AviationAddict
Topic Author

Would Loss Of Major US Carrier Help The Industry?

Sun Feb 05, 2006 3:20 am

I can't help but wonder if the liquidation of a major USA carrier would actually help the market a little bit. My thinking is this: all these airlines that are operating under government protection are basically using all their earnings to pay off the legal bills and pay their employees, which means they really aren't making any profits. Therefore, the money that customers of airlines like NW and DL are spending on tickets really aren't helping to improve the condition of those carriers. However, if those passengers migrated over to companies like CO and WN then they'd actually be supporting a healthy market. I could be completely crazy and I have no economics background whatsoever, but I just think the marketplace is a little over saturated right now, especially with companies that barely have a pulse. But then again, I'd hate to see any airline go under, but maybe that's what it'll take for the market to rebound. The loss of smaller carriers like Independence certainly had an impact on the market in the short term, but in the end I don't think it will make a huge difference. What do you all think?

[Edited 2006-02-04 19:30:13]

FLALEFTY

RE: Would Loss Of Major US Carrier Help The Industry?

Sun Feb 05, 2006 3:48 am

In a word - "No!"

If DL were liquidated, for example, it would be a disaster for smaller cities in the South - Montgomery, Jackson, Augusta, Daytona Beach, Melbourne, etc.. These cities would lose mainline service, with scant hope that one of the surviving major airlines would be willing to offer replacement services.

Delta is the primary airline for business travellers in the South, so losing them would have a severe negative impact on economic development in the region.