nycflyer
Posts: 1288
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 1:23 am

Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:09 am

Hi,

Please help. For a business travel itinerary (ATL - CAI), I arrive at 9:05am in FRA, on Delta from ATL, and then I depart on Lufthansa for CAI at 10am. I don't know the layout of FRA that well - will 55 minutes be enough? Will I have to clear customs since I'm transfering from one int'l flight to another? Please help!

thanks.
 
NumberTwelve
Posts: 1393
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 8:57 pm

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:15 am

NYC, you have to change the terminal in Frankfurt which isn't too difficult - just use the Sky Train. Also you can check through the luggage in Atlanta, I guess.
But when you arrive, you have to go through Immigration (because of the different terminals) and have to pass security check again.

In my opinion 55 minutes is very rare time.

signature censored by admin - so check my profile
 
matt
Posts: 677
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 1:36 am

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:15 am

I don't have an answer but I have the same question as you! So I'll ask the ones who reply to you to reply to mine as well.

I will be connecting through FRA next month from BCN to YYZ. My connection time is only 55 minutes. Is that enough? I will travelling on LH, then AC (all within T1).
Next flights: YQM-YOW-YOW / YQM-YYZ-CPH-YYZ-YQM / YQM-YUL-LYS-BRU-YUL-YQM / YQM-PUJ-YQM
 
Avianca
Posts: 5273
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 5:33 am

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:16 am

I think 55 minutes will be not enough, because you need to transfer between Terminal 1 and 2. Regarding customs clearance I am not sure.
It is not possible to book via CDG (AF) or via Frankfurt ex ATL with LH?

regards
Avianca
Colombia es el Mundo Y el Mundo es Colombia
 
ZRH
Posts: 4371
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 1999 11:32 pm

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:19 am

I don't know what FRA airport says, but as I know this airport, I think it won't be enough time.
 
Avianca
Posts: 5273
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 5:33 am

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:19 am

Matt, if the flight is on time no problem, because it is all in Terminal 1.
Colombia es el Mundo Y el Mundo es Colombia
 
NumberTwelve
Posts: 1393
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 8:57 pm

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:20 am

Matt, what did the reservation system say? Usually f.e. Amadeus gives a warning when arrival and departure aren't in MCT.

You may walk some meters or kilometers  Wink/being sarcastic , departure will be in Terminal 1 concourse B, arrival aprox. Terminal 1 concourse A. so no problem in my opinion.
signature censored by admin - so check my profile
 
fraT
Posts: 992
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 4:32 am

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:22 am

I think you can stay within the transit area even when you have to go from Terminal 2 to Terminal 1. The Skytrain has 2 compartments, 1 for transit pax and the other one for everybody else.
It's short but you can make it.
 
NumberTwelve
Posts: 1393
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 8:57 pm

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:25 am

FraT, how does that work in Terminal 2? There is one stop for the Skytrain only - from where do the arriving passengers come to enter the Skytrain?
signature censored by admin - so check my profile
 
fraT
Posts: 992
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 4:32 am

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:27 am

Avianca and NumberTwelfe,

I don't know where you are getting your information from but DL is definitely arriving in Terminal 2.
 
Sabena332
Posts: 14938
Joined: Wed May 09, 2001 3:57 am

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:28 am

It is possible, try to get your FRA-CAI boarding pass already in ATL and use - as FraT already mentioned - the transit pax compartment of the Sky Train, then you don't have to pass (a time consuming) security check. I guess that your luggage goes straight through to CAI, so no worries about that.

Another tip, tell the DL flight attendants that you have a very hot connection, if they are friendly they will give you priority during disembarkment (then run as fast as you can to an immigration counter).

Patrick
NZ1's mother is a disgusting crack-whore and his father is a worthless alcoholic!
 
matt
Posts: 677
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 1:36 am

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:28 am

No, my connection is legal as the MCT is 45 minutes. I was just wondering if that was realistic. But I guess if it's all in T1, there should be not problem.

What checks will I have to go through? Passport control? I am going from a non-Schengen country (Canada) to a Schengen country (Spain) with a stop in a Schengen country (Germany).

Next flights: YQM-YOW-YOW / YQM-YYZ-CPH-YYZ-YQM / YQM-YUL-LYS-BRU-YUL-YQM / YQM-PUJ-YQM
 
NumberTwelve
Posts: 1393
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 8:57 pm

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:29 am

Yes, FraT, but we were talking about Matt from Canada who wants to fly from BCN (LH) via FRA to Canada (AC).

We're not talking about DL/LH but LH/AC.

And is there a walkway/escalator/elevator or whatever to bring Transit Passengers from Terminal 2 (special part of Skytrain) to Terminal 1 Transit section?
signature censored by admin - so check my profile
 
fraT
Posts: 992
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 4:32 am

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:30 am

As I said, the Skytrain has two compartments. The transit passengers enter from the other side than the normal people but they are in two different cars.
 
Avianca
Posts: 5273
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 5:33 am

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:31 am

FratT, I didn´t say that Delta is not arriving in Terminal 2, I confirm please check first reply. My second was for Matt, he is tranfering from a LH flight to an AC flight, and these flights are definitely arriving/departing Terminal 1
Colombia es el Mundo Y el Mundo es Colombia
 
kilavoud
Posts: 863
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2003 7:47 pm

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:34 am

I had once only 40 minutes transit time in FRA and had to take the small train to change terminal.

I was arriving from Madras and transiting to Geneva. My flight was late due to a missed approach. No problem, even my luggages followed me.

Do not worry FRA is not such a big airport, once you know it of course.

Cheers. Kilavoud.
 
NumberTwelve
Posts: 1393
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 8:57 pm

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:35 am

Sabena: "..., try to get your FRA-CAI boarding pass already in ATL ...I guess that your luggage goes straight through to CAI, ..."

Isn't there a possibility to check it in advance? If boarding pass for FRA-CAI will be issued in FRA, I think this isn't a problem. But what happens if luggage doesn't go straight through to CAI?

You wrote that you guess, Patrick. But who can confirm in advance?
signature censored by admin - so check my profile
 
fraT
Posts: 992
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 4:32 am

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:35 am

Avianca and NumberTwelfe
My apologies to both of you. I thought you were referring to the thread starter.
Connecting from one Star Alliance flight to another is no problem in 45 minutes. If you are really arriving in Concourse A than use the tunnel to go to Concourse B. Should save you some time.
 
FRALIM
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2003 3:06 am

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 2:00 am

Hey!

No customs or immigration for ATL-FRA-CAI!

As mentioned by the others there is the skyline train that connects T1 and T2. Check the gate for the CAI flight as soon as possible (maybe the crew can already ask for it). If the flight departs from Concourse A or B it's definetily best to take the train. When you get off just follow the signs for T1 A/B (to the right). you will walk along concourse D (depending on DL's gate) towards concourse E. After the duty free shop (that's where local pax get through security) you will turn left and cross the check-in hall on a glass bridge. There's the station for the skyline train. this station is for transit pax only (as mentioned above there are two carriages; one for locals and one for transfers). There are two stops in T1. Where you hace to get off depends on your gate....

But there is also another possibility how to get to T1. This one you should only take if your LH flight departs from Concourse C. In that case you just walk in the other direction (to the left) when you get off your plane. There should be signs for T1 C guiding you in that direction. T1 and T2 are connected. so you can walk from you arrival gate in concourse D to your departure gate in concourse C. But as I said, only walk if your gate is in C otherwise the skyline train is definitely faster.... to be honest I would only recommend to walk when you arrive at a gate between D9 and D13.

But if you follow the signs there should be no problems at all. the minimum departure time for FRA is 45min , so you shoul make it... (as long as your DL flight is on time, of course  Wink/being sarcastic)

I hope my explanations were not too confusing for you!!!!

Enjoy your flight and have some good 55min in FRA.

Chris
 
SAS-A321
Posts: 348
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 11:44 pm

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 2:06 am

Definitely! I made it in and out of FRA in 1 hour with my family and we had to go get our bags and check in again. One hour after touchdown we were sitting comfortably in the aircraft bound for CPH.
It's Scandinavian
 
nycflyer
Posts: 1288
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 1:23 am

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 2:27 am

thanks guys! I appreciate all of your advice. I will put on my running shoes and head for the Sky Train.

-Jay
 
Venezuela747
Posts: 1374
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2004 9:36 am

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 6:28 am

Call delta just to make sure you can check your bags all the way to CAI
ROLL TIDE!!!
 
airgeek12
Posts: 725
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 8:02 am

RE: Is 55 Minutes Enough Transfer Time In FRA?

Wed Feb 09, 2005 8:36 am

55 minutes should work.. before you leave study/check out airport maps so when you get there you'll know your way around the apt. That's what I did and it worked great for me.