panam330
Posts: 1955
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 11:58 am

JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:04 am

Anyone else catch the little boo-boo when someone redrew the map? Looks like BOS-ONT is a new route instead of BOS-SJC  Wink.

http://www.jetblue.com/travelinfo/routemap.html

Also, am I the only one that thinks B6 is in need of an interactive route map?

And yes, I'm incredibly bored.

[Edited 2005-03-15 19:04:53]
 
ahlfors
Posts: 1281
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2000 1:44 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:09 am

If you follow the nearly-invisible arrows from the destination names, you'll see that the route is out of SJC.
 
ORD777
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 10:09 pm

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:09 am

Unless they've fixed it since your wrote your post it looks correct to me. If you see the little flags next to the dots with the city names on them the orange line actually does go from SJC to BOS.
 
panam330
Posts: 1955
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 11:58 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:13 am

Indeed it does. I just realized that after I posted. Gotta be one of those off days. My apologies.
 
User avatar
OzarkD9S
Posts: 4717
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 2:31 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:53 am

Yes, at this point they do need an interactive route map.

So many transcons it's nearly illegible.
Next up: STL-OAK-RNO-LAS-ICT-STL
 
jetblueatjfk
Posts: 1556
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 4:42 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 5:07 am

Yea they put those lines in when they made the boxes around their names many months ago. I was confused when I first saw it back in August for the first time.

 airplane jetBlueAtJFK airplane 

some one should write to them and say that their route map is illegible and impossible to read. To many lines. I might have to go to the speak up column and say something.
 
wedgetail737
Posts: 3619
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 8:44 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 6:52 am

I'm sure the folks in Ontario would love to see service to BOS.
 
ACAfan
Posts: 690
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2004 11:25 pm

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 7:19 am

I didn't know they flew to Burbank! Must have been studying when that thread was up...

It seems everytime I blink, they fly some new route!

Go B6!
Freddie Laker ... May be at peace with his maker ... But he is a persona non grata ... with IATA
 
exFATboy
Posts: 1887
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 11:15 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 7:25 am

I read the map as a new route from BOS to ONT too! Doesn't help that the ONT dot is poorly placed, too - ONT is well to the east of LGB, not directly above it.

JetBlue definitely needs to get an interactive route map - add a couple more routes and this thing will be absolutely useless.
 
User avatar
ERJ170
Posts: 5466
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 11:15 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 7:40 am

i'll say there is something wrong with B6's route map.. it doesn't go to my airport.. serious overlook there.. talk about needing to correct an error..

(for those of you tired of reading those 3 letters, I will be kind and not mention it)  angel 
Aiming High and going far..
 
FA4B6
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:00 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 7:45 am

Quoting Wedgetail737 (Reply 6):
I'm sure the folks in Ontario would love to see service to BOS.

I'm sure ONT-BOS will happen soon I hope ... I think with the new gates, BOS will mimic a lot of what routes we fly from JFK.

Quoting JetBlueAtJFK (Reply 5):
some one should write to them and say that their route map is illegible and impossible to read. To many lines. I might have to go to the speak up column and say something.

PLEASE DO!! I wish everyone would. I know that they are working on it, but even WN and FL have interactive route maps. I especially love FL's, I hope we do something similar.

Quoting ERJ170 (Reply 9):
i'll say there is something wrong with B6's route map.. it doesn't go to my airport.. serious overlook there.. talk about needing to correct an error..

I can't wait for the 190's to come because I am sure you'll see service to your airport *cough* RDU *cough* soon. RDU, CLT, RIC, etc i'm sure will all see 190 service.
"Leap! And the net will appear."
 
User avatar
ERJ170
Posts: 5466
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 11:15 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 7:51 am

 alert I have emailed B6 about that route map 3 or 4 times.. they never write me back and have yet to do anything about it.. Do I need to travel to Forest Hills or whatever the hell name of that place is? It is beyond attrocious! <-- how do you spell that?

Anyway, I believe B6 would be most beneficial with an interactive map also.. much like F9 has.. It would be soooo much more user friendly.. and ain't that their stichk?  boxedin 
Aiming High and going far..
 
FA4B6
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:00 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 7:53 am

Quoting ERJ170 (Reply 11):
Anyway, I believe B6 would be most beneficial with an interactive map also.. much like F9 has.. It would be soooo much more user friendly.. and ain't that their stichk?

since when did F9 get an interactive route map?? link please!
"Leap! And the net will appear."
 
jfkaua
Posts: 972
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 7:42 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 8:06 am

wow I always thought ONT was ontario in canada... I spent a good twenty minutes trying to find it on that map...
 
FA4B6
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:00 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 8:08 am

Quoting Jfkaua (Reply 13):
wow I always thought ONT was ontario in canada... I spent a good twenty minutes trying to find it on that map...

Ontario is a province in Canada .. a province is like what we call a state but many people make that mistake.

The province of Ontario is huge, maybe even bigger then the size of California itself!
"Leap! And the net will appear."
 
hjulicher
Posts: 648
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 2:26 pm

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 8:18 am

It seems to me that B6 has forgotten many middle america cities? Wouldn't they pick up more customers if they began service at airports other than those located along the coasts of the country? Why are they avoiding the midwest so much. I, who live in Detroit, did not hear of jetblue until last summer when there was a news article about them (I just recently found this site). Denver is the closest city to middle america with B6 service. Is B6 considering adding service to places like Chicago, DTW, MSP, IND, STL, PIT, or any other major midwestern city? How can an airline not service the second largest airport in passenger traffic in the country?
LH 442
 
airgeek12
Posts: 725
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 8:02 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 8:24 am

look closer/harder. looks perfect to me.
 
FA4B6
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:00 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 8:27 am

Quoting Hjulicher (Reply 15):
It seems to me that B6 has forgotten many middle america cities? Wouldn't they pick up more customers if they began service at airports other than those located along the coasts of the country? Why are they avoiding the midwest so much. I, who live in Detroit, did not hear of jetblue until last summer when there was a news article about them (I just recently found this site). Denver is the closest city to middle america with B6 service. Is B6 considering adding service to places like Chicago, DTW, MSP, IND, STL, PIT, or any other major midwestern city? How can an airline not service the second largest airport in passenger traffic in the country?

When we take delivery of the 100 seat Embraer 190's, I'm sure you'll see service to the midwest on B6. Right now we're focusing on NY-Florda/CA & BOS and markets that will utilize our aircraft most. East-West coast flying accomplishes that. Originally, the west coast cities were RON relievers ... too many aircrafts were RON'ing at JFK and so they starting sending the aircrafts out. Might as well send em somewhere overnight, get them back at 6-7AM .. and then send them to Florida and Upstate NY all day. Great idea, and it proved to be very successful for us.

As we grow, we'll find better ways to use our aircraft and that will include service to the major midwestern cities.
"Leap! And the net will appear."
 
jfkaua
Posts: 972
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 7:42 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 8:59 am

Quoting Fa4b6 (Reply 14):

Ontario is a province in Canada .. a province is like what we call a state but many people make that mistake.

The province of Ontario is huge, maybe even bigger then the size of California itself!

Yea i know that... I just never knew that ontario was a city in california!
 
hjulicher
Posts: 648
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 2:26 pm

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 9:51 am

FA4B6, - when will B6 take delivery of its planes? And which cities will be served first, (if you know.)
LH 442
 
User avatar
Aeroflot777
Posts: 2960
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 2:19 pm

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 10:19 am

I've been e-mailing jetBlue for ages with comments about the route map. I've done it at least 5 times this year. Usually they write back an email. But concerning the route map, they haven't written anything. It is seriously impossible to read.

Aeroflot777
 
hjulicher
Posts: 648
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 2:26 pm

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 10:49 am

I've done the same with NW. I even called them. They list that they don't fly to Russia, but they are exclusive partners with KLM, and I have flown this route. I even called them to tell them of the mistake. They said they would fix it, but they haven't. This is concerning NWA.com route map and does affect that of skyteam.
LH 442
 
wedgetail737
Posts: 3619
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 8:44 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 11:36 am

ERJ170 and AEROFLOT777...try sending an email to the folks who maintain the webpage...not the airline. Jetblue doesn't have a whole lot of control over the webpage itself.

I had a similar problem with Allegiant Air once when they had outdated material about their inflight service.

So, see if you can figure out who controls the webpage...if it's not B6.

I totally agree that they need to have a interactive route map...kind of like Air Tran's route map.
 
LRGT
Posts: 675
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 12:29 pm

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 12:06 pm

Quoting OzarkD9S (Reply 4):
Yes, at this point they do need an interactive route map.

So many transcons it's nearly illegible.

I am sure it will be fixed any day now. AirTran and Frontier have both recently changed to interactive (finally).

ALSO...no one noticed a BIG change from a couple of weeks ago: BOSTON IS NOW LABELED AN OFFICIAL FOCUS CITY!!!  Smile

Now just imagine how hairy that non-interactive map would get when they add PHL  Wink
Don't bring up the NW DC9's unless you have to!
 
LH423
Posts: 5868
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 1999 6:27 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 12:46 pm

Yeah, I was just going to say. BOS has now been placed with JFK and LGB a focus city. Any chance that they'll open a BOS crew base?

LH423
« On ne voit bien qu'avec le cœur. L'essentiel est invisible pour les yeux » Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
 
LRGT
Posts: 675
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 12:29 pm

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 12:56 pm

Quoting LH423 (Reply 24):
Yeah, I was just going to say. BOS has now been placed with JFK and LGB a focus city. Any chance that they'll open a BOS crew base?

LH423

Possibly, but not guaranteed. FLL is a crew base but not a focus city, so it is not exactly homogeneous.
Don't bring up the NW DC9's unless you have to!
 
Delta777Jet
Posts: 1224
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2000 6:19 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 5:51 pm

Why isn`t B6 flying into Reno (RNO) ?????
B-717/722/737-200/300/400/500/600/700/800/900/B-747-100/200/400/SP/8i/B-752/3/B-762/3/4/B-772/LR/300ER/B-788/DC-10-10/30/L-1011-1/500/MD-81/82/83/90/A-319/320/321/AB6/312/313/332/333/342/343/346/359/388/TU154/IL-18/ATR-42/72/DH4/DH3/E145/E170/190/CR2/7/9
 
BOS2LAF
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 8:21 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Wed Mar 16, 2005 11:38 pm

The dots for BOS and JFK are poorly placed as well... The dot for BOS is somewhere in the middle of MA, not on the coast where it should be, and the dot for JFK looks like its in southern NJ.

Their graphics designer needs a geography lesson.  irked 
 
N200WN
Posts: 694
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 7:09 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Thu Mar 17, 2005 2:27 am

What other airlines have good interactive route maps? I know Southwest's is really good, as well as AirTran's and Frontier's. The only international interactive route map I've seen was Qantas.
 
richierich
Posts: 3282
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2000 5:49 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Thu Mar 17, 2005 2:42 am

Their graphics designer needs a geography lesson.

I'm guessing the geography is more based on where they can put the dots more than where the actual cities are. No one needs to be picky about the placement of the dots.... it is not an atlas, just a routemap.

I am in complete agreement that they need to do something with their route map. It may have been fine a couple of years ago but now it is congested and hard to interpret. I'm guessing they are working on it....
None shall pass!!!!
 
LH423
Posts: 5868
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 1999 6:27 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Thu Mar 17, 2005 2:46 am

Quoting BOS2LAF (Reply 27):
The dot for BOS is somewhere in the middle of MA,

I think he confused Boston with Albany, NY  Smile

LH423
« On ne voit bien qu'avec le cœur. L'essentiel est invisible pour les yeux » Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
 
exFATboy
Posts: 1887
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 11:15 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Thu Mar 17, 2005 2:49 am

Quoting Delta777Jet (Reply 26):
Why isn`t B6 flying into Reno (RNO) ?????

More profitable choices elsewhere. Reno is having serious problems with declining share of the gambling market - as casinos have sprung up elsewhere, most people willing to take a 4-5 hour flight are just going to Vegas, which has a lot more to offer in terms of nightlife, shows, etc. If they don't want the nightlife, they're more likely to go to someplace closer. Reno is having to reconsider its whole marketing strategy - here's an short article from USA Today on the challenges Reno faces.

Shame, really...when I lived in San Francisco, I used to go to Reno all the time. But now that I live in New York, I'd only fly to Reno if I was going on to Lake Tahoe.

JetBlue already gets a little of the market for Lake Tahoe - if you're going to South Lake Tahoe, it's not that much longer of a drive from SMF (about one hour longer.) If I was B6, I'd actually look into offering service to Lake Tahoe before Reno, tapping into the skiing and summer recreation market.
 
FA4B6
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:00 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Thu Mar 17, 2005 7:50 am

Quoting FA4B6 (Reply 12):
since when did F9 get an interactive route map?? link please!

anyone? anyone??  crazy 
"Leap! And the net will appear."
 
User avatar
ERJ170
Posts: 5466
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 11:15 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Thu Mar 17, 2005 8:36 am

On the opening page.. just hit.. on the left side near the bottom.. Where we fly.. and an interactive map pops up.. or rather, the route will highlight all the flights from that destiantion (most will be to DEN)..
Aiming High and going far..
 
FA4B6
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:00 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Thu Mar 17, 2005 10:47 am

well I be damned.

its about time! it looks great too!

 bigthumbsup   bigthumbsup   bigthumbsup 
"Leap! And the net will appear."
 
FA4B6
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:00 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Sun Mar 20, 2005 12:18 am

Quoting BOS2LAF (Reply 27):
The dots for BOS and JFK are poorly placed as well... The dot for BOS is somewhere in the middle of MA, not on the coast where it should be, and the dot for JFK looks like its in southern NJ.

AND .. LaGuardia techincally north and west of JFK, not directly south. But as Richierich put it, "I'm guessing the geography is more based on where they can put the dots more than where the actual cities are."
"Leap! And the net will appear."
 
flashmeister
Posts: 2671
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2000 4:32 am

RE: JetBlue Route Map Error (And Questions)

Sun Mar 20, 2005 12:29 am

For the record, Frontier's routemap has been interactive for well over a year, probably two, since their last redesign. Flash-based, ability to see or hide codeshares with Horizon and Great Lakes. The only thing you can't do is immediately book.