redflyer

WN In Denver According To A WSJ Article

Tue Nov 29, 2005 11:56 pm

You need a subscription to view the entire article:

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB1133...85608660.html?mod=home_page_one_us

Some highlights that I found interesting:

But Southwest's days as an industry upstart may be drawing to a close. When it began flying in 1971, it terrorized established carriers with rock-bottom fares made possible by no-frills service and shrewd use of secondary airports. But hard times are driving big changes in the industry. With other airlines slashing costs both inside and outside of bankruptcy court, Southwest is losing its industry lock on low fares.

I've been hearing about WN's decline for over 17 years now since I started following the carrier's rise. This is the first time I've read about it in a reputable publication.

And the fuel-hedge mantra continues....

One of Southwest's main cost advantages over other airlines is likely to melt away over the next few years. When oil prices were low, Southwest shrewdly executed extensive fuel hedges to lock in low prices. For the past 18 months, the benefits have been huge, but they will shrink steadily over the next five years. If oil prices remain high, Southwest won't be able to negotiate new hedges at attractive prices, bringing its fuel costs more in line with other airlines.

But this is interesting...

Frontier and United already have matched the low fares Southwest announced for its flights between Denver and Phoenix, Las Vegas and Chicago, which are scheduled to begin on Jan. 3. With comparable fares, passengers will be choosing between no-frills Southwest and two airlines that unlike Southwest offer assigned seating and premium features such as first-class sections, more legroom and in-flight entertainment.

And people claim there is no such thing as a "Southwest Affect". Nice how Frontier and United have decided (for now) to stop gouging Denver passengers since Southwest is coming to town.