jeckPDX

New JetBlue Route: IAD-PDX?

Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:09 pm

I am a intern for JetBlue @ PDX. I hear from mgmt that there is a strong possibility that IAD-PDX could be one of he next JetBlue routes launched. From what I've told it will increase a/c utilization @ IAD where a plane is parked overnight that coul do a red-eye IAD-PDX. It will run @ similar times as the red-eyes from PDX/SEA-JFK.

From what I've heard this is being strongly considered by mgmt in NY, and is close to being announced formally. It will also be interesting to see how UA reacts to this as they are the only other carrier serving PDX-IAD non-stop, albeit with more frequency and far better departure and arrival times. It will definitely cause them to lower fares to compete, as JetBlue has a great name recognition for their innovative in flight service and entertainment. Some travelers might be willing to put up with the lousy slot times to fly JetBlue, if this route comes to fruition.

This is not the first time I've heard it mentioned and I seem to be hearing about it more frequently. I hope to hear an official announcement soon!

Cheers to JetBlue and their prosperity.

JeckPDX
"Beer is proof that God Loves us and wanted People to be Happy" - Ben Franklin

FA4B6

RE: New JetBlue Route: IAD-PDX?

Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:28 pm

seems logical. PDX would mirror SMF with a redeye to JFK and IAD.

Is the market there though? I would hope the idle plane would be used on a second IAD-SAN
"Leap! And the net will appear."

S12PPL

Tue Sep 20, 2005 3:09 pm

I would think so. Business travel on that route is probably strong. Plus the huge tourist market. Seems like a great idea!

Speaking of JetBlue at PDX, how are JFK loads??
Next Flights: 12/31 AS804 PDX-MCO 2/3 AS19 MCO-SEA QX2545 SEA-PDX

flashmeister

Tue Sep 20, 2005 6:51 pm