Airlines via AMS.

Safe Flying  Smile
Florida Express, Braniff II and ......

BostonBeau

Tue Feb 01, 2005 9:41 pm

Pan Am flew to J'burg from New York for many years. I don't think their early 747s were capable of nonstop service. I seem to remember they stopped off in Monrovia on the way.

[Edited 2005-02-01 13:42:04]

dtwclipper

Tue Feb 01, 2005 9:44 pm

Pan Am flew to JNB for many years with stoping points in many different cities over the years.