stl1326
Posts: 392
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 12:07 pm

AA Connection (props) Move At Lambert?

Sat Jan 07, 2006 12:37 pm

There was a article a while back reporting that AA was vacating the B gates and consolidating all operations in the C concourse. The new agreement took place after Dec. 31, as far as I know. What I was wondering is if the props have moved to the C concourse, what gates they use and how they board and unboard passengers (by gate or stairs?)? Any rumors going around the airport as far as new service and upgrades to the airport? What does everybody think of the new director at Lambert?
 
LambertMan
Posts: 1696
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2003 1:26 pm

RE: AA Connection (props) Move At Lambert?

Sat Jan 07, 2006 1:19 pm

I flew thru on Wednesday and the change hadn't happened yet. No indication of it happening, either. The concourse was pretty busy and looks somewhat respectable instead of the normal third-world airport we have become accustomed to. The additions of the restaurants, plus the flat screen gate monitors really help.

stlgph probably knows more about the situation than I do, he'll probably reply to this anyway.

As far as the AD, so far so good.
 
stl1326
Posts: 392
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 12:07 pm

RE: AA Connection (props) Move At Lambert?

Sat Jan 07, 2006 2:54 pm

Quoting LambertMan (Reply 1):
The additions of the restaurants, plus the flat screen gate monitors really help.

When did they add the flat screen monitors? I remember you talking about them, hoping they would install them in the C concourse. Are they install in every gate area or just scattered throughout the concourse? What about the rest of the airport are they installed in the A as well? That would really help spruce things up in there.
 
stlgph
Posts: 9059
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 4:19 pm

RE: AA Connection (props) Move At Lambert?

Sat Jan 07, 2006 4:53 pm

Quoting LambertMan (Reply 1):
stlgph probably knows more about the situation than I do, he'll probably reply to this anyway.

I talked to someone who works with the airport tonight actually and I asked this question. They had no idea what I was speaking of. But, with a little prying I can dig up someone who works at Trans States. He's a ramper for them, but maybe he'll know something.
if assumptions could fly, airliners.net would be the world's busiest airport
 
KarlB737
Posts: 2635
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 9:51 pm

RE: AA Connection (props) Move At Lambert?

Sun Jan 08, 2006 1:49 am

Courtesy: St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Chautauqua Airlines Cuts 222 At Lambert

http://www.stltoday.com/stltoday/bus...3ED0C862570EF0015D1B6?OpenDocument
 
isitsafenow
Posts: 3413
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 9:22 am

RE: AA Connection (props) Move At Lambert?

Sun Jan 08, 2006 2:00 am

I flew into STL Thurs and out Fri on Comar/ASA. That place looks like a ghost town after the big regress of AA. I saw three MD 80's, one 757(all AA), four SW 737's and kick in NW DC 9 and that was it for bigger planes. The other 12 to 15 planes on the deck were RJ's with four carriers, mostly AA Connect.
safe
If two people agree on EVERYTHING, then one isn't necessary.
 
Boeing Nut
Posts: 5078
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2001 2:42 am

RE: AA Connection (props) Move At Lambert?

Sun Jan 08, 2006 3:07 am

Here's what I have heard. It's a bit of a popuri of info too. Trans States will start to use gates C1, 3 and 5 on January 22nd in relation to the article that KarlB737 posted. The prop aircraft will eventually start operations out of C31 after some customs construction is completed in the East Terminal. C customs will be used in the mean time until this project is completed hence the reason Trans States can't move in now. Trans States hopes to be completely moved out of Concourse B sometime after spring.

You know what I know.

Regards
I'm not a real aeronautical engineer, I just play one on Airliners.net.
 
777STL
Posts: 2770
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 8:22 am

RE: AA Connection (props) Move At Lambert?

Sun Jan 08, 2006 3:24 am

Quoting LambertMan (Reply 1):
plus the flat screen gate monitors really help.

Where at? I spent a fair bit of time in C concourse recently and I didn't see them.
PHX based
 
BHMNONREV
Posts: 1209
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 9:17 am

RE: AA Connection (props) Move At Lambert?

Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:10 am

Quoting Boeing Nut (Reply 6):
C customs will be used in the mean time until this project is completed hence the reason Trans States can't move in

I remember you saying sometime back that the "C" customs was no more. Did they reactivate it to accomplish the East Terminal renovations??

So in other words, are all of the Mexico/Caribbean charters now using "C" gates??
 
md90fan
Posts: 2798
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 11:15 am

RE: AA Connection (props) Move At Lambert?

Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:15 am

Quoting LambertMan (Reply 1):
I flew thru on Wednesday and the change hadn't happened yet. No indication of it happening, either. The concourse was pretty busy and looks somewhat respectable instead of the normal third-world airport we have become accustomed to. The additions of the restaurants, plus the flat screen gate monitors really help.

Does AA care about STL? Will they add any new destinations this year and has the PVR service started?
http://www.devanwells.blogspot.com/
 
BHMNONREV
Posts: 1209
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 9:17 am

RE: AA Connection (props) Move At Lambert?

Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:22 am

Quoting MD90fan (Reply 9):
Does AA care about STL?

It's still there, but who knows for how much longer..

If Mark (MAH4546) is to believed, the three major AA hubs (DFW, ORD, MIA) will see the short-term future growth, with most of that concentrated in Miami. I understand it to be AA's highest yielding operation...

No mention of STL.
 
atrude777
Posts: 4258
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2003 11:23 pm

RE: AA Connection (props) Move At Lambert?

Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:27 am

I am hoping to fly AA to OKC and will be flying MWA-STL-DFW-OKC r/t. Feb 3-6th, have not booked but it is a possiblity. Will be interesting to see the changes if they took place by then.

Alex
Good things come to those who wait, better things come to those who go AFTER it!
 
pilotpip
Posts: 2820
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 3:26 pm

RE: AA Connection (props) Move At Lambert?

Sun Jan 08, 2006 6:02 am

The props are still there. As of right now. The Frontier flights from CUN are going to the East Terminal gates to clear customs and then repositioned to their D gate overnight.

As far as flights being added. I have some strange feeling that F9 has something brewing. They had great loads on STL-LAX but had to cancel the route when a couple planes got FOD damage before Airbus delivered them. They're laying low right now because WN is taking all the thunder in Denver. However, Frontier is taking delivery of 8 planes this year, and I don't see them expanding much in Denver because the market is getting saturated.
DMI
 
md90fan
Posts: 2798
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 11:15 am

RE: AA Connection (props) Move At Lambert?

Sun Jan 08, 2006 6:07 am

Quoting Pilotpip (Reply 12):
As far as flights being added. I have some strange feeling that F9 has something brewing. They had great loads on STL-LAX but had to cancel the route when a couple planes got FOD damage before Airbus delivered them. They're laying low right now because WN is taking all the thunder in Denver. However, Frontier is taking delivery of 8 planes this year, and I don't see them expanding much in Denver because the market is getting saturated.

What's FOD damage?
http://www.devanwells.blogspot.com/
 
stlgph
Posts: 9059
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 4:19 pm

RE: AA Connection (props) Move At Lambert?

Sun Jan 08, 2006 6:15 am

Quoting KarlB737 (Reply 4):
Courtesy: St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Chautauqua Airlines Cuts 222 At Lambert

Good job Post Dispatch! Idiots. This announcement was made back at the beginning of November! Also, the story has it wrong...Chautauqua *SOLD*, not lost their ground contract to Trans States.

They were initially told they would be going away in January, but that's been pushed back, some to even April because Trans States is having a hard time trying to find people to come and work for them.

After the transition is finally complete, Trans States will become the largest employer at Lambert Airport.

This might have delayed the 'move' from the B Concourse over to the C Concourse. Makes sense...
if assumptions could fly, airliners.net would be the world's busiest airport
 
Boeing Nut
Posts: 5078
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2001 2:42 am

RE: AA Connection (props) Move At Lambert?

Sun Jan 08, 2006 6:43 am

Quoting BHMNONREV (Reply 8):
I remember you saying sometime back that the "C" customs was no more. Did they reactivate it to accomplish the East Terminal renovations??

Evidently so. I wasn't aware of this until today, and it's actually hearsay. I'll try to find out the official goings on Monday.

Quoting MD90fan (Reply 13):
What's FOD damage?

Foriegn Object Debris. Rocks, nuts and bolts, your basic stuff that will f#*k up an engine when ingested.

Quoting STLGph (Reply 14):
Trans States is having a hard time trying to find people to come and work for them.

I'm not touching that one with a forklift.
I'm not a real aeronautical engineer, I just play one on Airliners.net.
 
stlgph
Posts: 9059
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 4:19 pm

RE: AA Connection (props) Move At Lambert?

Sun Jan 08, 2006 6:46 am

Quoting Boeing Nut (Reply 15):
Quoting STLGph (Reply 14):
Trans States is having a hard time trying to find people to come and work for them.

I'm not touching that one with a forklift.

Haha! Neither are the Chautauqua employees from what I gather. I asked my friend if he was going to go work at Trans States and he said he'd rather go flip burgers at McDonald's.

Reason why you won't see such commentary out of McLaughlin in the Post is because since Trans States is privately owned, they are much harder to get information out of in terms of plans, performance, etc. etc. I'm sure he has a hard enough time with them already but going off on them in this mode would definitely shoot down his resource.

Probably one of the reasons why he won't cave in to my emails I've sent him about doing a story on the Go Jets scab pilot list.

[Edited 2006-01-07 22:48:25]
if assumptions could fly, airliners.net would be the world's busiest airport
 
pilotpip
Posts: 2820
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 3:26 pm

RE: AA Connection (props) Move At Lambert?

Sun Jan 08, 2006 7:18 am

A recent class was hired by TSA and went through indoc, but when it came time to assign them a plane Hulas's boys told them have no openings, but do at GoJets. Nobody will fly for them. It's an instant career killer.

TSA isn't a fun company to work for. They don't pay well, and will work you as much as possible. When their mx was in my hangar you saw different faces almost monthly.
DMI