Murtagh1108
Topic Author
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 7:59 pm

Ryanair Operating A320's?

Fri Mar 25, 2005 7:09 pm

Hi All.

As per the Paris Beauvais Airport webiste, it is showing one of today's Ryanair flights to Dublin as an A320...

13:20 FR025 RYANAIR DUBLIN AIRBUS A320 180 seats

The previous flight FR023 was cancelled due to fog at BVA, so maybe they have got in an A320 from somewhere?

Anyone shed any light on this? Any of you guys be out in DUB @ 13.50 to see what actually arrives?!  Smile
Cheers,
Mike
 
planesarecool
Posts: 3208
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2001 12:37 am

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Fri Mar 25, 2005 7:13 pm

Probably the Monarch A320 that has been operating from Luton, according to the other thread thats somewhere around.

-Stephen
 
trident2e
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 3:38 am

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Fri Mar 25, 2005 7:19 pm

They've been using the Eirjet A320 on some MAN services recently.
 
ushermittwoch
Posts: 2530
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 10:18 pm

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Fri Mar 25, 2005 7:22 pm

Quoting Planesarecool (Reply 1):
Probably the Monarch A320 that has been operating from Luton

Could very well be the case, since the F/A on my VST-LTN flight said that they were in France before.
Where have all the tri-jets gone...
 
Murtagh1108
Topic Author
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 7:59 pm

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Fri Mar 25, 2005 7:35 pm

Thanks for the replies guys!!
Appreciated.
 
Pe@rson
Posts: 16001
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2001 6:29 pm

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Fri Mar 25, 2005 7:58 pm

FR currently have an aircraft shortage or a crew shortage or both.
"Everyone writing for the Telegraph knows that the way to grab eyeballs is with Ryanair and/or sex."
 
gkirk
Posts: 23345
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2000 3:29 am

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:06 pm

This is shocking! Poor Ryanair, don't they know it is much better for a LCC to concentrate on one a/c type? This is poor planning by Ryanair - shame on them!
 Wink
When you hear the noise of the Tartan Army Boys, we'll be coming down the road!
 
Pe@rson
Posts: 16001
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2001 6:29 pm

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:07 pm

Quoting Gkirk (Reply 6):
Poor Ryanair, don't they know it is much better for a LCC to concentrate on one a/c type?

Taking into consideration your theory, I'd be more concerned for U2, then.  Wink
"Everyone writing for the Telegraph knows that the way to grab eyeballs is with Ryanair and/or sex."
 
nudelhirsch
Posts: 1371
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:20 am

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:09 pm

Pilots are on strike, as they won't get any free coffee.
Or was that a different thread?

[Edited 2005-03-25 12:14:25]
Putana da Seatbeltz!
 
Pe@rson
Posts: 16001
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2001 6:29 pm

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:12 pm

Quoting Nudelhirsch (Reply 8):
Pilots are on strike, as they fon't get any free coffee.

LOL of course that's not the reason. It's either an aircraft or crew shortage. Quite common, you know.
"Everyone writing for the Telegraph knows that the way to grab eyeballs is with Ryanair and/or sex."
 
gkirk
Posts: 23345
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2000 3:29 am

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:12 pm

Pe@rson, ah, but Airbus are paying easyJet to operate there Scarebuses though, arent they?  Wink
When you hear the noise of the Tartan Army Boys, we'll be coming down the road!
 
nudelhirsch
Posts: 1371
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:20 am

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:13 pm

Pe@rson, sources say, it is a coffee related strike.
I can't reveil my sources though...
Putana da Seatbeltz!
 
Pe@rson
Posts: 16001
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2001 6:29 pm

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:18 pm

Quoting Nudelhirsch (Reply 11):
Pe@rson, sources say, it is a coffee related strike.quote]

I 100% disagree. Why? Because pilots (and other staff) aren't permitted to join unions.

Besides, people would only go on strike for no coffee in the USA.

Quoting Nudelhirsch (Reply 11):
I can't reveil my sources though...

Cos you don't have any.  Big grin
"Everyone writing for the Telegraph knows that the way to grab eyeballs is with Ryanair and/or sex."
 
nudelhirsch
Posts: 1371
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:20 am

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:19 pm

Pe@rson, I just started to enjoy a conversation with you, now that...come on...
You are rude to me... Wink
Putana da Seatbeltz!
 
Pe@rson
Posts: 16001
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2001 6:29 pm

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:20 pm

Quoting Nudelhirsch (Reply 13):
You are rude to me...

Good! Someone has to be.  Silly
"Everyone writing for the Telegraph knows that the way to grab eyeballs is with Ryanair and/or sex."
 
nudelhirsch
Posts: 1371
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:20 am

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:21 pm

Like MOL, not givin free coffee to his drivers...
Putana da Seatbeltz!
 
monteycarlos
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2005 5:16 pm

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Fri Mar 25, 2005 9:15 pm

Yeah I think since the coffee price went over US$80 a sack (or whatever coffee comes in these days) ryanair pilots have decided to take the liberty of costing the company a little bit more money by stealing an A320 and operating it on scheduled services!  tongue 

Is it confirmed where the aircraft is from yet? Doesn't a subsidiary of Ryanair (Ryan something-or-other) have an A320?
It's a beautiful night to fly like a phoenix...
 
Murtagh1108
Topic Author
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 7:59 pm

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Fri Mar 25, 2005 9:30 pm

I'm at work right now. Quick.......someone hop out to DUB for 13.50 and see what a/c it is  Wink
 
trident2e
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 3:38 am

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Fri Mar 25, 2005 10:04 pm

Quoting Pe@rson (Reply 12):
I 100% disagree. Why? Because pilots (and other staff) aren't permitted to join unions.

Since when did you have to be in a union to go on strike?
 
sevenair
Posts: 1486
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2001 7:18 am

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Fri Mar 25, 2005 10:33 pm

www.ryan-be-fair.org/ : ryanair must be trely awful to work for,
 
Pe@rson
Posts: 16001
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2001 6:29 pm

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Fri Mar 25, 2005 10:39 pm

The reason, for the fifth time, is due to either an aircraft or staff shortage or both. It is not at all due to anything else.
"Everyone writing for the Telegraph knows that the way to grab eyeballs is with Ryanair and/or sex."
 
syncmaster
Posts: 1926
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 9:55 am

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Sat Mar 26, 2005 6:49 am

Quoting Monteycarlos (Reply 16):
Doesn't a subsidiary of Ryanair (Ryan something-or-other) have an A320?

Ryan Intl operates A320 as well as various other aircraft, they are based in Wichita, Kansas and they are NOT affliated with Ryanair.

Link: http://www.flyryan.com/
 
SWISSER
Posts: 1568
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 11:31 am

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Sat Mar 26, 2005 7:59 am

Quoting Pe@rson (Reply 20):
The reason, for the fifth time, is due to either an aircraft or staff shortage or both. It is not at all due to anything else.

yep a quick wetlease I suppose!
What time is top of descent?
 
monteycarlos
Posts: 2018
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2005 5:16 pm

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Sat Mar 26, 2005 8:27 am

Quoting Syncmaster (Reply 21):
Ryan Intl operates A320 as well as various other aircraft, they are based in Wichita, Kansas and they are NOT affliated with Ryanair.

That was the one I was thinking of. I guess I just drew the link that wasn't there!

Quoting Pe@rson (Reply 20):
The reason, for the fifth time, is due to either an aircraft or staff shortage or both. It is not at all due to anything else.

Are you sure its not the coffee?
It's a beautiful night to fly like a phoenix...
 
Pe@rson
Posts: 16001
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2001 6:29 pm

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Sat Mar 26, 2005 8:29 am

Quoting Monteycarlos (Reply 23):
Are you sure its not the coffee?

Haha!  Wink  Wink Must be that Australian wit we're all familar with.  Silly
"Everyone writing for the Telegraph knows that the way to grab eyeballs is with Ryanair and/or sex."
 
aerlingus330
Posts: 812
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 2:21 am

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Sat Mar 26, 2005 11:10 am

Hey, would the aircraft shortage be down to them retiring their 737-200s and they do not have enough 737-800 to take their place yet?

AerLingus330
Aer Lingus Airbus A330-300
 
aer lingus
Posts: 367
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 6:40 pm

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Sat Mar 26, 2005 5:42 pm

They got more Boeing 737-800s recently. I don't really know whats the story about the Eirjet. I seen the Eirjet a couple of times at DUB. The Eirjet website contains no information at all www.eirjet.com. They might be a aircraft leasing company or maybe a new airline not really sure about that. There would be a possibility that Ryanair would lease a a/c for a short term.
Split Scimitar or Sharklets?
 
airblue
Posts: 1785
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 9:16 pm

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Sat Mar 26, 2005 10:37 pm

The reason why FR wet leased 3 planes during the last two week and for the upcoming one is because due to the high demand for the Easter time they have added many frequencies on all the network.

At the moment the planes leased are:

1 A320 Eirjet based in DUB
1 A320 Monarch based in LTN
1 B738 Excel based in STN (only Tu-We-Th)

The Excel B738 flies always this rotation:

STN-PMO-STN-NYO-STN-BGY-STN

The Monarch A320 flies always this rotation:

LTN-VTS-LTN-DUB-LTN-DNR-LTN-VTS-LTN

The Eirjet A320 mainly flies this rotation:

DUB-CRL-DUB-BVA-DUB-CRL-DUB-CRL-DB
(but it could beused also on some DUB-UK routes on some days)
 
airblue
Posts: 1785
Joined: Sat May 19, 2001 9:16 pm

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Sat Mar 26, 2005 10:41 pm

I forgot to mention last tuesday I was on board of a FR flight operated by Excel G-XLAA and they mention very well in the welcome PA "FR apologies to be forced to use a different operator for today flight".
 
A340600
Posts: 3892
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2003 10:24 pm

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Sat Mar 26, 2005 11:38 pm

Quoting Airblue (Reply 28):
"FR apologies to be forced to use a different operator for today flight".

More like "FR apologies to be forced to use a different operator for today flight because we are a rubbish airline. We hope that you enjoy this leather trim more than our rather trashy interior".

FR's eyes too big for its tummy then,

Sam
Despite the name I am a Boeing man through and through!
 
User avatar
solnabo
Posts: 5006
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:53 am

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Sat Mar 26, 2005 11:38 pm

Would be fab is Ryanair got both Boring 738 and Airbus(ter)320 in the fleet!

Micke//SE  cloudnine 
Airbus SAS - Love them both
 
gkirk
Posts: 23345
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2000 3:29 am

RE: Ryanair Operating A320's?

Sat Mar 26, 2005 11:46 pm

Quoting Solnabo (Reply 30):
Would be fab is Ryanair got both Boring 738 and Airbus(ter)320 in the fleet!

Nah, I doubt very much that FR would want the Scarebus in their fleet  Wink The 737 is a much better a/c for them  Smile
When you hear the noise of the Tartan Army Boys, we'll be coming down the road!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 910A, brandnsn, DeltaRules, flyinryan99, Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], JerseyMike, jetmatt777, n0ct, notconcerned, PhoenixVIP, poolkeeper, qf789, samzkvh, SelandiaBaru, smi0006, Tokushima, transit, USAirKid, Yahoo [Bot], YXwatcherMKE and 280 guests