ORD2PHL
Topic Author
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 9:15 am

Connecting At AMS - UA To OS

Sun Apr 03, 2005 1:11 pm

Okay here goes, in order to secure a J class seat using MP miles on UA I have quite the interesting routing going from PHL to VIE this summer and having never been through AMS before or knowing how connections/immigrations work at this facility, I'd like to go know what I'm getting myself into before I take to the skies in July.

Here is my routing:

UAX: PHL-IAD
UA: IAD-AMS
OS: AMS-VIE

Obviously I'll be able to check my bags through to at least AMS on UA but what happens then, will they be able to check me all the way through to VIE and will I be able to connect without going through immigration in AMS (similar to Heathrow's Flight Connection Centre)?

Also, as I am a Premier Executive and a RCC member, are there Star Alliance Gold lounges or otherwise there?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

ORD2PHL
 
ACDC8
Posts: 7205
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:56 pm

RE: Connecting At AMS - UA To OS

Sun Apr 03, 2005 1:17 pm

Your bags should be checked in all the way to VIE. After you get off the UA flight from IAD (usually arrives pier G) just follow the signs to pier D and C, that's where OS usually departs from. You just have to go through a passport control between piers E and D, no extra security, just a control so it shouldn't take more then 5 minutes.

cheers,
Patrick
A Grumpy German Is A Sauerkraut
 
IFLYMCO
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2003 5:17 am

RE: Connecting At AMS - UA To OS

Sun Apr 03, 2005 1:34 pm

From personal experience I can tell you that Passport Control at AMS is no big deal at all. I hold an American passport and I breezed through in less than 5 minutes (all my family has done the same). I have a residence permit here now so it is even easier.

Also, when I entered the country there wasn't anybody at the Customs desk, people were just walking straight in. So my advice, don't worry and have a good trip!
Now it should be "IFLYDCA"
 
AA B777-200
Posts: 404
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2001 5:15 pm

RE: Connecting At AMS - UA To OS

Sun Apr 03, 2005 5:02 pm

Just a few tips....

I think OS flights leave from the B-concourse. Read : 20 minute walk, arriving from G!

When leaving the non-Schengen section and entering the Schengen area (incl. B), you'll have a passport check, which is quick. BUT! After passport control there's a security check, so if you see it's busy make sure you go through (another 10 minutes walking to your gate) at once and look for OS' lounge AFTER that checkpoint. The lounges are in the upper level.

If you have the same routing back, don't forget that you'll have to clear customs at Dulles, first point of entry in the US.

Have fun!
 
ACDC8
Posts: 7205
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:56 pm

RE: Connecting At AMS - UA To OS

Sun Apr 03, 2005 5:41 pm

Quoting AA B777-200 (Reply 3):
After passport control there's a security check,

Since when did they put up a security check there?
A Grumpy German Is A Sauerkraut
 
wukka
Posts: 884
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 1:08 pm

RE: Connecting At AMS - UA To OS

Sun Apr 03, 2005 6:15 pm

Quoting ACDC8 (Reply 4):
Since when did they put up a security check there?

I don't think that there's a permanent checkpoint... moreso a "what were you doing here, and what did you do while you were here" at the gate.

If that's not what you were referring to, then please accept my apologies.  Smile
We can agree to disagree.
 
ACDC8
Posts: 7205
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:56 pm

RE: Connecting At AMS - UA To OS

Sun Apr 03, 2005 6:21 pm

I remember years and years ago they used to have a security check right at the gate, they still have the equipment at some gates there but I haven't seen it in use since the '90s. I've also seen some metal detectors at the passport control (between gates D & E) but I've never seen them in use, and I've gone through there at least 30 times in the last 10 years.

I haven't been there since summer so maybe thats changed. I guess I'll find out in a few weeks myself since I'll be passing through.

cheers

P.S.: AA777-200 is right, OS usually leaves from pier B.

[Edited 2005-04-03 11:26:19]
A Grumpy German Is A Sauerkraut
 
Mdutch
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 12:47 pm

RE: Connecting At AMS - UA To OS

Sun Apr 03, 2005 6:52 pm

There is a security checkpoint just after passport control before going to gates B & C. During rush hours the lines can be quite long. This Checkpoint has been in place for a few months now.
 
ACDC8
Posts: 7205
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:56 pm

RE: Connecting At AMS - UA To OS

Sun Apr 03, 2005 6:55 pm

Quoting Mdutch (Reply 7):
There is a security checkpoint just after passport control before going to gates B & C

So there is one there now, cool! Is it the same if you're going from pier B & C to gates E - G?
A Grumpy German Is A Sauerkraut
 
qm001
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 2:25 am

RE: Connecting At AMS - UA To OS

Sun Apr 03, 2005 7:33 pm

ORD2PHL,

You will have no issue checking your bags all the way thru to VIE. There is a Star Alliance lounge on the Schengen and non-Schengen side, would suggest that you use the one on the Schengen side, as the Immigration lines can be quite long, in the last two weeks alone i have mised two 55 Minurte connections due to these LOOOOONG queues between Schengen and non Schengen. Sometimes I actually wonder if wouldn't be quicker to head to the downstairs Immigration, through the baggage claim, go upstairs and thru security checkpoint and into the Schengen area. I haven't tried that yet, but next time there is a line, I will.

Mdutch, As of last week there was still no security between the Schengen and Non-Schengen side. I have personally never seen this check point, is it only operational during certain times or flights?

I know that for some UK flights there is an extra check point at the gates themselves, but again, this is not always the case. I would like to get more info on this check point.

Kind regards,

QM001 (Air Malawi)
I wish there was still a flying boat service on the African Lakes!
 
LJ
Posts: 4127
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 1999 8:28 pm

RE: Connecting At AMS - UA To OS

Sun Apr 03, 2005 10:57 pm

Quoting ACDC8 (Reply 6):
I remember years and years ago they used to have a security check right at the gate, they still have the equipment at some gates there but I haven't seen it in use since the '90s.

These facilities are used for pax arriving from countries where the airport/dutch government considers the security check performed on departure not up to standard. As these people enter a "clean area" an additional security check takes place upon arrival to be sure the people are "clean".
 
ACDC8
Posts: 7205
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:56 pm

RE: Connecting At AMS - UA To OS

Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:23 am

Quoting LJ (Reply 10):
an additional security check takes place upon arrival to be sure the people are "clean".

Thats cool, I've never seen that!  Smile
I remember having to go through them for departure, but that was back in the 90s.
A Grumpy German Is A Sauerkraut