vs773er

How Airlines Lose Money?

Thu Jul 07, 2005 5:16 pm

One thing that really intrigues me abut aircraft. Does the sheer size and complexities of an engine really allow uncompromising accuracy on efficiency?

In a totally guestimated, over-generalised form, I kind of worked out (albeit, no doubt missing out on a few scheduled maintenance periods!) That if, say, one power plant on one aircraft, say a UA/BA/AA 777 running JFK to LHR, was burning just £1 per mile too much fuel, over a year period - could this really cost the company £1,300,000? (As I say, naively based on:- 3000miles per trip, 2 trips per day, 5 operating days a week, 4 weeks a month, 11 months a year. Allowing more than enough for maintenance and checks.)

Do power plants of this size really run that efficiently? What about a 4 pod a/c - the inefficiency costs would be crazy!?

Maybe this helps understand why some larger airlines struggle!!!

VS773

P.S I am not an expert so please refrain from insults!
Communicating. Keeping up foreign relations...

Aloha717200

RE: How Airlines Lose Money?

Thu Jul 07, 2005 5:33 pm

I think you would find more help in getting your question answered by posting this in Tech/Ops.

Lots of knowledgable people over there that could probably give you more knowledge than I could!

UAalltheway

Thu Jul 07, 2005 5:39 pm

No offence intended whatsoever, but I think that if this was as big as a problem as you make it i think they most likely would've figured that out right now. Not sure though, maybe we can get some expert input on this. I'm very impressed with your research though.  Smile

uadc8contrail

Thu Jul 07, 2005 5:44 pm