bkkair

TG To Lose Big $$$$ On NYC Route For First 3 Years

Tue Apr 19, 2005 12:16 pm

According to the article in the Bangkok Post, TG won't make money on the non-stop from BKK-NYC until 2009. (service starts 1 May 05, 6x weekly using an A340-500)

They are expected to trim the loss to US$115,000,000 by the 2nd year of service. Yes, a loss of US$115,000,000 per year on one route flying 6 days a week! This is an incredible investment and I just don't see TG continuing the route with these enormous losses.

Are TG crazy? The article also says that TG will evaluate the route after 3 months. Then what, drop it?

Only 200,000 people a year travel between Thailand and the US and the numbers are decreasing each year, according to the article.

http://www.bangkokpost.com/News/18Apr2005_news02.php (registration required)

schipholjfk

RE: TG To Lose Big $$$$ On NYC Route For First 3 Years

Tue Apr 19, 2005 12:23 pm

So why is TG then starting this service? As a NYC resident I really didn't see any need for direct service to BKK. $115 million seems a bit excessive if the numbers are true. So what are TG's rationale for initiating this flight?
The fun of flying... love it !!!

MAH4546

Tue Apr 19, 2005 12:27 pm

Quoting Bkkair (Thread starter):
They are expected to trim the loss to US$115,000,000 by the 2nd year of service. Yes, a loss of US$115,000,000 per year on one route flying 6 days a week! This is an incredible investment and I just don't see TG continuing the route with these enormous losses.

That number is, simply put, incorrect. It doesn't even cost $115,000,000 to operate the flight annually. What the writer probably mean was $.437 billion bhat (or 43.7 million).
a.

planemannyc

Tue Apr 19, 2005 1:46 pm