ACAfan
Topic Author
Posts: 690
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2004 11:25 pm

Why Not US Airways Hubs At LGA And DCA?

Sun Feb 06, 2005 12:31 am

Why not US Airways hubs at LGA and DCA?

Look at this first: http://www.usairways.com/about/corporate/profile/factsheets/index.htm

Based on the fact sheet, US flies 204 departures out of LGA, and 186 departures out of DCA. However, most of these flights are flown by regional carriers.

If it wanted to , US could make all of these flights mainline, making LGA and DCA respectable hub operations. (PHL has 224 mainline flights, CLT has 263)

1. Scale back PHL
2. Have major hubs at CLT, DCA, and LGA.

The competition is low, and the O&D market is fabulous.
Freddie Laker ... May be at peace with his maker ... But he is a persona non grata ... with IATA
 
User avatar
ERJ170
Posts: 5466
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 11:15 am

RE: Why Not US Airways Hubs At LGA And DCA?

Sun Feb 06, 2005 12:37 am

DCA and LGA are too slot restricted. Plus with the perimeter rules, it doesn't allow for coast-to-coast nor international flights.. not a good formula for hub status..

Plus, at DCA and LGA, aircraft size make a huge difference.. sometimes a RJ does not equal a slot.. whereas a mainline always and forever equal a slot.. it's all about the rules..

[Edited 2005-02-05 16:39:00]
Aiming High and going far..
 
User avatar
STT757
Posts: 13173
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2000 1:14 am

RE: Why Not US Airways Hubs At LGA And DCA?

Sun Feb 06, 2005 1:04 am

They differentiate the types of slots, ie.. Turbo Prop slot, Regional Jet slot, Main line jet slot. They are not equal.
Eastern Air lines flt # 701, EWR-MCO Boeing 757
 
SESGDL
Posts: 2610
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2001 6:25 am

RE: Why Not US Airways Hubs At LGA And DCA?

Sun Feb 06, 2005 1:38 am

Also, to places where US flies from LGA like CHO. Do you honestly think that even a 319 could fill that route? Upgrading from regional to mainline would have to equal enough demand on a route which there's clearly not.

Jeremy
 
727LOVER
Posts: 6594
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2001 12:22 am

RE: Why Not US Airways Hubs At LGA And DCA?

Sun Feb 06, 2005 3:37 am

US has only 24 mainline departures from LGA????????  Wow! That's down fro roughly 100 ten years ago. Are they still #1 in pax from LGA?
I feel woozy....what did you put in that Pudding Pop?
 
ConcordeBoy
Posts: 16852
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2001 8:04 am

RE: Why Not US Airways Hubs At LGA And DCA?

Sun Feb 06, 2005 4:26 am

Are they still #1 in pax from LGA?

They haven't been for years.

Both the various incarnations of DL and AA each have a million passenger+ lead on the US operation at LGA.
Faire du ciel le plus bel endroit de la terre c'est impossible sans Concorde!
 
Cody
Posts: 2172
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 12:16 pm

RE: Why Not US Airways Hubs At LGA And DCA?

Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:02 am

This is a good question. It is my understanding that the DCA slots are differentiated in terms of regional and mainline. That is why they have increased the EMB 170 at DCA. The EMB 170 fits in the regional slot category, yet is capable of flying mainline routes. That explains the sudden decrease in turboprop flying from DCA. US AIRWAYS is now using those slots for the EMB 170. I believe the only US AIRWAYS EXPRESS turboprop flights out of DCA are with Colgan who actually owns the slots outright.

Now I think LGA is different. A slot is a slot is a slot. It can be used by mainline jets or regional jets. Why US AIRWAYS has elected to use a bunch of regional jets out of LGA as opposed to flying mainline jets to say, MCO is beyond me. My only assumption is, in recent years, their costs have not been low enough to effectively compete with JetBlue, Airtran, Spirit and others. But the RJ costs are lower since they are fixed. Therefore, right now, you see more RJ's at LGA. Now if and when the recent cost reductions start to help the bottom line, and they become competitive, I would guess we will see more mainline at LGA and less Rj's. But like I said that is only a guess.

If I am wrong about the slot issues, please enlighten me.
 
727LOVER
Posts: 6594
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2001 12:22 am

RE: Why Not US Airways Hubs At LGA And DCA?

Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:18 am

I will be at DCA this coning weekend. I will not see any USX dash-8s????
I feel woozy....what did you put in that Pudding Pop?
 
Cody
Posts: 2172
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 12:16 pm

RE: Why Not US Airways Hubs At LGA And DCA?

Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:25 am

727lover,

I don't think you will. As far as I know, the only remaining turboprops out of DCA are the SAABs, operated by Colgan, to CRW.
 
SHUPirate1
Posts: 3428
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2003 2:53 pm

RE: Why Not US Airways Hubs At LGA And DCA?

Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:25 am

Cody-if I am not mistaken, there are separate slot pools for mainline planes and non-mainline planes at LaGuardia. However, the line is drawn at 50 seats, which is why the only 70-seat plane LaGuardia sees all day is DL5500 (RDU 8:25A-LGA 10:06A), turning as DL5430 (LGA 11:00A-JAX 1:39P).
Burma's constitutional referendum options: A. Yes, B. Go to Insein Prison!
 
Cody
Posts: 2172
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 12:16 pm

RE: Why Not US Airways Hubs At LGA And DCA?

Mon Feb 07, 2005 3:17 am

SHUPirate1,

You might be right. I recall just prior to September 11, 2001, LGA did something odd with the 50-seat RJ's. They slot exempted them or something. All of the sudden, LGA became bogged down with RJ's galore. Then after September 11, they may have changed the rules again. Honestly these rules have changed so much that I lost track.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 33lspotter, airzona11, American 767, AT72, Baidu [Spider], caflyboy, CRJ900, dsandson, eidvm, gennadius, iadbudd, jpetekyxmd80, LA704, msycajun, TailDragging, TUGMASTER, ty97, Yahoo [Bot] and 277 guests