airbusfanyyz
Posts: 1410
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 1:01 am

YYZ T1 Pier F?

Sat May 07, 2005 10:45 pm

Question for those in the know at GTAA.
I noticed that the "hammerhead" portion of the new Pier F (currently under construction) appears to have six (6) double height gate structures.

I am going to assume that they are for handling the 380, but doesn't the number seem a bit excessive when airports like LHR will have only 4?
Other than EK and BA (if they order them) I can't fathom anyone else bringing in a 380 into YYZ.
Mind you I would love to see 6 380s at Pearson! Big grin

Cheers,
Kaz
 
EnviroTO
Posts: 723
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 12:11 pm

RE: YYZ T1 Pier F?

Sun May 08, 2005 2:24 am

It is a new terminal which will be around for at least 50 years. Who knows what will be needed? They probably would have only created one or two gates if they had been simply upgrading an existing terminal to handle the A380.
 
imatams
Posts: 312
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 8:42 pm

RE: YYZ T1 Pier F?

Sun May 08, 2005 6:16 am

And don't forget that double bridges can be very handy for speeding up boarding on other widebodies, like the 747 or even 777, assuming that these bridges are of the same kind that we have in AMS, where the higher one is over the wing and can attach to a rear door..

IM
 
airbusfanyyz
Posts: 1410
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 1:01 am

RE: YYZ T1 Pier F?

Sun May 08, 2005 7:07 pm

IMatAMS,

No not like the ones at Schipol, these are double height gates.

Cheers,
Kaz
 
imatams
Posts: 312
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 8:42 pm

RE: YYZ T1 Pier F?

Sun May 08, 2005 10:22 pm

So two bridges straight on top of each other... That WOULD be a 380-only config...Although I presume that, if there's not enough 380 demand, they'll be able to use them on other types, not using the upper bridge, right? Otherwise it'll be a massive waste of capacity for years to come..

IM
 
lnglive1011yyz
Posts: 1502
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2003 12:23 pm

RE: YYZ T1 Pier F?

Mon May 09, 2005 2:45 am

Kaz:

I think everyone tends to think of "today" versus, the future.

Who knows what BA might to in the future with regards to their long-haul fleet. Or, AF.

At least the GTAA isn't thinking along the same lines that the Gov't did back in the 50's when they built T1-old. IT was almost out-dated the day it opened hahaha.

BTW, Kaz, some GREAT shots recently -- hope to see you and some of the others out there over the next couple weeks.

Mike (aka, 1011yyz)
Pack your bags, we're going on a sympathy trip!
 
EnviroTO
Posts: 723
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 12:11 pm

RE: YYZ T1 Pier F?

Mon May 09, 2005 3:45 am

Perhaps a second deck gate could be angled over the wing to serve a back door on a 747, 777, or A340
 
yow
Posts: 2125
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2001 2:47 pm

RE: YYZ T1 Pier F?

Mon May 09, 2005 5:14 am

Quoting Lnglive1011yyz (Reply 5):
At least the GTAA isn't thinking along the same lines that the Gov't did back in the 50's when they built T1-old. IT was almost out-dated the day it opened hahaha.

The feds did that to pretty much every terminal they built (except maybe YYZ's T2), until they got out of the aiport biz in the 90s.

I would hope the GTAA is not wasting more money for the second bridge on these 6 gates so that they're solely A380-compatible. You would have to think the upper-level bridge can be lowered enough to reach the L1 or L2 door on other single-level widebodies, or at the very least the upper deck door of a 747.
 
EnviroTO
Posts: 723
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 12:11 pm

RE: YYZ T1 Pier F?

Mon May 09, 2005 5:45 am

The 6 piers aren't two levels solely for the purpose of A380s. I am pretty sure the upper level exists also to separate the customs arrivals (upper level) from the boarding lounge (lower level).
 
Olympus69
Posts: 1571
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2002 11:21 pm

RE: YYZ T1 Pier F?

Mon May 09, 2005 10:32 am

I was going to suggest the same thing - only the other way round. Arrivals on the lower level, departures on the upper. At least that's the way it is when you first arrive at terminal 1 - either to fly somewhere or to meet someone arriving by plane.
 
slawko
Posts: 3742
Joined: Tue May 25, 1999 7:40 am

RE: YYZ T1 Pier F?

Mon May 09, 2005 10:44 am

Arrivals go up above Departures at T1 New...
"Clive Beddoe says he favours competition, but his actions do not support that idea." Robert Milton - CEO Air Canada
 
User avatar
c172akula
Posts: 821
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2001 1:53 pm

RE: YYZ T1 Pier F?

Mon May 09, 2005 11:30 am

I just flew through YYZ today on my way back to YYC and was going to post this exact question. This was also my first experience with the new terminal and I must say it was very enjoyable!
 
EnviroTO
Posts: 723
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 12:11 pm

RE: YYZ T1 Pier F?

Mon May 09, 2005 11:39 am

The roadway levels do not match the post-screening (pier) levels. On the roadways the upper level is departures, the middle level is arrivals, and the lower level is ground transportation. In the piers (beyond security) the levels flip and the middle level is the departure lounges, the upper level is arrivals, and the lower level that isn't accessible to the public is for baggage and such.
 
CanadaEH
Posts: 1331
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2003 5:53 am

RE: YYZ T1 Pier F?

Mon May 09, 2005 2:04 pm

I walked around T1 a few weeks ago.

First impression: WOW. What a big terminal! I got the same feeling that a lot of poeple have expressed, however, and that being that it felt very sterile. There is no need for such an open check-in area, it felt way too big.
EH.
 
EnviroTO
Posts: 723
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 12:11 pm

RE: YYZ T1 Pier F?

Mon May 09, 2005 2:23 pm

It is hard to judge whether or not the scale of the check-in area is waranted yet because it is only being used for something like a third of its intended capacity. Once Pier F and Pier G are connected to the check-in area it might be a little more crowded. It could use more colour though... perhaps they should hang something colourful over the check-in area to liven things up. Even hanging the flags of the world in there would really liven it up. I would imagine that the main hall (post screening) in AA's Chicago terminal would look fairly sterile too if they didn't have the flags or other decorations in there.
 
Olympus69
Posts: 1571
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2002 11:21 pm

RE: YYZ T1 Pier F?

Mon May 09, 2005 11:36 pm

Quoting Slawko (Reply 10):
Arrivals go up above Departures at T1 New...

I should have remembered that from the trials before T1 opened. For arriving passengers the transition comes when you go down to the baggage area. Departing passengers go down after security.
 
YYZatcboy
Posts: 1001
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 2:15 am

RE: YYZ T1 Pier F?

Tue May 10, 2005 1:40 am

I can't wait for the new terminal to be operational.(100% that is) It looks great and it is nice to see so much of the airfield from it. Gotta love those huge windows!!

Joe
DHC1/3/4 MD11/88 L1011 A319/20/21/30 B727 735/6/7/8/9 762/3 E175/90 CRJ/700/705 CC150. J/S DH8D 736/7/8
 
36r
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2001 10:46 pm

RE: YYZ T1 Pier F?

Tue May 10, 2005 1:50 am

I guess this would explain the need for the second highest landing fees in the world!  dollarsign 
 
EnviroTO
Posts: 723
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 12:11 pm

RE: YYZ T1 Pier F?

Tue May 10, 2005 2:54 am

^ That and paying rent to an absentee landlord that provides no leasehold improvements whatsoever.
 
Rattibone
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2003 6:51 am

RE: YYZ T1 Pier F?

Tue May 10, 2005 3:12 am

Back to the question in mind only 1 gate at Pier F is going to be able to handle the A380. I know this because I saw the drawings with the gate mixes.
 
YOWguy
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 3:06 am

RE: YYZ T1 Pier F?

Tue May 10, 2005 4:03 am

I am like most ....can't wait for T1 to be fully operational.

Went to the LHR last year via AC , just after T1 opened. Thought I would be waiting in the new lounges and the large array of duty free shops.  bouncy 

Only to find out when I got there, to be shipped by a shuttle bus , to the mid field terminal, and only a handfull of shops.  frown 
 
JAGflyer
Posts: 3453
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 5:31 am

RE: YYZ T1 Pier F?

Tue May 10, 2005 5:55 am

YUL's aeroquay is very old (my dad flew out of there in the 70s on DC8s) and the jetways there now have about 5-6 steps which you must climb to get in/out of the jetway itself. I assume this was because those gates were meant for lower planes of the 70s/80s and now the planes are higher meaning the original jetways would not be able to accomedate them.
Support the beer and soda can industry, your recycle old airplanes!