I diligently read through this publication, which describes the exact workings of the new EU pax compensation rules:
The open question for me is the following: when they say the rule applies to "any flight, including charters to an EU airport from one outside the EU, when operated
by an EU airline" does that mean:
- the metal has to be the EU airline, irrespective of the ticket I hold
- the ticket has to be the EU airline, irrespective of the metal used
- both ticket and metal have to be the EU airline?
To construct an example, I buy a ticket for CDG
, which is a route that is codeshared and jointly operated on AF
and ME metal.
When there is, say for instance, overbooking on the BEY
i) the rules apply when the flight is operated on AF
metal and I have a AF
ticket - right?
ii) do the rules apply if I have a ticket with the AF
flight number, but the flight is operated by ME?
iii) do the rules apply if I have a ticket with the ME flight number, but the flight is operated by AF
Anyone knows more?