FLYiCRJ
Topic Author

Spotting At EWR.....Impossible!

Wed Aug 03, 2005 12:52 pm

Ive been photographing aircraft at EWR for 4 years now, unfortuantly none of my photos passed the A.net screening tests. However, every time I go to shoot pictures at EWR I get kicked out and warned. The other day I recieved a police report in the mail about my "suspicious activities". I go to the Ikea parking lot and get kicked out...go into their glass cafeteria (great view of 4L and 4R arrivals and departures) and get kicked out...I pull of on the bridge before 4L and 4R and get chased away...I pull into parking lots just before the 22 runways and get chased away.....I pull over on the turnpike and 5 squad cars pull up...now if i really need help or it was an emergency, I would be sitting their all night without anyone coming. I know they are on high alert with terrorism and homeland security, and I appreciate the fact that people are watching around the airports, but I am a 17 yr old aviation enthusiast, and when I go to the airport I have a camera in my hands..not a RPG or a anti-aircraft gun. So can any of you EWR spotters give me some good places to spot without running into trouble with law enforcement.

MaverickM11

Wed Aug 03, 2005 1:14 pm

Unfortunately it's the government, and they're all mentally retarded and immune to reason so no matter what you're screwed.
E pur si muove -Galileo

FLYiCRJ
Topic Author

Wed Aug 03, 2005 1:28 pm

Yea...thats what i pretty much figured...me and my friend now take bets on how long it would be before we get caught...so far the record high is 8 mins in the long-term parking lot.

COEWRNJ

Wed Aug 03, 2005 4:27 pm

FLYiCRJ,
I totally feel for you. Every time I try to spot over at the IKEA I get chased away. I've had them take down the information from my DL as well as my license plate number. Nothing ever came of it but they are real ass holes. It's the world we live in.. I just keep trying and some times I luck out and other times I don't.