User avatar
ER757
Topic Author
Posts: 2426
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 10:16 am

Gate Change - How Much Time Needed?

Sun Aug 21, 2005 4:38 am

The following is a recent experience I had and it brings me to the question in the thread title. Just so this doesn't sound like I am bashing an airline (I'm not - just curious for the info), I will not name the airline or airport where this occurred.

Our inbound flight to airline's hub arrived 20 minutes ahead of schedule. Aircraft type was 737. We were directed to the penalty box and the pilot came over the PA to inform us that our gate was still occupied but that the flight was to depart "in a few minutes." While we were sitting on the tarmac, I observed three 737's push back and depart leaving empty gates, but alas none of them was "our" gate. After 30 minutes on the ground (we are now 10 minutes late) the pilot, obviously annoyed, came on the PA again and apologized for the delay, gave us the airline's website address and CEO's name suggesting we all write letters of complaint. Finally, 50 minutes after our arrival (30 minutes late) we were able to pull into our gate. While I was not inconvenienced in any way (I had only a carry-on bag and plenty of time for my connection), I fear some folks, or at least their luggage did not make their connections. So what I am wondering is whether it would have been feasible to have a gate change made allowing us to use a gate which one of the earlier 737's vacated. Or could we have at least de-planed at one of those vacated gates and then had the empty aircraft towed to it's original gate for it's next leg? As I am not an airline employee and do not know all the logistics involved, I am just curious if either of these options was viable.
 
Venezuela747
Posts: 1374
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2004 9:36 am

RE: Gate Change - How Much Time Needed?

Sun Aug 21, 2005 7:59 am

Not too sue but in't there paperwork that needs to be filed when an aircraft arrives at a gate..also, if anothe gate was open perhaps that gate was ready to receive another aircraft so the luggage that were goin on that flight and the people were all ready, I am not sure how much it would cost or take the airline to switch gates
ROLL TIDE!!!
 
richardw
Posts: 3131
Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 3:17 am

RE: Gate Change - How Much Time Needed?

Sun Aug 21, 2005 8:02 am

I flew LHR-JFK-MIA and we had this problem at JFK and MIA! Unbelievable and incredibly annoying.
 
planesailing
Posts: 563
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 4:57 am

RE: Gate Change - How Much Time Needed?

Sun Aug 21, 2005 8:05 am

Had the same problem at LHR back in June, though not to the extend you suffered.

I am not sure, but I was lead to believe that certain airlines "own" the gates that their flights go to, and therefore the use of other gates is not possible.
 
User avatar
ER757
Topic Author
Posts: 2426
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 10:16 am

RE: Gate Change - How Much Time Needed?

Sun Aug 21, 2005 10:04 am

Quoting Planesailing (Reply 3):
I am not sure, but I was lead to believe that certain airlines "own" the gates that their flights go to, and therefore the use of other gates is not possible.

In this particular case all the gates in the concourse belonged to the same airline - it was at one of their major hubs.
 
User avatar
iahcsr
Posts: 3572
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 1999 2:59 pm

RE: Gate Change - How Much Time Needed?

Sun Aug 21, 2005 10:10 am

At IAH, CO's Gate Manager system will normally spot and try to resolve this sort of problem out before the plane lands. If not, then 'On the ground' gate changes can and will happen with out much difficulty.
Working very hard to Fly Right....
 
CO757bos2iah
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 1:37 am

RE: Gate Change - How Much Time Needed?

Sun Aug 21, 2005 10:14 am

Here at IAH Terminal D does not " belong " to CO but rather the city of Houston. The only and primary carriers that use D now are BA,PIA, AM,LH,KLM, World Airways and a few other chartesrs.A good example of this type of thing happening was this past week. We had bad weather come through. Well with the open of Term E we have no equipment, staff or anything there ( In Term D ). With flights arriving and hitting the ground we had to "stick" flights in D, then pull staff from C, round up the ground equipment and download flights in D which unfortunately takes time.

Other than bad weather or Irregular Ops we don't use D at all.
Continental Airlines. We span the globe,because the world is your workplace.
 
smcmac32msn
Posts: 1661
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 9:25 am

RE: Gate Change - How Much Time Needed?

Sun Aug 21, 2005 10:14 am

Quoting ER757 (Reply 4):
In this particular case all the gates in the concourse belonged to the same airline - it was at one of their major hubs.

Sounds like ORD, except your flight got in on time...... no less early!!! Can't be there.  bigthumbsup 
Hey Obama, keep the change! I want my dollar back.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 817Dreamliiner, Brit312, CrimsonNL, ek17, Google Adsense [Bot], hOMSaR, KarelXWB, Mani87, OO-VEG, outbackair, PhilInBRN, speedbored, SPEEDJACK, steve6666, VFRonTop, washingtonflyer, Yahoo [Bot] and 270 guests